Richmond Charter Academy District

Public school district · Contra Costa County · California · NCES district ID 0602121

Richmond Charter Academy District spent $14,145 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 80% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 296 students in 2024-25; 63.6% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Richmond Charter Academy District in enrollment (323 to 326 students) and Richmond Charter Academy District itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Richmond Charter Academy District, FY23Everest Value District $23,758; Lone Pine Unified $23,338; Sí Se Puede Academy $22,849; Weed Union Elementary $20,291; STEM Preparatory Elementary District $19,705; Aspen Valley Prep Academy District $19,590; Ararat Charter School $18,551; Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy District $16,241; Richmond Charter Academy District $14,145; iLead Agua Dulce District $12,805; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kEverest Value District$23,758Lone Pine Unified$23,338Sí Se Puede Academy$22,849Weed Union Elementary$20,291STEM Preparatory Elementary Di…$19,705Aspen Valley Prep Academy Dist…$19,590Ararat Charter School$18,551Aspire Junior Collegiate Acade…$16,241Richmond Charter Academy Distr…$14,145iLead Agua Dulce District$12,805State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Richmond Charter Academy District, FY23Everest Value District $23,758; Lone Pine Unified $23,338; Sí Se Puede Academy $22,849; Weed Union Elementary $20,291; STEM Preparatory Elementary District $19,705; Aspen Valley Prep Academy District $19,590; Ararat Charter School $18,551; Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy District $16,241; Richmond Charter Academy District $14,145; iLead Agua Dulce District $12,805; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kEverest Value District$23,758Lone Pine Unified$23,338Sí Se Puede Academy$22,849Weed Union Elementary$20,291STEM Preparatory Elementary District$19,705Aspen Valley Prep Academy District$19,590Ararat Charter School$18,551Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy Di…$16,241Richmond Charter Academy District$14,145iLead Agua Dulce District$12,805State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Richmond Charter Academy District, FY23Everest Value District $23,758; Lone Pine Unified $23,338; Sí Se Puede Academy $22,849; Weed Union Elementary $20,291; STEM Preparatory Elementary District $19,705; Aspen Valley Prep Academy District $19,590; Ararat Charter School $18,551; Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy District $16,241; Richmond Charter Academy District $14,145; iLead Agua Dulce District $12,805; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kEverest Value District$23,758Lone Pine Unified$23,338Sí Se Puede Academy$22,849Weed Union Elementary$20,291STEM Preparatory Elementary District$19,705Aspen Valley Prep Academy District$19,590Ararat Charter School$18,551Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy District$16,241Richmond Charter Academy District$14,145iLead Agua Dulce District$12,805State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Richmond Charter Academy District, FY23Everest Value District $23,758; Lone Pine Unified $23,338; Sí Se Puede Academy $22,849; Weed Union Elementary $20,291; STEM Preparatory Elementary District $19,705; Aspen Valley Prep Academy District $19,590; Ararat Charter School $18,551; Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy District $16,241; Richmond Charter Academy District $14,145; iLead Agua Dulce District $12,805; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kEverest Value District$23,758Lone Pine Unified$23,338Sí Se Puede Academy$22,849Weed Union Elementary$20,291STEM Preparatory Elementary District$19,705Aspen Valley Prep Academy District$19,590Ararat Charter School$18,551Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy Distri…$16,241Richmond Charter Academy District$14,145iLead Agua Dulce District$12,805State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$5,671,000 in revenue: 63.6% state, 22.8% local and 13.6% federal. Total spending including $97,000 of capital outlay was $4,681,000, or $14,448 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Richmond Charter Academy District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,606,000; Local $1,295,000; Federal $770,000; total $5,671,000.
  • State$3,606,000 64%
  • Local$1,295,000 23%
  • Federal$770,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

324 students in 2022-23, 292 students in 2023-24, 296 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Richmond Charter Academy District enrollment by school year2022-23: 324, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 29601002003004002022-233242023-242922024-25296
Richmond Charter Academy District enrollment by school year2022-23: 324, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 29601002003004002022-233242023-242922024-25296
Richmond Charter Academy District enrollment by school year2022-23: 324, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 29601002003004002022-233242023-242922024-25296
Richmond Charter Academy District enrollment by school year2022-23: 324, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 29601002003004002022-233242023-242922024-25296

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2332410.929.8
2023-242929.032.3
2024-252968.136.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Richmond Charter Academy District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 12-16% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts22-26%45%267
Math12-16%34%268

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 middle school, 296 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Richmond Charter Academy29636.770.9%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Richmond Charter Academy District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Richmond Charter Academy District

  1. California districts by spending per studentRichmond Charter Academy District ranks 989 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,145).#989 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaRichmond Charter Academy District is the number 1,336 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 324 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,336 of 1,991
  3. Ararat Charter SchoolThe next larger California district: 325 students in fall 2022, $18,551 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,551
  4. iLead Agua Dulce DistrictThe next smaller California district: 323 students in fall 2022, $12,805 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,805
  5. Compare Richmond Charter Academy District with Ararat Charter SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Richmond Charter Academy District

  1. How many schools and students are in Richmond Charter Academy District?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 middle), enrolling 296 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Richmond Charter Academy District spend per student?
    $14,145 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Richmond Charter Academy District's money come from?
    $5,671,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.6% state, 22.8% local and 13.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Richmond Charter Academy District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Richmond Charter Academy District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 12-16% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is Richmond Charter Academy District's NCES district ID?
    0602121. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25