Solon Springs School District

Public school district · Douglas County · Wisconsin · NCES district ID 5513980

Solon Springs School District spent $16,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 67% of the other Wisconsin districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,995). Its 4 schools enrolled 302 students in 2024-25; 36.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,083 per student, down 4.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Wisconsin: 90.5%).

Spending per student among Wisconsin districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Solon Springs in enrollment (298 to 315 students) and Solon Springs itself.

Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Solon Springs, FY23Bowler $20,977; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Monticello $18,453; Hustisford $17,960; Gresham $17,747; Solon Springs $16,899; New Auburn $16,537; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.14k16k18k20k22kBowler$20,977Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Monticello$18,453Hustisford$17,960Gresham$17,747Solon Springs$16,899New Auburn$16,537Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Solon Springs, FY23Bowler $20,977; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Monticello $18,453; Hustisford $17,960; Gresham $17,747; Solon Springs $16,899; New Auburn $16,537; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.14k16k18k20k22kBowler$20,977Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Monticello$18,453Hustisford$17,960Gresham$17,747Solon Springs$16,899New Auburn$16,537Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Solon Springs, FY23Bowler $20,977; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Monticello $18,453; Hustisford $17,960; Gresham $17,747; Solon Springs $16,899; New Auburn $16,537; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.14k18k22kBowler$20,977Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Monticello$18,453Hustisford$17,960Gresham$17,747Solon Springs$16,899New Auburn$16,537Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Solon Springs, FY23Bowler $20,977; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Monticello $18,453; Hustisford $17,960; Gresham $17,747; Solon Springs $16,899; New Auburn $16,537; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.14k18k22kBowler$20,977Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Monticello$18,453Hustisford$17,960Gresham$17,747Solon Springs$16,899New Auburn$16,537Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375State median, under 1,000 students $15,995

Where the money came from

$6,868,000 in revenue: 36.6% state, 52.4% local and 10.9% federal. Total spending including $158,000 of capital outlay was $6,237,000, or $20,316 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Solon Springs School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,517,000; Local $3,599,000; Federal $752,000; total $6,868,000.
  • State$2,517,000 37%
  • Local$3,599,000 52%
  • Federal$752,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 233 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

307 students in 2022-23, 326 students in 2023-24, 302 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Solon Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 326, 2024-25: 30201002003004002022-233072023-243262024-25302
Solon Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 326, 2024-25: 30201002003004002022-233072023-243262024-25302
Solon Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 326, 2024-25: 30201002003004002022-233072023-243262024-25302
Solon Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 326, 2024-25: 30201002003004002022-233072023-243262024-25302

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330719.815.5
2023-2432630.410.7
2024-2530232.79.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,871,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,094 per student

Solon Springs School District booked $1,871,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 20 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $94,495 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 99 in 100 Wisconsin districts with a figure (state median $69,818, 412 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,376,00073.5%
Special education$385,00020.6%
Vocational$44,0002.4%
Other programs$66,0003.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,619 in 2018-19, $5,809 in 2019-20, $5,548 in 2020-21, $5,367 in 2021-22, $6,094 in 2022-23.

Solon Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,619, 2019-20: $5,809, 2020-21: $5,548, 2021-22: $5,367, 2022-23: $6,09402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6192019-20$5,8092020-21$5,5482021-22$5,3672022-23$6,094
Solon Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,619, 2019-20: $5,809, 2020-21: $5,548, 2021-22: $5,367, 2022-23: $6,09402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6192019-20$5,8092020-21$5,5482021-22$5,3672022-23$6,094
Solon Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,619, 2019-20: $5,809, 2020-21: $5,548, 2021-22: $5,367, 2022-23: $6,09402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6192019-20$5,8092020-21$5,5482021-22$5,3672022-23$6,094
Solon Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,619, 2019-20: $5,809, 2020-21: $5,548, 2021-22: $5,367, 2022-23: $6,09402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6192019-20$5,8092020-21$5,5482021-22$5,3672022-23$6,094

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Solon Springs School District scored proficient or above: 16-32% in reading and 9-26% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wisconsin, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWisconsinStudents tested
Reading and language arts16-32%38%150
Math9-26%40%149

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 22 students in Solon Springs School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWisconsin
Four-year graduation rate80% or more90.5%
Students in the class2265,638

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 89 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eagles' Wings Public Montessori Charter899.336.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 23 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eagles Academy236.330.4%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 190 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Solon Springs School1739.737.6%Schoolwide program
Eagles' Wings Virtual Charter School1710.235.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Solon Springs School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Solon Springs School District

  1. Wisconsin districts by spending per studentSolon Springs School District ranks 77 of 233 Wisconsin districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,899).#77 of 233
  2. Every school district in WisconsinSolon Springs School District is the number 382 by size of 451 Wisconsin districts, with 307 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#382 of 451
  3. Bowler School DistrictThe next larger Wisconsin district: 309 students in fall 2022, $20,977 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,977
  4. Gresham School DistrictThe next smaller Wisconsin district: 300 students in fall 2022, $17,747 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,747
  5. Compare Solon Springs School District with Bowler School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Eagles Academy, its largest high school23 students in 2024-25, 6.3 per teacher.23
  7. Teacher salary spending across WisconsinSolon Springs School District spent $94,495 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $69,818); spending, not a salary.$94,495
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Solon Springs School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Solon Springs School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high, 2 other), enrolling 302 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Solon Springs School District spend per student?
    $16,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Wisconsin median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,995 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,083 per student, down 4.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Solon Springs School District's money come from?
    $6,868,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 36.6% state, 52.4% local and 10.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Solon Springs School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 34 of the 319 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Solon Springs School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,871,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,094 per student. Divided by the 20 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $94,495 per teacher, more than 99 in 100 Wisconsin districts (state median $69,818). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Solon Springs School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Solon Springs School District scored proficient or above: 16-32% in reading and 9-26% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Wisconsin's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Solon Springs School District?
    80% or more of the 22 students in Solon Springs School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Solon Springs School District's NCES district ID?
    5513980. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25