South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)

Public school district · Maricopa County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0400853

South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) spent $9,368 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 85% of the other Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,993). Its one school enrolled 295 students in 2024-25; 74.0% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) in enrollment (314 to 331 students) and South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) itself.

Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108), FY23ASU Preparatory Academy (92327) $14,409; CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448) $13,343; Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074) $12,000; Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Ac (79981) $10,589; Maricopa County Community College District dba Gat (4314) $10,127; Freedom Academy Inc. (89506) $9,970; Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347) $9,727; South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) $9,368; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (4331) $8,155; Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886) $7,403; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.5k7.5k10k12.5k15kASU Preparatory Academy (92327)$14,409CITY Center for Collaborative …$13,343Country Gardens Charter School…$12,000Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservat…$10,589Maricopa County Community Coll…$10,127Freedom Academy Inc. (89506)$9,970Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc.…$9,727South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91…$9,368Arizona Agribusiness & Equine …$8,155Challenger Basic School Inc. (…$7,403State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108), FY23ASU Preparatory Academy (92327) $14,409; CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448) $13,343; Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074) $12,000; Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Ac (79981) $10,589; Maricopa County Community College District dba Gat (4314) $10,127; Freedom Academy Inc. (89506) $9,970; Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347) $9,727; South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) $9,368; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (4331) $8,155; Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886) $7,403; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.5k7.5k10k12.5k15kASU Preparatory Academy (92327)$14,409CITY Center for Collaborative Learn…$13,343Country Gardens Charter Schools (79…$12,000Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory f…$10,589Maricopa County Community College D…$10,127Freedom Academy Inc. (89506)$9,970Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (434…$9,727South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)$9,368Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Cente…$8,155Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886)$7,403State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108), FY23ASU Preparatory Academy (92327) $14,409; CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448) $13,343; Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074) $12,000; Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Ac (79981) $10,589; Maricopa County Community College District dba Gat (4314) $10,127; Freedom Academy Inc. (89506) $9,970; Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347) $9,727; South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) $9,368; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (4331) $8,155; Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886) $7,403; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.5k10k15kASU Preparatory Academy (92327)$14,409CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (854…$13,343Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074)$12,000Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for Arts…$10,589Maricopa County Community College District…$10,127Freedom Academy Inc. (89506)$9,970Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347)$9,727South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)$9,368Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (…$8,155Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886)$7,403State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108), FY23ASU Preparatory Academy (92327) $14,409; CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448) $13,343; Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074) $12,000; Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Ac (79981) $10,589; Maricopa County Community College District dba Gat (4314) $10,127; Freedom Academy Inc. (89506) $9,970; Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347) $9,727; South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) $9,368; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (4331) $8,155; Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886) $7,403; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.5k10k15kASU Preparatory Academy (92327)$14,409CITY Center for Collaborative Learning…$13,343Country Gardens Charter Schools (79074)$12,000Edkey Inc. - Arizona Conservatory for A…$10,589Maricopa County Community College Distr…$10,127Freedom Academy Inc. (89506)$9,970Allen-Cochran Enterprises Inc. (4347)$9,727South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)$9,368Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center In…$8,155Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886)$7,403State median, under 1,000 students $11,993

Where the money came from

$3,553,000 in revenue: 74.0% state, 0.8% local and 25.2% federal. Total spending including $36,000 of capital outlay was $3,062,000, or $9,480 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,629,000; Local $30,000; Federal $894,000; total $3,553,000.
  • State$2,629,000 74%
  • Local$30,000 1%
  • Federal$894,000 25%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 475 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

323 students in 2022-23, 285 students in 2023-24, 295 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) enrollment by school year2022-23: 323, 2023-24: 285, 2024-25: 29501002003004002022-233232023-242852024-25295
South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) enrollment by school year2022-23: 323, 2023-24: 285, 2024-25: 29501002003004002022-233232023-242852024-25295
South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) enrollment by school year2022-23: 323, 2023-24: 285, 2024-25: 29501002003004002022-233232023-242852024-25295
South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) enrollment by school year2022-23: 323, 2023-24: 285, 2024-25: 29501002003004002022-233232023-242852024-25295

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23323not reportednot reported
2023-24285not reportednot reported
2024-2529524.012.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 15-19% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArizonaStudents tested
Reading and language arts20-24%40.4%145
Math15-19%34.8%144

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 295 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Phoenix Prep and Arts Academy29512.370.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)

  1. Arizona districts by spending per studentSouth Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) ranks 405 of 475 Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,368).#405 of 475
  2. Every school district in ArizonaSouth Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) is the number 364 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 323 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#364 of 661
  3. CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448)The next larger Arizona district: 324 students in fall 2022, $13,343 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,343
  4. Challenger Basic School Inc. (79886)The next smaller Arizona district: 320 students in fall 2022, $7,403 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$7,403
  5. Compare South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) with CITY Center for Collaborative Learning (85448)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)

  1. How many schools and students are in South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 295 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) spend per student?
    $9,368 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,993 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)'s money come from?
    $3,553,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 74.0% state, 0.8% local and 25.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 15-19% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is South Phoenix Academy Inc. (91108)'s NCES district ID?
    0400853. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25