Swedesboro-Woolwich School District

Public school district · Gloucester County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3415990

Swedesboro-Woolwich School District spent $21,243 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 89% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $24,665). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,607 students in 2024-25; 44.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,015 per student, up 8.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Swedesboro-Woolwich in enrollment (1,565 to 1,613 students) and Swedesboro-Woolwich itself.

Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Swedesboro-Woolwich, FY23Buena Regional $29,056; Pinelands Regional $26,971; River Dell Regional $26,902; Warren Hills Regional $26,634; Highland Park Boro $25,851; Keansburg $25,766; Cedar Grove Public Schools $24,448; Waldwick $23,741; Swedesboro-Woolwich $21,243; Fairview $21,217; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30kBuena Regional$29,056Pinelands Regional$26,971River Dell Regional$26,902Warren Hills Regional$26,634Highland Park Boro$25,851Keansburg$25,766Cedar Grove Public Schools$24,448Waldwick$23,741Swedesboro-Woolwich$21,243Fairview$21,217State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Swedesboro-Woolwich, FY23Buena Regional $29,056; Pinelands Regional $26,971; River Dell Regional $26,902; Warren Hills Regional $26,634; Highland Park Boro $25,851; Keansburg $25,766; Cedar Grove Public Schools $24,448; Waldwick $23,741; Swedesboro-Woolwich $21,243; Fairview $21,217; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30kBuena Regional$29,056Pinelands Regional$26,971River Dell Regional$26,902Warren Hills Regional$26,634Highland Park Boro$25,851Keansburg$25,766Cedar Grove Public Schools$24,448Waldwick$23,741Swedesboro-Woolwich$21,243Fairview$21,217State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Swedesboro-Woolwich, FY23Buena Regional $29,056; Pinelands Regional $26,971; River Dell Regional $26,902; Warren Hills Regional $26,634; Highland Park Boro $25,851; Keansburg $25,766; Cedar Grove Public Schools $24,448; Waldwick $23,741; Swedesboro-Woolwich $21,243; Fairview $21,217; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30kBuena Regional$29,056Pinelands Regional$26,971River Dell Regional$26,902Warren Hills Regional$26,634Highland Park Boro$25,851Keansburg$25,766Cedar Grove Public Schools$24,448Waldwick$23,741Swedesboro-Woolwich$21,243Fairview$21,217State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Swedesboro-Woolwich, FY23Buena Regional $29,056; Pinelands Regional $26,971; River Dell Regional $26,902; Warren Hills Regional $26,634; Highland Park Boro $25,851; Keansburg $25,766; Cedar Grove Public Schools $24,448; Waldwick $23,741; Swedesboro-Woolwich $21,243; Fairview $21,217; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30kBuena Regional$29,056Pinelands Regional$26,971River Dell Regional$26,902Warren Hills Regional$26,634Highland Park Boro$25,851Keansburg$25,766Cedar Grove Public Schools$24,448Waldwick$23,741Swedesboro-Woolwich$21,243Fairview$21,217State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$38,664,000 in revenue: 44.7% state, 51.9% local and 3.4% federal. Total spending including $957,000 of capital outlay was $38,049,000, or $23,915 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Swedesboro-Woolwich School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,271,000; Local $20,067,000; Federal $1,326,000; total $38,664,000.
  • State$17,271,000 45%
  • Local$20,067,000 52%
  • Federal$1,326,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,584 students in 2022-23, 1,558 students in 2023-24, 1,607 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Swedesboro-Woolwich School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,584, 2023-24: 1,558, 2024-25: 1,60705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5842023-241,5582024-251,607
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,584, 2023-24: 1,558, 2024-25: 1,60705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5842023-241,5582024-251,607
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,584, 2023-24: 1,558, 2024-25: 1,60705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5842023-241,5582024-251,607
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,584, 2023-24: 1,558, 2024-25: 1,60705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5842023-241,5582024-251,607

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,584142.711.1
2023-241,558152.710.2
2024-251,607147.710.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$10,046,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,314 per student

Swedesboro-Woolwich School District booked $10,046,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 143 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $70,399 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 23 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,949,00059.2%
Special education$3,560,00035.4%
Other programs$537,0005.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,288 in 2018-19, $5,754 in 2019-20, $6,157 in 2020-21, $6,004 in 2021-22, $6,314 in 2022-23.

Swedesboro-Woolwich School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,288, 2019-20: $5,754, 2020-21: $6,157, 2021-22: $6,004, 2022-23: $6,31402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2882019-20$5,7542020-21$6,1572021-22$6,0042022-23$6,314
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,288, 2019-20: $5,754, 2020-21: $6,157, 2021-22: $6,004, 2022-23: $6,31402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2882019-20$5,7542020-21$6,1572021-22$6,0042022-23$6,314
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,288, 2019-20: $5,754, 2020-21: $6,157, 2021-22: $6,004, 2022-23: $6,31402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2882019-20$5,7542020-21$6,1572021-22$6,0042022-23$6,314
Swedesboro-Woolwich School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,288, 2019-20: $5,754, 2020-21: $6,157, 2021-22: $6,004, 2022-23: $6,31402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2882019-20$5,7542020-21$6,1572021-22$6,0042022-23$6,314

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Swedesboro-Woolwich School District scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 59% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts57%48.6%
Math59%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

3 elementary schools, 1,380 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
General Charles G. Harker School69610.817.8%Targeted program
Governor Charles C. Stratton43311.119.2%Targeted program
Margaret C. Clifford School25110.621.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 227 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Walter Hill School22711.021.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Swedesboro-Woolwich School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Swedesboro-Woolwich School District

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentSwedesboro-Woolwich School District ranks 293 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,243).#293 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseySwedesboro-Woolwich School District is the number 247 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 1,591 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#247 of 672
  3. Highland Park Boro School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 1,598 students in fall 2022, $25,851 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,851
  4. Warren Hills Regional School DistrictThe next smaller New Jersey district: 1,590 students in fall 2022, $26,634 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$26,634
  5. Compare Swedesboro-Woolwich School District with Highland Park Boro School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across New JerseySwedesboro-Woolwich School District spent $70,399 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$70,399
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Swedesboro-Woolwich School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Swedesboro-Woolwich School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,607 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Swedesboro-Woolwich School District spend per student?
    $21,243 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,015 per student, up 8.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Swedesboro-Woolwich School District's money come from?
    $38,664,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 44.7% state, 51.9% local and 3.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Swedesboro-Woolwich School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 74 of the 1,891 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Swedesboro-Woolwich School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $10,046,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,314 per student. Divided by the 143 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $70,399 per teacher, more than 23 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Swedesboro-Woolwich School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Swedesboro-Woolwich School District scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 59% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Swedesboro-Woolwich School District's NCES district ID?
    3415990. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25