Ord Public Schools

Public school district · Valley County · Nebraska · NCES district ID 3174940

Ord Public Schools spent $16,514 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 72% of the other Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,474). Its 2 schools enrolled 544 students in 2024-25; 13.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,588 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-89% (Nebraska: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Nebraska districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ord Public Schools in enrollment (527 to 590 students) and Ord Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Ord Public Schools, FY23Gordon-Rushville Public Schs $18,058; North Bend Central Public Schs $17,188; Tekamah-Herman Community Schs $16,588; Ord Public Schools $16,514; Madison Public Schools $16,239; Wakefield Public Schools $15,531; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Hershey Public Schools $14,962; Gibbon Public Schools $14,630; Battle Creek Public Schools $13,092; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k12k14k16k18k20kGordon-Rushville Public Schs$18,058North Bend Central Public Schs$17,188Tekamah-Herman Community Schs$16,588Ord Public Schools$16,514Madison Public Schools$16,239Wakefield Public Schools$15,531Logan View Public Schools$15,086Hershey Public Schools$14,962Gibbon Public Schools$14,630Battle Creek Public Schools$13,092State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Ord Public Schools, FY23Gordon-Rushville Public Schs $18,058; North Bend Central Public Schs $17,188; Tekamah-Herman Community Schs $16,588; Ord Public Schools $16,514; Madison Public Schools $16,239; Wakefield Public Schools $15,531; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Hershey Public Schools $14,962; Gibbon Public Schools $14,630; Battle Creek Public Schools $13,092; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k12k14k16k18k20kGordon-Rushville Public Schs$18,058North Bend Central Public Schs$17,188Tekamah-Herman Community Schs$16,588Ord Public Schools$16,514Madison Public Schools$16,239Wakefield Public Schools$15,531Logan View Public Schools$15,086Hershey Public Schools$14,962Gibbon Public Schools$14,630Battle Creek Public Schools$13,092State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Ord Public Schools, FY23Gordon-Rushville Public Schs $18,058; North Bend Central Public Schs $17,188; Tekamah-Herman Community Schs $16,588; Ord Public Schools $16,514; Madison Public Schools $16,239; Wakefield Public Schools $15,531; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Hershey Public Schools $14,962; Gibbon Public Schools $14,630; Battle Creek Public Schools $13,092; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k14k18k20kGordon-Rushville Public Schs$18,058North Bend Central Public Schs$17,188Tekamah-Herman Community Schs$16,588Ord Public Schools$16,514Madison Public Schools$16,239Wakefield Public Schools$15,531Logan View Public Schools$15,086Hershey Public Schools$14,962Gibbon Public Schools$14,630Battle Creek Public Schools$13,092State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Ord Public Schools, FY23Gordon-Rushville Public Schs $18,058; North Bend Central Public Schs $17,188; Tekamah-Herman Community Schs $16,588; Ord Public Schools $16,514; Madison Public Schools $16,239; Wakefield Public Schools $15,531; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Hershey Public Schools $14,962; Gibbon Public Schools $14,630; Battle Creek Public Schools $13,092; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k14k18k20kGordon-Rushville Public Schs$18,058North Bend Central Public Schs$17,188Tekamah-Herman Community Schs$16,588Ord Public Schools$16,514Madison Public Schools$16,239Wakefield Public Schools$15,531Logan View Public Schools$15,086Hershey Public Schools$14,962Gibbon Public Schools$14,630Battle Creek Public Schools$13,092State median, under 1,000 students $18,474

Where the money came from

$10,038,000 in revenue: 13.0% state, 75.2% local and 11.8% federal. Total spending including $280,000 of capital outlay was $9,921,000, or $17,653 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ord Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,309,000; Local $7,546,000; Federal $1,183,000; total $10,038,000.
  • State$1,309,000 13%
  • Local$7,546,000 75%
  • Federal$1,183,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 201 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

562 students in 2022-23, 568 students in 2023-24, 544 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ord Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 562, 2023-24: 568, 2024-25: 54402004006002022-235622023-245682024-25544
Ord Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 562, 2023-24: 568, 2024-25: 54402004006002022-235622023-245682024-25544
Ord Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 562, 2023-24: 568, 2024-25: 54402004006002022-235622023-245682024-25544
Ord Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 562, 2023-24: 568, 2024-25: 54402004006002022-235622023-245682024-25544

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2356247.311.9
2023-2456847.212.0
2024-2554447.411.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,808,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,996 per student

Ord Public Schools booked $2,808,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 47 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $59,353 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 33 in 100 Nebraska districts with a figure (state median $61,845, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,018,00071.9%
Special education$380,00013.5%
Other programs$410,00014.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,261 in 2018-19, $4,173 in 2019-20, $4,492 in 2020-21, $4,705 in 2021-22, $4,996 in 2022-23.

Ord Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,261, 2019-20: $4,173, 2020-21: $4,492, 2021-22: $4,705, 2022-23: $4,99602k4k6k2018-19$4,2612019-20$4,1732020-21$4,4922021-22$4,7052022-23$4,996
Ord Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,261, 2019-20: $4,173, 2020-21: $4,492, 2021-22: $4,705, 2022-23: $4,99602k4k6k2018-19$4,2612019-20$4,1732020-21$4,4922021-22$4,7052022-23$4,996
Ord Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,261, 2019-20: $4,173, 2020-21: $4,492, 2021-22: $4,705, 2022-23: $4,99602k4k6k2018-19$4,2612019-20$4,1732020-21$4,4922021-22$4,7052022-23$4,996
Ord Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,261, 2019-20: $4,173, 2020-21: $4,492, 2021-22: $4,705, 2022-23: $4,99602k4k6k2018-19$4,2612019-20$4,1732020-21$4,4922021-22$4,7052022-23$4,996

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ord Public Schools scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 35% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Nebraska, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNebraskaStudents tested
Reading and language arts41%47.1%283
Math35%46%283

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-89% of the 34 students in Ord Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNebraska
Four-year graduation rate80‑89%87.3%
Students in the class3424,336

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 305 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ord Elementary School30514.530.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 239 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ord Jr-Sr High School2399.120.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Ord Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ord Public Schools

  1. Nebraska districts by spending per studentOrd Public Schools ranks 146 of 201 Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,514).#146 of 201
  2. Every school district in NebraskaOrd Public Schools is the number 82 by size of 251 Nebraska districts, with 562 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#82 of 251
  3. Battle Creek Public SchoolsThe next larger Nebraska district: 566 students in fall 2022, $13,092 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,092
  4. Hershey Public SchoolsThe next smaller Nebraska district: 557 students in fall 2022, $14,962 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,962
  5. Compare Ord Public Schools with Battle Creek Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ord Jr-Sr High School, its largest high school239 students in 2024-25, 9.1 per teacher.239
  7. Teacher salary spending across NebraskaOrd Public Schools spent $59,353 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,845); spending, not a salary.$59,353
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ord Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Ord Public Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 544 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ord Public Schools spend per student?
    $16,514 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Nebraska median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,474 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,588 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ord Public Schools' money come from?
    $10,038,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 13.0% state, 75.2% local and 11.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ord Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 73 of the 553 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ord Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,808,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,996 per student. Divided by the 47 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $59,353 per teacher, more than 33 in 100 Nebraska districts (state median $61,845). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ord Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ord Public Schools scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 35% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Nebraska's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ord Public Schools?
    80-89% of the 34 students in Ord Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ord Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    3174940. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25