Tinton Falls School District
Public school district · Monmouth County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3416200
Tinton Falls School District spent $27,150 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 75% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,665). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,359 students in 2024-25; 26.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $28,774 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Tinton Falls in enrollment (1,348 to 1,428 students) and Tinton Falls itself.
Where the money came from
$41,515,000 in revenue: 26.9% state, 68.9% local and 4.2% federal. Total spending including $808,000 of capital outlay was $41,322,000, or $29,835 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$11,166,000 27%
- Local$28,595,000 69%
- Federal$1,754,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,376 students in 2022-23, 1,364 students in 2023-24, 1,359 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,376 | 154.8 | 8.9 |
| 2023-24 | 1,364 | 156.9 | 8.7 |
| 2024-25 | 1,359 | 162.1 | 8.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$10,883,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,858 per student
Tinton Falls School District booked $10,883,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 155 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $70,317 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 23 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $6,837,000 | 62.8% |
| Special education | $3,392,000 | 31.2% |
| Other programs | $654,000 | 6.0% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,834 in 2018-19, $6,978 in 2019-20, $7,636 in 2020-21, $7,737 in 2021-22, $7,858 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Tinton Falls School District scored proficient or above: 59% in reading and 47% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.
| Subject | This district | New Jersey | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 59% | 48.6% | |
| Math | 47% | 35.5% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
2 elementary schools, 916 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mahala F. Atchison School | 484 | 8.4 | 17.1% | Targeted program |
| Swimming River School | 432 | 8.1 | 15.5% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 443 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tinton Falls Middle School | 443 | 8.6 | 23.3% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Tinton Falls School District
- Website: tfschools.org
- Phone: (732) 460-2400
- Office: 658 Tinton Avenue, Tinton Falls, NJ 07724
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Tinton Falls School District
- New Jersey districts by spending per studentTinton Falls School District ranks 83 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($27,150).#83 of 329
- Every school district in New JerseyTinton Falls School District is the number 275 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 1,385 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#275 of 672
- Red Bank Regional High School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 1,392 students in fall 2022, $24,819 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,819
- Bogota Public School DistrictThe next smaller New Jersey district: 1,381 students in fall 2022, $21,476 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,476
- Compare Tinton Falls School District with Red Bank Regional High School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across New JerseyTinton Falls School District spent $70,317 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$70,317
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Tinton Falls School District
How many schools and students are in Tinton Falls School District?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,359 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Tinton Falls School District spend per student?
$27,150 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $28,774 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Tinton Falls School District's money come from?
$41,515,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 26.9% state, 68.9% local and 4.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Tinton Falls School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 101 of the 1,669 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Tinton Falls School District spend on teacher salaries?
$10,883,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,858 per student. Divided by the 155 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $70,317 per teacher, more than 23 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Tinton Falls School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Tinton Falls School District scored proficient or above: 59% in reading and 47% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Tinton Falls School District's NCES district ID?
3416200. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25