Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)

Public school district · Santa Cruz County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0407500

Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) spent $18,038 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 82% of the other Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,993). Its one school enrolled 131 students in 2024-25; 64.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,898 per student, down 17.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) in enrollment (177 to 190 students) and Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) itself.

Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459), FY23Peach Springs Unified District (4369) $42,469; Concho Elementary District (4160) $26,494; Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc. (10878) $22,933; Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) $18,038; Milestones Charter School (79207) $15,301; Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (91275) $13,186; Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521) $12,508; Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043) $10,583; Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879) $10,111; Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc. (4359) $8,258; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30k40k50kPeach Springs Unified District…$42,469Concho Elementary District (41…$26,494Keystone Montessori Charter Sc…$22,933Santa Cruz Elementary District…$18,038Milestones Charter School (792…$15,301Hirsch Academy A Challenge Fou…$13,186Madison Highland Prep Phoenix …$12,508Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (…$10,583Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10…$10,111Montessori Day Public Schools …$8,258State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459), FY23Peach Springs Unified District (4369) $42,469; Concho Elementary District (4160) $26,494; Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc. (10878) $22,933; Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) $18,038; Milestones Charter School (79207) $15,301; Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (91275) $13,186; Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521) $12,508; Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043) $10,583; Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879) $10,111; Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc. (4359) $8,258; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30k40k50kPeach Springs Unified District (436…$42,469Concho Elementary District (4160)$26,494Keystone Montessori Charter School …$22,933Santa Cruz Elementary District (445…$18,038Milestones Charter School (79207)$15,301Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundati…$13,186Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001…$12,508Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043)$10,583Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879)$10,111Montessori Day Public Schools Chart…$8,258State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459), FY23Peach Springs Unified District (4369) $42,469; Concho Elementary District (4160) $26,494; Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc. (10878) $22,933; Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) $18,038; Milestones Charter School (79207) $15,301; Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (91275) $13,186; Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521) $12,508; Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043) $10,583; Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879) $10,111; Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc. (4359) $8,258; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.020k40k50kPeach Springs Unified District (4369)$42,469Concho Elementary District (4160)$26,494Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc. (10…$22,933Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)$18,038Milestones Charter School (79207)$15,301Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (9127…$13,186Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521)$12,508Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043)$10,583Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879)$10,111Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc…$8,258State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459), FY23Peach Springs Unified District (4369) $42,469; Concho Elementary District (4160) $26,494; Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc. (10878) $22,933; Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) $18,038; Milestones Charter School (79207) $15,301; Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (91275) $13,186; Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521) $12,508; Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043) $10,583; Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879) $10,111; Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc. (4359) $8,258; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.020k40k50kPeach Springs Unified District (4369)$42,469Concho Elementary District (4160)$26,494Keystone Montessori Charter School Inc.…$22,933Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)$18,038Milestones Charter School (79207)$15,301Hirsch Academy A Challenge Foundation (…$13,186Madison Highland Prep Phoenix (1001521)$12,508Edkey Inc. - Redwood Academy (81043)$10,583Mountain Rose Academy Inc. (10879)$10,111Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered…$8,258State median, under 1,000 students $11,993

Where the money came from

$3,113,000 in revenue: 64.1% state, 24.7% local and 11.3% federal. Total spending including $310,000 of capital outlay was $65,780,000; the figure above leaves capital out.

Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,994,000; Local $768,000; Federal $351,000; total $3,113,000.
  • State$1,994,000 64%
  • Local$768,000 25%
  • Federal$351,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 475 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

183 students in 2022-23, 176 students in 2023-24, 131 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) enrollment by school year2022-23: 183, 2023-24: 176, 2024-25: 1310501001502002022-231832023-241762024-25131
Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) enrollment by school year2022-23: 183, 2023-24: 176, 2024-25: 1310501001502002022-231832023-241762024-25131
Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) enrollment by school year2022-23: 183, 2023-24: 176, 2024-25: 1310501001502002022-231832023-241762024-25131
Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) enrollment by school year2022-23: 183, 2023-24: 176, 2024-25: 1310501001502002022-231832023-241762024-25131

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23183not reportednot reported
2023-2417613.113.4
2024-251319.214.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArizonaStudents tested
Reading and language arts60-64%40.4%128
Math45-49%34.8%128

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 131 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Little Red Schoolhouse13114.242.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)

  1. Arizona districts by spending per studentSanta Cruz Elementary District (4459) ranks 87 of 475 Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,038).#87 of 475
  2. Every school district in ArizonaSanta Cruz Elementary District (4459) is the number 454 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 183 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#454 of 661
  3. Milestones Charter School (79207)The next larger Arizona district: 186 students in fall 2022, $15,301 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,301
  4. Montessori Day Public Schools Chartered Inc. (4359)The next smaller Arizona district: 182 students in fall 2022, $8,258 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,258
  5. Compare Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) with Milestones Charter School (79207)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)

  1. How many schools and students are in Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 131 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) spend per student?
    $18,038 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,993 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,898 per student, down 17.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)'s money come from?
    $3,113,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 64.1% state, 24.7% local and 11.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 83 of the 375 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 22.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459) scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Santa Cruz Elementary District (4459)'s NCES district ID?
    0407500. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25