Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist
Public school district · Oktibbeha County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2800189
Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist spent $13,106 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 69% of the other Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,203). Its 7 schools enrolled 4,880 students in 2024-25; 36.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,397 per student, up 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 88% (Mississippi: 89.4%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist in enrollment (4,165 to 5,261 students) and Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist itself.
Where the money came from
$84,318,000 in revenue: 36.0% state, 40.1% local and 23.9% federal. Total spending including $9,789,000 of capital outlay was $78,312,000, or $16,002 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$30,332,000 36%
- Local$33,839,000 40%
- Federal$20,147,000 24%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,894 students in 2022-23, 4,882 students in 2023-24, 4,880 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,894 | 357.6 | 13.7 |
| 2023-24 | 4,882 | 356.1 | 13.7 |
| 2024-25 | 4,880 | 368.0 | 13.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$21,244,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,341 per student
Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist booked $21,244,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 382 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,578 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 90 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $15,535,000 | 73.1% |
| Special education | $2,744,000 | 12.9% |
| Vocational | $1,295,000 | 6.1% |
| Other programs | $1,670,000 | 7.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,189 in 2018-19, $3,495 in 2019-20, $3,608 in 2020-21, $3,946 in 2021-22, $4,341 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist scored proficient or above: 37% in reading and 39% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Mississippi | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 37% | 41.7% | 2,446 |
| Math | 39% | 47% | 2,401 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
88% of the 400 students in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Mississippi | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 88% | 89.4% |
| Students in the class | 400 | 31,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
3 elementary schools, 2,176 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Henderson/Ward-Stewart Elementary | 1,066 | 15.1 | 62.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Sudduth Elementary School | 920 | 17.0 | 60.3% | Schoolwide program |
| West Elementary School | 190 | 12.3 | 65.3% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 1,328 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socsd/Msu Partnership Middle School | 646 | 12.4 | 57.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Armstrong Junior High School | 358 | 10.3 | 60.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Overstreet Elementary | 324 | 13.0 | 57.4% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 1,376 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starkville High School | 1,376 | 11.9 | 57.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist
- Website: starkvillesd.com
- Phone: (662) 324-4050
- Office: 401 Greensboro Street, Starkville, MS 39759
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist
- Mississippi districts by spending per studentStarkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist ranks 35 of 112 Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,106).#35 of 112
- Every school district in MississippiStarkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist is the number 20 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 4,894 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#20 of 152
- Hinds County School DistrictThe next larger Mississippi district: 4,968 students in fall 2022, $11,422 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,422
- Oxford School DistrictThe next smaller Mississippi district: 4,766 students in fall 2022, $12,453 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,453
- Compare Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist with Hinds County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Starkville High School, its largest high school1,376 students in 2024-25, 11.9 per teacher.1,376
- Teacher salary spending across MississippiStarkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist spent $55,578 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$55,578
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist
How many schools and students are in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist?
7 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 3 middle, 1 high), enrolling 4,880 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist spend per student?
$13,106 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,203 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,397 per student, up 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist's money come from?
$84,318,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 36.0% state, 40.1% local and 23.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,415 of the 6,480 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 21.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist spend on teacher salaries?
$21,244,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,341 per student. Divided by the 382 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,578 per teacher, more than 90 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist scored proficient or above: 37% in reading and 39% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist?
88% of the 400 students in Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist's NCES district ID?
2800189. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25