Roxboro Community School

Public school district · Person County · North Carolina · NCES district ID 3700175

Roxboro Community School spent $9,118 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 85% of the other North Carolina districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,241). Its one school enrolled 727 students in 2024-25; 72.0% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (North Carolina: 86.5%).

Spending per student among North Carolina districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Roxboro Community School in enrollment (673 to 702 students) and Roxboro Community School itself.

Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Roxboro Community School, FY23Quality Education Academy $14,184; Research Triangle Charter Academy $12,802; Gate City Charter Academy $12,410; PreEminent Charter School $12,150; The Franklin School of Innovation $11,529; Johnston Charter Academy $10,152; Clover Garden School $9,841; Millennium Charter Academy $9,785; Roxboro Community School $9,118; Cardinal Charter $8,801; State median, under 1,000 students $11,241.6k8k10k12k14k16kQuality Education Academy$14,184Research Triangle Charter Acad…$12,802Gate City Charter Academy$12,410PreEminent Charter School$12,150The Franklin School of Innovat…$11,529Johnston Charter Academy$10,152Clover Garden School$9,841Millennium Charter Academy$9,785Roxboro Community School$9,118Cardinal Charter$8,801State median, under 1,000 students $11,241
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Roxboro Community School, FY23Quality Education Academy $14,184; Research Triangle Charter Academy $12,802; Gate City Charter Academy $12,410; PreEminent Charter School $12,150; The Franklin School of Innovation $11,529; Johnston Charter Academy $10,152; Clover Garden School $9,841; Millennium Charter Academy $9,785; Roxboro Community School $9,118; Cardinal Charter $8,801; State median, under 1,000 students $11,241.6k8k10k12k14k16kQuality Education Academy$14,184Research Triangle Charter Academy$12,802Gate City Charter Academy$12,410PreEminent Charter School$12,150The Franklin School of Innovation$11,529Johnston Charter Academy$10,152Clover Garden School$9,841Millennium Charter Academy$9,785Roxboro Community School$9,118Cardinal Charter$8,801State median, under 1,000 students $11,241
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Roxboro Community School, FY23Quality Education Academy $14,184; Research Triangle Charter Academy $12,802; Gate City Charter Academy $12,410; PreEminent Charter School $12,150; The Franklin School of Innovation $11,529; Johnston Charter Academy $10,152; Clover Garden School $9,841; Millennium Charter Academy $9,785; Roxboro Community School $9,118; Cardinal Charter $8,801; State median, under 1,000 students $11,241.6k10k14k16kQuality Education Academy$14,184Research Triangle Charter Academy$12,802Gate City Charter Academy$12,410PreEminent Charter School$12,150The Franklin School of Innovation$11,529Johnston Charter Academy$10,152Clover Garden School$9,841Millennium Charter Academy$9,785Roxboro Community School$9,118Cardinal Charter$8,801State median, under 1,000 students $11,241
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Roxboro Community School, FY23Quality Education Academy $14,184; Research Triangle Charter Academy $12,802; Gate City Charter Academy $12,410; PreEminent Charter School $12,150; The Franklin School of Innovation $11,529; Johnston Charter Academy $10,152; Clover Garden School $9,841; Millennium Charter Academy $9,785; Roxboro Community School $9,118; Cardinal Charter $8,801; State median, under 1,000 students $11,241.6k10k14k16kQuality Education Academy$14,184Research Triangle Charter Academy$12,802Gate City Charter Academy$12,410PreEminent Charter School$12,150The Franklin School of Innovation$11,529Johnston Charter Academy$10,152Clover Garden School$9,841Millennium Charter Academy$9,785Roxboro Community School$9,118Cardinal Charter$8,801State median, under 1,000 students $11,241

Where the money came from

$7,179,000 in revenue: 72.0% state, 23.9% local and 4.1% federal. Total spending including $672,000 of capital outlay was $6,945,000, or $10,094 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Roxboro Community School revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,168,000; Local $1,716,000; Federal $295,000; total $7,179,000.
  • State$5,168,000 72%
  • Local$1,716,000 24%
  • Federal$295,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 178 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

