Twin Ridges Elementary

Public school district · Nevada County · California · NCES district ID 0600012

Twin Ridges Elementary spent $28,819 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 93% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 105 students in 2024-25; 36.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,545 per student, down 11.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Twin Ridges Elementary in enrollment (91 to 96 students) and Twin Ridges Elementary itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Twin Ridges Elementary, FY23Twin Ridges Elementary $28,819; Dunsmuir Elementary $24,817; Surprise Valley Joint Unified $21,698; Oxford Day Academy District $21,022; Intellectual Virtues Academy District $21,011; Three Rivers Union Elementary $19,558; Allensworth Elementary $17,319; Invictus Leadership Academy District $15,521; Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary $14,624; Village Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25k30kTwin Ridges Elementary$28,819Dunsmuir Elementary$24,817Surprise Valley Joint Unified$21,698Oxford Day Academy District$21,022Intellectual Virtues Academy D…$21,011Three Rivers Union Elementary$19,558Allensworth Elementary$17,319Invictus Leadership Academy Di…$15,521Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary$14,624Village Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Twin Ridges Elementary, FY23Twin Ridges Elementary $28,819; Dunsmuir Elementary $24,817; Surprise Valley Joint Unified $21,698; Oxford Day Academy District $21,022; Intellectual Virtues Academy District $21,011; Three Rivers Union Elementary $19,558; Allensworth Elementary $17,319; Invictus Leadership Academy District $15,521; Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary $14,624; Village Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25k30kTwin Ridges Elementary$28,819Dunsmuir Elementary$24,817Surprise Valley Joint Unified$21,698Oxford Day Academy District$21,022Intellectual Virtues Academy Distri…$21,011Three Rivers Union Elementary$19,558Allensworth Elementary$17,319Invictus Leadership Academy District$15,521Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary$14,624Village Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Twin Ridges Elementary, FY23Twin Ridges Elementary $28,819; Dunsmuir Elementary $24,817; Surprise Valley Joint Unified $21,698; Oxford Day Academy District $21,022; Intellectual Virtues Academy District $21,011; Three Rivers Union Elementary $19,558; Allensworth Elementary $17,319; Invictus Leadership Academy District $15,521; Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary $14,624; Village Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30kTwin Ridges Elementary$28,819Dunsmuir Elementary$24,817Surprise Valley Joint Unified$21,698Oxford Day Academy District$21,022Intellectual Virtues Academy District$21,011Three Rivers Union Elementary$19,558Allensworth Elementary$17,319Invictus Leadership Academy District$15,521Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary$14,624Village Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Twin Ridges Elementary, FY23Twin Ridges Elementary $28,819; Dunsmuir Elementary $24,817; Surprise Valley Joint Unified $21,698; Oxford Day Academy District $21,022; Intellectual Virtues Academy District $21,011; Three Rivers Union Elementary $19,558; Allensworth Elementary $17,319; Invictus Leadership Academy District $15,521; Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary $14,624; Village Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30kTwin Ridges Elementary$28,819Dunsmuir Elementary$24,817Surprise Valley Joint Unified$21,698Oxford Day Academy District$21,022Intellectual Virtues Academy District$21,011Three Rivers Union Elementary$19,558Allensworth Elementary$17,319Invictus Leadership Academy District$15,521Mt. Baldy Joint Elementary$14,624Village Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$3,278,000 in revenue: 36.0% state, 44.9% local and 19.0% federal. Total spending was $3,222,000, or $34,277 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Twin Ridges Elementary revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,181,000; Local $1,473,000; Federal $624,000; total $3,278,000.
  • State$1,181,000 36%
  • Local$1,473,000 45%
  • Federal$624,000 19%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

94 students in 2022-23, 110 students in 2023-24, 105 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Twin Ridges Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 94, 2023-24: 110, 2024-25: 1050501001502022-23942023-241102024-25105
Twin Ridges Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 94, 2023-24: 110, 2024-25: 1050501001502022-23942023-241102024-25105
Twin Ridges Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 94, 2023-24: 110, 2024-25: 1050501001502022-23942023-241102024-25105
Twin Ridges Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 94, 2023-24: 110, 2024-25: 1050501001502022-23942023-241102024-25105

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23945.018.8
2023-241105.022.0
2024-251055.021.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$427,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,543 per student

Twin Ridges Elementary booked $427,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 5 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $85,400 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 26 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$370,00086.7%
Special education$57,00013.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,567 in 2018-19, $4,374 in 2019-20, $4,720 in 2020-21, $4,129 in 2021-22, $4,543 in 2022-23.

Twin Ridges Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,567, 2019-20: $4,374, 2020-21: $4,720, 2021-22: $4,129, 2022-23: $4,54302k4k6k2018-19$4,5672019-20$4,3742020-21$4,7202021-22$4,1292022-23$4,543
Twin Ridges Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,567, 2019-20: $4,374, 2020-21: $4,720, 2021-22: $4,129, 2022-23: $4,54302k4k6k2018-19$4,5672019-20$4,3742020-21$4,7202021-22$4,1292022-23$4,543
Twin Ridges Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,567, 2019-20: $4,374, 2020-21: $4,720, 2021-22: $4,129, 2022-23: $4,54302k4k6k2018-19$4,5672019-20$4,3742020-21$4,7202021-22$4,1292022-23$4,543
Twin Ridges Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,567, 2019-20: $4,374, 2020-21: $4,720, 2021-22: $4,129, 2022-23: $4,54302k4k6k2018-19$4,5672019-20$4,3742020-21$4,7202021-22$4,1292022-23$4,543

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Twin Ridges Elementary scored proficient or above: 0-43% in reading and 0-42% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts0-43%45%64
Math0-42%34%62

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 105 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Grizzly Hill10521.081.9%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Twin Ridges Elementary

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Twin Ridges Elementary

  1. California districts by spending per studentTwin Ridges Elementary ranks 93 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($28,819).#93 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaTwin Ridges Elementary is the number 1,820 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 94 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,820 of 1,991
  3. Intellectual Virtues Academy DistrictThe next larger California district: 95 students in fall 2022, $21,011 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,011
  4. Village Charter DistrictThe next smaller California district: 93 students in fall 2022, $11,527 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,527
  5. Compare Twin Ridges Elementary with Intellectual Virtues Academy DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaTwin Ridges Elementary spent $85,400 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$85,400
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Twin Ridges Elementary

  1. How many schools and students are in Twin Ridges Elementary?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 105 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Twin Ridges Elementary spend per student?
    $28,819 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,545 per student, down 11.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Twin Ridges Elementary's money come from?
    $3,278,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 36.0% state, 44.9% local and 19.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Twin Ridges Elementary live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 38 of the 183 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 20.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Twin Ridges Elementary spend on teacher salaries?
    $427,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,543 per student. Divided by the 5 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $85,400 per teacher, more than 26 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Twin Ridges Elementary do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Twin Ridges Elementary scored proficient or above: 0-43% in reading and 0-42% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Twin Ridges Elementary's NCES district ID?
    0600012. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25