Perry County School District

Listed by NCES as Perry Co School Dist (district ID 2803570)

Public school district · Perry County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2803570

Perry County School District spent $15,310 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 59% of the other Mississippi districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,846). Its 4 schools enrolled 847 students in 2024-25; 41.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,160 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Mississippi: 89.4%).

Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Perry County in enrollment (884 to 1,004 students) and Perry County itself.

Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Perry County, FY23Kemper Co School Dist $20,206; Coahoma County $16,320; Attala Co School Dist $15,916; Aberdeen $15,579; West Bolivar Cons School Dist $15,499; Perry County $15,310; Benton Co School Dist $13,860; Wilkinson Co School Dist $13,714; Union Public School Dist $11,640; Enterprise $11,213; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20k25kKemper Co School Dist$20,206Coahoma County$16,320Attala Co School Dist$15,916Aberdeen$15,579West Bolivar Cons School Dist$15,499Perry County$15,310Benton Co School Dist$13,860Wilkinson Co School Dist$13,714Union Public School Dist$11,640Enterprise$11,213State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Perry County, FY23Kemper Co School Dist $20,206; Coahoma County $16,320; Attala Co School Dist $15,916; Aberdeen $15,579; West Bolivar Cons School Dist $15,499; Perry County $15,310; Benton Co School Dist $13,860; Wilkinson Co School Dist $13,714; Union Public School Dist $11,640; Enterprise $11,213; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20k25kKemper Co School Dist$20,206Coahoma County$16,320Attala Co School Dist$15,916Aberdeen$15,579West Bolivar Cons School Dist$15,499Perry County$15,310Benton Co School Dist$13,860Wilkinson Co School Dist$13,714Union Public School Dist$11,640Enterprise$11,213State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Perry County, FY23Kemper Co School Dist $20,206; Coahoma County $16,320; Attala Co School Dist $15,916; Aberdeen $15,579; West Bolivar Cons School Dist $15,499; Perry County $15,310; Benton Co School Dist $13,860; Wilkinson Co School Dist $13,714; Union Public School Dist $11,640; Enterprise $11,213; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20k25kKemper Co School Dist$20,206Coahoma County$16,320Attala Co School Dist$15,916Aberdeen$15,579West Bolivar Cons School Dist$15,499Perry County$15,310Benton Co School Dist$13,860Wilkinson Co School Dist$13,714Union Public School Dist$11,640Enterprise$11,213State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Perry County, FY23Kemper Co School Dist $20,206; Coahoma County $16,320; Attala Co School Dist $15,916; Aberdeen $15,579; West Bolivar Cons School Dist $15,499; Perry County $15,310; Benton Co School Dist $13,860; Wilkinson Co School Dist $13,714; Union Public School Dist $11,640; Enterprise $11,213; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20k25kKemper Co School Dist$20,206Coahoma County$16,320Attala Co School Dist$15,916Aberdeen$15,579West Bolivar Cons School Dist$15,499Perry County$15,310Benton Co School Dist$13,860Wilkinson Co School Dist$13,714Union Public School Dist$11,640Enterprise$11,213State median, under 1,000 students $14,846

Where the money came from

$17,027,000 in revenue: 41.0% state, 27.8% local and 31.2% federal. Total spending including $2,489,000 of capital outlay was $16,938,000, or $18,154 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Perry County School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,985,000; Local $4,728,000; Federal $5,314,000; total $17,027,000.
  • State$6,985,000 41%
  • Local$4,728,000 28%
  • Federal$5,314,000 31%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 35 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

933 students in 2022-23, 892 students in 2023-24, 847 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Perry County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 933, 2023-24: 892, 2024-25: 84702505007501k2022-239332023-248922024-25847
Perry County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 933, 2023-24: 892, 2024-25: 84702505007501k2022-239332023-248922024-25847
Perry County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 933, 2023-24: 892, 2024-25: 84702505007501k2022-239332023-248922024-25847
Perry County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 933, 2023-24: 892, 2024-25: 84702505007501k2022-239332023-248922024-25847

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2393382.311.3
2023-2489282.410.8
2024-2584773.011.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$4,444,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,763 per student

Perry County School District booked $4,444,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 90 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $49,241 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 27 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,237,00072.8%
Special education$537,00012.1%
Vocational$600,00013.5%
Other programs$70,0001.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,713 in 2018-19, $4,213 in 2019-20, $4,487 in 2020-21, $4,369 in 2021-22, $4,763 in 2022-23.

Perry County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,713, 2019-20: $4,213, 2020-21: $4,487, 2021-22: $4,369, 2022-23: $4,76302k4k6k2018-19$3,7132019-20$4,2132020-21$4,4872021-22$4,3692022-23$4,763
Perry County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,713, 2019-20: $4,213, 2020-21: $4,487, 2021-22: $4,369, 2022-23: $4,76302k4k6k2018-19$3,7132019-20$4,2132020-21$4,4872021-22$4,3692022-23$4,763
Perry County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,713, 2019-20: $4,213, 2020-21: $4,487, 2021-22: $4,369, 2022-23: $4,76302k4k6k2018-19$3,7132019-20$4,2132020-21$4,4872021-22$4,3692022-23$4,763
Perry County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,713, 2019-20: $4,213, 2020-21: $4,487, 2021-22: $4,369, 2022-23: $4,76302k4k6k2018-19$3,7132019-20$4,2132020-21$4,4872021-22$4,3692022-23$4,763

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Perry County School District scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 38% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMississippiStudents tested
Reading and language arts31%41.7%502
Math38%47%527

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 66 students in Perry County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMississippi
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%89.4%
Students in the class6631,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 407 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Perry Elementary School23412.176.9%Schoolwide program
Runnelstown Elementary School17310.058.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 178 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perry Central Middle School17811.269.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 262 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perry Central High School26212.868.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Perry County School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Perry County School District

  1. Mississippi districts by spending per studentPerry County School District ranks 15 of 35 Mississippi districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,310).#15 of 35
  2. Every school district in MississippiPerry County School District is the number 118 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 933 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#118 of 152
  3. West Bolivar Cons School DistThe next larger Mississippi district: 938 students in fall 2022, $15,499 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,499
  4. Union Public School DistThe next smaller Mississippi district: 927 students in fall 2022, $11,640 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,640
  5. Compare Perry County School District with West Bolivar Cons School DistEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Perry Central High School, its largest high school262 students in 2024-25, 12.8 per teacher.262
  7. Teacher salary spending across MississippiPerry County School District spent $49,241 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$49,241
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Perry County School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Perry County School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 847 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Perry County School District spend per student?
    $15,310 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,846 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,160 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Perry County School District's money come from?
    $17,027,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 41.0% state, 27.8% local and 31.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Perry County School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 310 of the 1,203 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 25.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Perry County School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $4,444,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,763 per student. Divided by the 90 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $49,241 per teacher, more than 27 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Perry County School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Perry County School District scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 38% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Perry County School District?
    85-89% of the 66 students in Perry County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Perry County School District's NCES district ID?
    2803570. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25