Salamanca City School District

Public school district · Cattaraugus County · New York · NCES district ID 3625440

Salamanca City School District spent $33,745 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 87% of the other New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $26,567). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,323 students in 2024-25; 72.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $36,506 per student, up 8.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (New York: 87.2%).

Spending per student among New York districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Salamanca City in enrollment (1,350 to 1,385 students) and Salamanca City itself.

Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Salamanca City, FY23Briarcliff Manor Union Free $37,019; Valhalla Union Free $36,427; Salmon River Central $34,200; Salamanca City $33,745; Solvay Union Free $25,814; Schuylerville Central $25,357; Brooklyn Ascend Charter School $25,091; Dansville Central Schools $24,748; Chenango Forks Central $22,944; Mechanicville City $19,404; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBriarcliff Manor Union Free$37,019Valhalla Union Free$36,427Salmon River Central$34,200Salamanca City$33,745Solvay Union Free$25,814Schuylerville Central$25,357Brooklyn Ascend Charter School$25,091Dansville Central Schools$24,748Chenango Forks Central$22,944Mechanicville City$19,404State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Salamanca City, FY23Briarcliff Manor Union Free $37,019; Valhalla Union Free $36,427; Salmon River Central $34,200; Salamanca City $33,745; Solvay Union Free $25,814; Schuylerville Central $25,357; Brooklyn Ascend Charter School $25,091; Dansville Central Schools $24,748; Chenango Forks Central $22,944; Mechanicville City $19,404; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBriarcliff Manor Union Free$37,019Valhalla Union Free$36,427Salmon River Central$34,200Salamanca City$33,745Solvay Union Free$25,814Schuylerville Central$25,357Brooklyn Ascend Charter School$25,091Dansville Central Schools$24,748Chenango Forks Central$22,944Mechanicville City$19,404State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Salamanca City, FY23Briarcliff Manor Union Free $37,019; Valhalla Union Free $36,427; Salmon River Central $34,200; Salamanca City $33,745; Solvay Union Free $25,814; Schuylerville Central $25,357; Brooklyn Ascend Charter School $25,091; Dansville Central Schools $24,748; Chenango Forks Central $22,944; Mechanicville City $19,404; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBriarcliff Manor Union Free$37,019Valhalla Union Free$36,427Salmon River Central$34,200Salamanca City$33,745Solvay Union Free$25,814Schuylerville Central$25,357Brooklyn Ascend Charter School$25,091Dansville Central Schools$24,748Chenango Forks Central$22,944Mechanicville City$19,404State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Salamanca City, FY23Briarcliff Manor Union Free $37,019; Valhalla Union Free $36,427; Salmon River Central $34,200; Salamanca City $33,745; Solvay Union Free $25,814; Schuylerville Central $25,357; Brooklyn Ascend Charter School $25,091; Dansville Central Schools $24,748; Chenango Forks Central $22,944; Mechanicville City $19,404; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBriarcliff Manor Union Free$37,019Valhalla Union Free$36,427Salmon River Central$34,200Salamanca City$33,745Solvay Union Free$25,814Schuylerville Central$25,357Brooklyn Ascend Charter School$25,091Dansville Central Schools$24,748Chenango Forks Central$22,944Mechanicville City$19,404State median, 1,000+ students $26,567

Where the money came from

$59,289,000 in revenue: 72.2% state, 6.6% local and 21.1% federal. Total spending including $11,823,000 of capital outlay was $62,473,000, or $45,634 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Salamanca City School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $42,827,000; Local $3,926,000; Federal $12,536,000; total $59,289,000.
  • State$42,827,000 72%
  • Local$3,926,000 7%
  • Federal$12,536,000 21%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 440 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,293 students in 2022-23, 1,307 students in 2023-24, 1,323 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Salamanca City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,293, 2023-24: 1,307, 2024-25: 1,32305001k1.5k2022-231,2932023-241,3072024-251,323
Salamanca City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,293, 2023-24: 1,307, 2024-25: 1,32305001k1.5k2022-231,2932023-241,3072024-251,323
Salamanca City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,293, 2023-24: 1,307, 2024-25: 1,32305001k1.5k2022-231,2932023-241,3072024-251,323
Salamanca City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,293, 2023-24: 1,307, 2024-25: 1,32305001k1.5k2022-231,2932023-241,3072024-251,323

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,293151.58.5
2023-241,307156.98.3
2024-251,323163.08.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$11,217,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $8,194 per student

Salamanca City School District booked $11,217,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 152 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,040 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 38 in 100 New York districts with a figure (state median $80,291, 622 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$8,962,00079.9%
Special education$1,773,00015.8%
Other programs$482,0004.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $7,014 in 2018-19, $7,351 in 2019-20, $7,541 in 2020-21, $7,646 in 2021-22, $8,194 in 2022-23.

Salamanca City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,014, 2019-20: $7,351, 2020-21: $7,541, 2021-22: $7,646, 2022-23: $8,19402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,0142019-20$7,3512020-21$7,5412021-22$7,6462022-23$8,194
Salamanca City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,014, 2019-20: $7,351, 2020-21: $7,541, 2021-22: $7,646, 2022-23: $8,19402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,0142019-20$7,3512020-21$7,5412021-22$7,6462022-23$8,194
Salamanca City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,014, 2019-20: $7,351, 2020-21: $7,541, 2021-22: $7,646, 2022-23: $8,19402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,0142019-20$7,3512020-21$7,5412021-22$7,6462022-23$8,194
Salamanca City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,014, 2019-20: $7,351, 2020-21: $7,541, 2021-22: $7,646, 2022-23: $8,19402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,0142019-20$7,3512020-21$7,5412021-22$7,6462022-23$8,194

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Salamanca City School District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 20-24% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts22-26%47%554
Math20-24%40%524

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 99 students in Salamanca City School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%87.2%
Students in the class99202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 426 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Prospect Elementary School4268.069.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 404 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Seneca Intermediate School4047.870.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 493 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Salamanca High School4938.565.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Salamanca City School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Salamanca City School District

  1. New York districts by spending per studentSalamanca City School District ranks 58 of 440 New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($33,745).#58 of 440
  2. Every school district in New YorkSalamanca City School District is the number 371 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 1,369 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#371 of 1,104
  3. Dansville Central SchoolsThe next larger New York district: 1,371 students in fall 2022, $24,748 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,748
  4. Mechanicville City School DistrictThe next smaller New York district: 1,367 students in fall 2022, $19,404 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,404
  5. Compare Salamanca City School District with Dansville Central SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Salamanca High School, its largest high school493 students in 2024-25, 8.5 per teacher.493
  7. Teacher salary spending across New YorkSalamanca City School District spent $74,040 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $80,291); spending, not a salary.$74,040
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Salamanca City School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Salamanca City School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,323 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Salamanca City School District spend per student?
    $33,745 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New York median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $26,567 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $36,506 per student, up 8.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Salamanca City School District's money come from?
    $59,289,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.2% state, 6.6% local and 21.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Salamanca City School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 473 of the 1,342 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 35.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Salamanca City School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $11,217,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $8,194 per student. Divided by the 152 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,040 per teacher, more than 38 in 100 New York districts (state median $80,291). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Salamanca City School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Salamanca City School District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 20-24% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Salamanca City School District?
    80-84% of the 99 students in Salamanca City School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Salamanca City School District's NCES district ID?
    3625440. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25