Okolona Separate School Dist

Public school district · Chickasaw County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2803390

Okolona Separate School Dist spent $15,278 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 56% of the other Mississippi districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,846). Its 3 schools enrolled 512 students in 2024-25; 45.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,636 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Mississippi: 89.4%).

Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Okolona Separate School Dist in enrollment (417 to 604 students) and Okolona Separate School Dist itself.

Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Okolona Separate School Dist, FY23Hollandale $19,027; West Tallahatchie $19,014; South Delta $16,904; Coffeeville School Dist $15,679; Okolona Separate School Dist $15,278; Reimagine Prep $14,016; Joel E Smilow Collegiate $12,513; Clarksdale Collegiate District $12,366; Joel E. Smillow Prep $11,640; Richton School Dist $11,235; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k12.5k15k17.5k20kHollandale$19,027West Tallahatchie$19,014South Delta$16,904Coffeeville School Dist$15,679Okolona Separate School Dist$15,278Reimagine Prep$14,016Joel E Smilow Collegiate$12,513Clarksdale Collegiate District$12,366Joel E. Smillow Prep$11,640Richton School Dist$11,235State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Okolona Separate School Dist, FY23Hollandale $19,027; West Tallahatchie $19,014; South Delta $16,904; Coffeeville School Dist $15,679; Okolona Separate School Dist $15,278; Reimagine Prep $14,016; Joel E Smilow Collegiate $12,513; Clarksdale Collegiate District $12,366; Joel E. Smillow Prep $11,640; Richton School Dist $11,235; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k12.5k15k17.5k20kHollandale$19,027West Tallahatchie$19,014South Delta$16,904Coffeeville School Dist$15,679Okolona Separate School Dist$15,278Reimagine Prep$14,016Joel E Smilow Collegiate$12,513Clarksdale Collegiate District$12,366Joel E. Smillow Prep$11,640Richton School Dist$11,235State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Okolona Separate School Dist, FY23Hollandale $19,027; West Tallahatchie $19,014; South Delta $16,904; Coffeeville School Dist $15,679; Okolona Separate School Dist $15,278; Reimagine Prep $14,016; Joel E Smilow Collegiate $12,513; Clarksdale Collegiate District $12,366; Joel E. Smillow Prep $11,640; Richton School Dist $11,235; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20kHollandale$19,027West Tallahatchie$19,014South Delta$16,904Coffeeville School Dist$15,679Okolona Separate School Dist$15,278Reimagine Prep$14,016Joel E Smilow Collegiate$12,513Clarksdale Collegiate District$12,366Joel E. Smillow Prep$11,640Richton School Dist$11,235State median, under 1,000 students $14,846
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Okolona Separate School Dist, FY23Hollandale $19,027; West Tallahatchie $19,014; South Delta $16,904; Coffeeville School Dist $15,679; Okolona Separate School Dist $15,278; Reimagine Prep $14,016; Joel E Smilow Collegiate $12,513; Clarksdale Collegiate District $12,366; Joel E. Smillow Prep $11,640; Richton School Dist $11,235; State median, under 1,000 students $14,846.10k15k20kHollandale$19,027West Tallahatchie$19,014South Delta$16,904Coffeeville School Dist$15,679Okolona Separate School Dist$15,278Reimagine Prep$14,016Joel E Smilow Collegiate$12,513Clarksdale Collegiate District$12,366Joel E. Smillow Prep$11,640Richton School Dist$11,235State median, under 1,000 students $14,846

Where the money came from

$9,318,000 in revenue: 45.5% state, 18.8% local and 35.8% federal. Total spending including $1,319,000 of capital outlay was $9,193,000, or $17,990 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Okolona Separate School Dist revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,236,000; Local $1,749,000; Federal $3,333,000; total $9,318,000.
  • State$4,236,000 45%
  • Local$1,749,000 19%
  • Federal$3,333,000 36%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 35 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

511 students in 2022-23, 517 students in 2023-24, 512 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Okolona Separate School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 511, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 51202004006002022-235112023-245172024-25512
Okolona Separate School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 511, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 51202004006002022-235112023-245172024-25512
Okolona Separate School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 511, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 51202004006002022-235112023-245172024-25512
Okolona Separate School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 511, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 51202004006002022-235112023-245172024-25512

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2351148.110.6
2023-2451748.710.6
2024-2551246.011.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,724,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,331 per student

Okolona Separate School Dist booked $2,724,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 54 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,249 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 39 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,811,00066.5%
Special education$409,00015.0%
Vocational$413,00015.2%
Other programs$91,0003.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,644 in 2018-19, $3,870 in 2019-20, $4,283 in 2020-21, $4,505 in 2021-22, $5,331 in 2022-23.

Okolona Separate School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,644, 2019-20: $3,870, 2020-21: $4,283, 2021-22: $4,505, 2022-23: $5,33102k4k6k2018-19$3,6442019-20$3,8702020-21$4,2832021-22$4,5052022-23$5,331
Okolona Separate School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,644, 2019-20: $3,870, 2020-21: $4,283, 2021-22: $4,505, 2022-23: $5,33102k4k6k2018-19$3,6442019-20$3,8702020-21$4,2832021-22$4,5052022-23$5,331
Okolona Separate School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,644, 2019-20: $3,870, 2020-21: $4,283, 2021-22: $4,505, 2022-23: $5,33102k4k6k2018-19$3,6442019-20$3,8702020-21$4,2832021-22$4,5052022-23$5,331
Okolona Separate School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,644, 2019-20: $3,870, 2020-21: $4,283, 2021-22: $4,505, 2022-23: $5,33102k4k6k2018-19$3,6442019-20$3,8702020-21$4,2832021-22$4,5052022-23$5,331

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Okolona Separate School Dist scored proficient or above: 22% in reading and 32% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMississippiStudents tested
Reading and language arts22%41.7%292
Math32%47%274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 46 students in Okolona Separate School Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMississippi
Four-year graduation rate90% or more89.4%
Students in the class4631,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 238 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Okolona Elementary School23815.9100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 125 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Okolona Middle School12511.0100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 149 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Okolona High School1497.6100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Okolona Separate School Dist

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Okolona Separate School Dist

  1. Mississippi districts by spending per studentOkolona Separate School Dist ranks 16 of 35 Mississippi districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,278).#16 of 35
  2. Every school district in MississippiOkolona Separate School Dist is the number 140 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 511 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#140 of 152
  3. West Tallahatchie School DistrictThe next larger Mississippi district: 513 students in fall 2022, $19,014 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,014
  4. Coffeeville School DistThe next smaller Mississippi district: 417 students in fall 2022, $15,679 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,679
  5. Compare Okolona Separate School Dist with West Tallahatchie School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Okolona High School, its largest high school149 students in 2024-25, 7.6 per teacher.149
  7. Teacher salary spending across MississippiOkolona Separate School Dist spent $50,249 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$50,249
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Okolona Separate School Dist

  1. How many schools and students are in Okolona Separate School Dist?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 512 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Okolona Separate School Dist spend per student?
    $15,278 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,846 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,636 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Okolona Separate School Dist's money come from?
    $9,318,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 45.5% state, 18.8% local and 35.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Okolona Separate School Dist live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 264 of the 774 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 34.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Okolona Separate School Dist spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,724,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,331 per student. Divided by the 54 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,249 per teacher, more than 39 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Okolona Separate School Dist do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Okolona Separate School Dist scored proficient or above: 22% in reading and 32% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Okolona Separate School Dist?
    90% or more of the 46 students in Okolona Separate School Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Okolona Separate School Dist's NCES district ID?
    2803390. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25