Perry Central Community Schools

Listed by NCES as Perry Central Com Schools Corp (district ID 1801740)

Public school district · Perry County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1801740

Perry Central Community Schools spent $12,338 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 51% of the other Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,329). Its 2 schools enrolled 1,275 students in 2024-25; 62.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,097 per student, up 6.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Indiana: 88.1%).

Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Perry Central Community Schools in enrollment (1,247 to 1,325 students) and Perry Central Community Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Perry Central Community Schools, FY23South Adams Schools $13,696; Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist $13,537; Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp $12,679; Perry Central Community Schools $12,338; Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con $12,277; Paoli Community School Corporation $12,258; South Knox School Corporation $12,102; Taylor Community School Corporation $11,822; Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp $11,120; Scott County School District 1 $11,019; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14kSouth Adams Schools$13,696Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch …$13,537Prairie Heights Community Sch …$12,679Perry Central Community Schools$12,338Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con$12,277Paoli Community School Corpora…$12,258South Knox School Corporation$12,102Taylor Community School Corpor…$11,822Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp$11,120Scott County School District 1$11,019State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Perry Central Community Schools, FY23South Adams Schools $13,696; Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist $13,537; Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp $12,679; Perry Central Community Schools $12,338; Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con $12,277; Paoli Community School Corporation $12,258; South Knox School Corporation $12,102; Taylor Community School Corporation $11,822; Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp $11,120; Scott County School District 1 $11,019; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14kSouth Adams Schools$13,696Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist$13,537Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp$12,679Perry Central Community Schools$12,338Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con$12,277Paoli Community School Corporation$12,258South Knox School Corporation$12,102Taylor Community School Corporation$11,822Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp$11,120Scott County School District 1$11,019State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Perry Central Community Schools, FY23South Adams Schools $13,696; Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist $13,537; Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp $12,679; Perry Central Community Schools $12,338; Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con $12,277; Paoli Community School Corporation $12,258; South Knox School Corporation $12,102; Taylor Community School Corporation $11,822; Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp $11,120; Scott County School District 1 $11,019; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14kSouth Adams Schools$13,696Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist$13,537Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp$12,679Perry Central Community Schools$12,338Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con$12,277Paoli Community School Corporation$12,258South Knox School Corporation$12,102Taylor Community School Corporation$11,822Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp$11,120Scott County School District 1$11,019State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Perry Central Community Schools, FY23South Adams Schools $13,696; Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist $13,537; Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp $12,679; Perry Central Community Schools $12,338; Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con $12,277; Paoli Community School Corporation $12,258; South Knox School Corporation $12,102; Taylor Community School Corporation $11,822; Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp $11,120; Scott County School District 1 $11,019; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14kSouth Adams Schools$13,696Union Co/Clg Corner Joint Sch Dist$13,537Prairie Heights Community Sch Corp$12,679Perry Central Community Schools$12,338Southwestern-Jefferson Co Con$12,277Paoli Community School Corporation$12,258South Knox School Corporation$12,102Taylor Community School Corporation$11,822Southeast Dubois Co Sch Corp$11,120Scott County School District 1$11,019State median, 1,000+ students $12,329

Where the money came from

$18,753,000 in revenue: 62.4% state, 23.6% local and 14.0% federal. Total spending including $2,186,000 of capital outlay was $18,529,000, or $14,419 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Perry Central Community Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,700,000; Local $4,425,000; Federal $2,628,000; total $18,753,000.
  • State$11,700,000 62%
  • Local$4,425,000 24%
  • Federal$2,628,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 240 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,285 students in 2022-23, 1,280 students in 2023-24, 1,275 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Perry Central Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,285, 2023-24: 1,280, 2024-25: 1,27505001k1.5k2022-231,2852023-241,2802024-251,275
Perry Central Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,285, 2023-24: 1,280, 2024-25: 1,27505001k1.5k2022-231,2852023-241,2802024-251,275
Perry Central Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,285, 2023-24: 1,280, 2024-25: 1,27505001k1.5k2022-231,2852023-241,2802024-251,275
Perry Central Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,285, 2023-24: 1,280, 2024-25: 1,27505001k1.5k2022-231,2852023-241,2802024-251,275

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,28579.016.3
2023-241,28081.015.8
2024-251,27579.016.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,779,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,941 per student

Perry Central Community Schools booked $3,779,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 79 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,835 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,096,00081.9%
Special education$280,0007.4%
Vocational$348,0009.2%
Other programs$55,0001.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,468 in 2018-19, $2,610 in 2019-20, $2,561 in 2020-21, $2,614 in 2021-22, $2,941 in 2022-23.

Perry Central Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,468, 2019-20: $2,610, 2020-21: $2,561, 2021-22: $2,614, 2022-23: $2,94101k2k3k2018-19$2,4682019-20$2,6102020-21$2,5612021-22$2,6142022-23$2,941
Perry Central Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,468, 2019-20: $2,610, 2020-21: $2,561, 2021-22: $2,614, 2022-23: $2,94101k2k3k2018-19$2,4682019-20$2,6102020-21$2,5612021-22$2,6142022-23$2,941
Perry Central Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,468, 2019-20: $2,610, 2020-21: $2,561, 2021-22: $2,614, 2022-23: $2,94101k2k3k2018-19$2,4682019-20$2,6102020-21$2,5612021-22$2,6142022-23$2,941
Perry Central Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,468, 2019-20: $2,610, 2020-21: $2,561, 2021-22: $2,614, 2022-23: $2,94101k2k3k2018-19$2,4682019-20$2,6102020-21$2,5612021-22$2,6142022-23$2,941

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Perry Central Community Schools scored proficient or above: 46% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIndianaStudents tested
Math46%37.5%603

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 90 students in Perry Central Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIndiana
Four-year graduation rate95% or more88.1%
Students in the class9077,216

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 734 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perry Central Elementary School73419.336.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 541 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perry Central Jr-Sr High School54113.230.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Perry Central Community Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Perry Central Community Schools

  1. Indiana districts by spending per studentPerry Central Community Schools ranks 118 of 240 Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,338).#118 of 240
  2. Every school district in IndianaPerry Central Community Schools is the number 204 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 1,285 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#204 of 414
  3. South Adams SchoolsThe next larger Indiana district: 1,291 students in fall 2022, $13,696 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,696
  4. Southwestern-Jefferson Co ConThe next smaller Indiana district: 1,277 students in fall 2022, $12,277 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,277
  5. Compare Perry Central Community Schools with South Adams SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Perry Central Jr-Sr High School, its largest high school541 students in 2024-25, 13.2 per teacher.541
  7. Teacher salary spending across IndianaPerry Central Community Schools spent $47,835 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$47,835
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Perry Central Community Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Perry Central Community Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 1,275 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Perry Central Community Schools spend per student?
    $12,338 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,329 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,097 per student, up 6.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Perry Central Community Schools' money come from?
    $18,753,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.4% state, 23.6% local and 14.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Perry Central Community Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 102 of the 1,033 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Perry Central Community Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,779,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,941 per student. Divided by the 79 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,835 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Perry Central Community Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Perry Central Community Schools scored proficient or above: 46% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Perry Central Community Schools?
    95% or more of the 90 students in Perry Central Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Perry Central Community Schools' NCES district ID?
    1801740. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25