St. Joseph-Ogden High School

Listed by NCES as St Joseph Ogden CHSD 305 (district ID 1737410)

Public school district · Champaign County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1737410

St. Joseph-Ogden High School spent $13,929 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 80% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,409). Its one school enrolled 457 students in 2024-25; 30.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,500 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to St. Joseph-Ogden High School in enrollment (460 to 466 students) and St. Joseph-Ogden High School itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to St. Joseph-Ogden High School, FY23Butler SD 53 $30,639; River Ridge CUSD 210 $23,937; Hillside District 93 $23,418; Meridian CUSD 101 $21,878; Oglesby Public School District 125 $19,925; Cobden Unit $16,819; Okaw Valley CUSD 302 $16,803; Cambridge CUSD 227 $15,245; Cerro Gordo CUSD 100 $14,113; St. Joseph-Ogden High School $13,929; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k15k20k25k30k35kButler SD 53$30,639River Ridge CUSD 210$23,937Hillside District 93$23,418Meridian CUSD 101$21,878Oglesby Public School District…$19,925Cobden Unit$16,819Okaw Valley CUSD 302$16,803Cambridge CUSD 227$15,245Cerro Gordo CUSD 100$14,113St. Joseph-Ogden High School$13,929State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to St. Joseph-Ogden High School, FY23Butler SD 53 $30,639; River Ridge CUSD 210 $23,937; Hillside District 93 $23,418; Meridian CUSD 101 $21,878; Oglesby Public School District 125 $19,925; Cobden Unit $16,819; Okaw Valley CUSD 302 $16,803; Cambridge CUSD 227 $15,245; Cerro Gordo CUSD 100 $14,113; St. Joseph-Ogden High School $13,929; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k15k20k25k30k35kButler SD 53$30,639River Ridge CUSD 210$23,937Hillside District 93$23,418Meridian CUSD 101$21,878Oglesby Public School District 125$19,925Cobden Unit$16,819Okaw Valley CUSD 302$16,803Cambridge CUSD 227$15,245Cerro Gordo CUSD 100$14,113St. Joseph-Ogden High School$13,929State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to St. Joseph-Ogden High School, FY23Butler SD 53 $30,639; River Ridge CUSD 210 $23,937; Hillside District 93 $23,418; Meridian CUSD 101 $21,878; Oglesby Public School District 125 $19,925; Cobden Unit $16,819; Okaw Valley CUSD 302 $16,803; Cambridge CUSD 227 $15,245; Cerro Gordo CUSD 100 $14,113; St. Joseph-Ogden High School $13,929; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k20k30k35kButler SD 53$30,639River Ridge CUSD 210$23,937Hillside District 93$23,418Meridian CUSD 101$21,878Oglesby Public School District 125$19,925Cobden Unit$16,819Okaw Valley CUSD 302$16,803Cambridge CUSD 227$15,245Cerro Gordo CUSD 100$14,113St. Joseph-Ogden High School$13,929State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to St. Joseph-Ogden High School, FY23Butler SD 53 $30,639; River Ridge CUSD 210 $23,937; Hillside District 93 $23,418; Meridian CUSD 101 $21,878; Oglesby Public School District 125 $19,925; Cobden Unit $16,819; Okaw Valley CUSD 302 $16,803; Cambridge CUSD 227 $15,245; Cerro Gordo CUSD 100 $14,113; St. Joseph-Ogden High School $13,929; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k20k30k35kButler SD 53$30,639River Ridge CUSD 210$23,937Hillside District 93$23,418Meridian CUSD 101$21,878Oglesby Public School District 125$19,925Cobden Unit$16,819Okaw Valley CUSD 302$16,803Cambridge CUSD 227$15,245Cerro Gordo CUSD 100$14,113St. Joseph-Ogden High School$13,929State median, under 1,000 students $16,409

Where the money came from

$8,465,000 in revenue: 30.4% state, 67.9% local and 1.8% federal. Total spending including $6,746,000 of capital outlay was $13,799,000, or $29,803 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

St. Joseph-Ogden High School revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,570,000; Local $5,744,000; Federal $151,000; total $8,465,000.
  • State$2,570,000 30%
  • Local$5,744,000 68%
  • Federal$151,000 2%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

463 students in 2022-23, 442 students in 2023-24, 457 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

St. Joseph-Ogden High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 463, 2023-24: 442, 2024-25: 45702004006002022-234632023-244422024-25457
St. Joseph-Ogden High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 463, 2023-24: 442, 2024-25: 45702004006002022-234632023-244422024-25457
St. Joseph-Ogden High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 463, 2023-24: 442, 2024-25: 45702004006002022-234632023-244422024-25457
St. Joseph-Ogden High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 463, 2023-24: 442, 2024-25: 45702004006002022-234632023-244422024-25457

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2346331.614.7
2023-2444233.713.1
2024-2545734.513.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in St. Joseph-Ogden High School scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts30-34%29.9%114

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 118 students in St. Joseph-Ogden High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate95% or more87.6%
Students in the class118149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 high school, 457 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
St Joseph-Ogden High School45713.3not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact St. Joseph-Ogden High School

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about St. Joseph-Ogden High School

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentSt. Joseph-Ogden High School ranks 373 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,929).#373 of 468
  2. Every school district in IllinoisSt. Joseph-Ogden High School is the number 610 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 463 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#610 of 865
  3. Cobden Unit School DistrictThe next larger Illinois district: 465 students in fall 2022, $16,819 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,819
  4. Hillside District 93The next smaller Illinois district: 462 students in fall 2022, $23,418 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,418
  5. Compare St. Joseph-Ogden High School with Cobden Unit School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. St Joseph-Ogden High School, its largest high school457 students in 2024-25, 13.3 per teacher.457
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about St. Joseph-Ogden High School

  1. How many schools and students are in St. Joseph-Ogden High School?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 high), enrolling 457 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does St. Joseph-Ogden High School spend per student?
    $13,929 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,500 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does St. Joseph-Ogden High School's money come from?
    $8,465,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 30.4% state, 67.9% local and 1.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in St. Joseph-Ogden High School live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 16 of the 513 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in St. Joseph-Ogden High School do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in St. Joseph-Ogden High School scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in St. Joseph-Ogden High School?
    95% or more of the 118 students in St. Joseph-Ogden High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is St. Joseph-Ogden High School's NCES district ID?
    1737410. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25