Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District
Public school district · San Diego County · California · NCES district ID 0602002
Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District spent $14,569 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 76% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 194 students in 2024-25; 22.4% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District in enrollment (238 to 240 students) and Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District itself.
Where the money came from
$3,556,000 in revenue: 22.4% state, 76.5% local and 1.1% federal. Total spending including $74,000 of capital outlay was $3,557,000, or $14,883 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$798,000 22%
- Local$2,720,000 76%
- Federal$38,000 1%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
239 students in 2022-23, 211 students in 2023-24, 194 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 239 | 9.0 | 26.6 |
| 2023-24 | 211 | 6.0 | 35.2 |
| 2024-25 | 194 | 12.0 | 16.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District scored proficient or above: 63-83% in reading and 57-76% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 63-83% | 45% | 173 |
| Math | 57-76% | 34% | 174 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 194 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Old Town Academy K-8 Charter | 194 | 16.2 | 26.3% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District
- Website: oldtownacademy.org
- Phone: (619) 574-6225
- Office: 2120 San Diego Ave., San Diego, CA 92110
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District
- California districts by spending per studentOld Town Academy K-8 Charter District ranks 935 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,569).#935 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaOld Town Academy K-8 Charter District is the number 1,511 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 239 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,511 of 1,991
- Trivium Charter School Adventure DistrictThe next larger California district: 240 students in fall 2022, $13,396 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,396
- Mission View Public DistrictThe next smaller California district: 238 students in fall 2022, $28,811 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$28,811
- Compare Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District with Trivium Charter School Adventure DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District
How many schools and students are in Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 194 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District spend per student?
$14,569 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District's money come from?
$3,556,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 22.4% state, 76.5% local and 1.1% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District scored proficient or above: 63-83% in reading and 57-76% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Old Town Academy K-8 Charter District's NCES district ID?
0602002. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25