688 students in 2022-23, 714 students in 2023-24, 727 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Roxboro Community School enrollment by school year2022-23: 688, 2023-24: 714, 2024-25: 72702004006008002022-236882023-247142024-25727
Roxboro Community School enrollment by school year2022-23: 688, 2023-24: 714, 2024-25: 72702004006008002022-236882023-247142024-25727
Roxboro Community School enrollment by school year2022-23: 688, 2023-24: 714, 2024-25: 72702004006008002022-236882023-247142024-25727
Roxboro Community School enrollment by school year2022-23: 688, 2023-24: 714, 2024-25: 72702004006008002022-236882023-247142024-25727

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2368847.814.4
2023-2471449.014.6
2024-2572748.814.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,504,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,640 per student

Roxboro Community School booked $2,504,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 48 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $52,352 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 81 in 100 North Carolina districts with a figure (state median $49,503, 293 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,301,00091.9%
Special education$166,0006.6%
Other programs$37,0001.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,538 in 2018-19, $3,053 in 2019-20, $3,198 in 2020-21, $3,534 in 2021-22, $3,640 in 2022-23.

Roxboro Community School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,053, 2020-21: $3,198, 2021-22: $3,534, 2022-23: $3,64001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,0532020-21$3,1982021-22$3,5342022-23$3,640
Roxboro Community School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,053, 2020-21: $3,198, 2021-22: $3,534, 2022-23: $3,64001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,0532020-21$3,1982021-22$3,5342022-23$3,640
Roxboro Community School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,053, 2020-21: $3,198, 2021-22: $3,534, 2022-23: $3,64001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,0532020-21$3,1982021-22$3,5342022-23$3,640
Roxboro Community School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,053, 2020-21: $3,198, 2021-22: $3,534, 2022-23: $3,64001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,0532020-21$3,1982021-22$3,5342022-23$3,640

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Roxboro Community School scored proficient or above: 80-84% in reading and 80-84% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Carolina, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNorth CarolinaStudents tested
Reading and language arts80-84%48%311
Math80-84%50%311

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 73 students in Roxboro Community School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNorth Carolina
Four-year graduation rate95% or more86.5%
Students in the class73120,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 high school, 727 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Roxboro Community School72714.9not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Roxboro Community School

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Roxboro Community School

  1. North Carolina districts by spending per studentRoxboro Community School ranks 151 of 178 North Carolina districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,118).#151 of 178
  2. Every school district in North CarolinaRoxboro Community School is the number 190 by size of 332 North Carolina districts, with 688 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#190 of 332
  3. Research Triangle Charter AcademyThe next larger North Carolina district: 693 students in fall 2022, $12,802 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,802
  4. Millennium Charter AcademyThe next smaller North Carolina district: 687 students in fall 2022, $9,785 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,785
  5. Compare Roxboro Community School with Research Triangle Charter AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Roxboro Community School, its largest high school727 students in 2024-25, 14.9 per teacher.727
  7. Teacher salary spending across North CarolinaRoxboro Community School spent $52,352 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,503); spending, not a salary.$52,352
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Roxboro Community School

  1. How many schools and students are in Roxboro Community School?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 high), enrolling 727 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Roxboro Community School spend per student?
    $9,118 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Carolina median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,241 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Roxboro Community School's money come from?
    $7,179,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.0% state, 23.9% local and 4.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Roxboro Community School spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,504,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,640 per student. Divided by the 48 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $52,352 per teacher, more than 81 in 100 North Carolina districts (state median $49,503). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. How do students in Roxboro Community School do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Roxboro Community School scored proficient or above: 80-84% in reading and 80-84% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. North Carolina's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Roxboro Community School?
    95% or more of the 73 students in Roxboro Community School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Roxboro Community School's NCES district ID?
    3700175. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25