a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school

Listed by NCES as Orange County Educational Arts Academy District (district ID 0602245)

Public school district · Orange County · California · NCES district ID 0602245

a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school spent $17,948 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 52% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 643 students in 2024-25; 64.2% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school in enrollment (606 to 614 students) and a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school, FY23Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High District $20,178; Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High District $18,321; Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High District $18,243; a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school $17,948; The Academy of Alameda District $17,278; Summit Public School: Tamalpais District $16,312; Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy District $14,507; Penn Valley Union Elementary $13,529; Valley View Charter Prep District $8,199; Sutter Peak Charter Academy District $7,788; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.5k10k15k20k25kAlliance Collins Family Colleg…$20,178Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Tech…$18,321Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter…$18,243a TK-8th Santa Ana charter sch…$17,948The Academy of Alameda District$17,278Summit Public School: Tamalpai…$16,312Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY)…$14,507Penn Valley Union Elementary$13,529Valley View Charter Prep Distr…$8,199Sutter Peak Charter Academy Di…$7,788State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school, FY23Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High District $20,178; Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High District $18,321; Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High District $18,243; a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school $17,948; The Academy of Alameda District $17,278; Summit Public School: Tamalpais District $16,312; Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy District $14,507; Penn Valley Union Elementary $13,529; Valley View Charter Prep District $8,199; Sutter Peak Charter Academy District $7,788; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.5k10k15k20k25kAlliance Collins Family College-Rea…$20,178Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technolog…$18,321Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High…$18,243a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school$17,948The Academy of Alameda District$17,278Summit Public School: Tamalpais Dis…$16,312Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Acad…$14,507Penn Valley Union Elementary$13,529Valley View Charter Prep District$8,199Sutter Peak Charter Academy District$7,788State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school, FY23Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High District $20,178; Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High District $18,321; Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High District $18,243; a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school $17,948; The Academy of Alameda District $17,278; Summit Public School: Tamalpais District $16,312; Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy District $14,507; Penn Valley Union Elementary $13,529; Valley View Charter Prep District $8,199; Sutter Peak Charter Academy District $7,788; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.5k15k25kAlliance Collins Family College-Ready High…$20,178Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academ…$18,321Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High District$18,243a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school$17,948The Academy of Alameda District$17,278Summit Public School: Tamalpais District$16,312Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy Dist…$14,507Penn Valley Union Elementary$13,529Valley View Charter Prep District$8,199Sutter Peak Charter Academy District$7,788State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school, FY23Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High District $20,178; Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High District $18,321; Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High District $18,243; a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school $17,948; The Academy of Alameda District $17,278; Summit Public School: Tamalpais District $16,312; Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy District $14,507; Penn Valley Union Elementary $13,529; Valley View Charter Prep District $8,199; Sutter Peak Charter Academy District $7,788; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.5k15k25kAlliance Collins Family College-Ready H…$20,178Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Ac…$18,321Oscar De La Hoya Animo Charter High Dis…$18,243a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school$17,948The Academy of Alameda District$17,278Summit Public School: Tamalpais District$16,312Knowledge Enlightens You (KEY) Academy…$14,507Penn Valley Union Elementary$13,529Valley View Charter Prep District$8,199Sutter Peak Charter Academy District$7,788State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$11,438,000 in revenue: 64.2% state, 30.1% local and 5.7% federal. Total spending including $184,000 of capital outlay was $11,164,000, or $18,302 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,339,000; Local $3,448,000; Federal $651,000; total $11,438,000.
  • State$7,339,000 64%
  • Local$3,448,000 30%
  • Federal$651,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

610 students in 2022-23, 629 students in 2023-24, 643 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school enrollment by school year2022-23: 610, 2023-24: 629, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236102023-246292024-25643
a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school enrollment by school year2022-23: 610, 2023-24: 629, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236102023-246292024-25643
a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school enrollment by school year2022-23: 610, 2023-24: 629, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236102023-246292024-25643
a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school enrollment by school year2022-23: 610, 2023-24: 629, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236102023-246292024-25643

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2361030.220.2
2023-2462931.919.7
2024-2564332.020.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school scored proficient or above: 38-45% in reading and 23-30% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts38-45%45%325
Math23-30%34%325

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 643 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Orange County Educational Arts Academy64320.156.6%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school

  1. California districts by spending per studenta TK-8th Santa Ana charter school ranks 593 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,948).#593 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in Californiaa TK-8th Santa Ana charter school is the number 849 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 610 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#849 of 1,991
  3. Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High DistrictThe next larger California district: 611 students in fall 2022, $20,178 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,178
  4. Penn Valley Union Elementary School DistrictThe next smaller California district: 609 students in fall 2022, $13,529 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,529
  5. Compare a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school with Alliance Collins Family College-Ready High DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school

  1. How many schools and students are in a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 643 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school spend per student?
    $17,948 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school's money come from?
    $11,438,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 64.2% state, 30.1% local and 5.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school scored proficient or above: 38-45% in reading and 23-30% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is a TK-8th Santa Ana charter school's NCES district ID?
    0602245. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25