Odyssey Charter Schools

Listed by NCES as Odyssey Charter District (district ID 0601915)

Public school district · Los Angeles County · California · NCES district ID 0601915

Odyssey Charter Schools spent $13,581 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 84% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 463 students in 2024-25; 67.2% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Odyssey Charter Schools in enrollment (460 to 463 students) and Odyssey Charter Schools itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Odyssey Charter Schools, FY23EPIC de Cesar Chavez District $31,497; Mendocino Unified $28,262; Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District $19,963; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 District $18,341; Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District $18,032; Elevate School $14,857; Almond Acres Charter Academy District $13,753; Odyssey Charter Schools $13,581; Brittan Elementary $11,707; Family First Charter District $8,798; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.010k20k30k40kEPIC de Cesar Chavez District$31,497Mendocino Unified$28,262Alliance Morgan McKinzie High …$19,963Alliance College-Ready Middle …$18,341Alliance Kory Hunter Middle Di…$18,032Elevate School$14,857Almond Acres Charter Academy D…$13,753Odyssey Charter Schools$13,581Brittan Elementary$11,707Family First Charter District$8,798State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Odyssey Charter Schools, FY23EPIC de Cesar Chavez District $31,497; Mendocino Unified $28,262; Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District $19,963; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 District $18,341; Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District $18,032; Elevate School $14,857; Almond Acres Charter Academy District $13,753; Odyssey Charter Schools $13,581; Brittan Elementary $11,707; Family First Charter District $8,798; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.010k20k30k40kEPIC de Cesar Chavez District$31,497Mendocino Unified$28,262Alliance Morgan McKinzie High Distr…$19,963Alliance College-Ready Middle Acade…$18,341Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District$18,032Elevate School$14,857Almond Acres Charter Academy Distri…$13,753Odyssey Charter Schools$13,581Brittan Elementary$11,707Family First Charter District$8,798State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Odyssey Charter Schools, FY23EPIC de Cesar Chavez District $31,497; Mendocino Unified $28,262; Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District $19,963; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 District $18,341; Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District $18,032; Elevate School $14,857; Almond Acres Charter Academy District $13,753; Odyssey Charter Schools $13,581; Brittan Elementary $11,707; Family First Charter District $8,798; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.020k40kEPIC de Cesar Chavez District$31,497Mendocino Unified$28,262Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District$19,963Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 Dis…$18,341Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District$18,032Elevate School$14,857Almond Acres Charter Academy District$13,753Odyssey Charter Schools$13,581Brittan Elementary$11,707Family First Charter District$8,798State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Odyssey Charter Schools, FY23EPIC de Cesar Chavez District $31,497; Mendocino Unified $28,262; Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District $19,963; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 District $18,341; Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District $18,032; Elevate School $14,857; Almond Acres Charter Academy District $13,753; Odyssey Charter Schools $13,581; Brittan Elementary $11,707; Family First Charter District $8,798; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.020k40kEPIC de Cesar Chavez District$31,497Mendocino Unified$28,262Alliance Morgan McKinzie High District$19,963Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4…$18,341Alliance Kory Hunter Middle District$18,032Elevate School$14,857Almond Acres Charter Academy District$13,753Odyssey Charter Schools$13,581Brittan Elementary$11,707Family First Charter District$8,798State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$7,394,000 in revenue: 67.2% state, 26.0% local and 6.8% federal. Total spending was $6,261,000, or $13,581 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Odyssey Charter Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,966,000; Local $1,922,000; Federal $506,000; total $7,394,000.
  • State$4,966,000 67%
  • Local$1,922,000 26%
  • Federal$506,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

461 students in 2022-23, 466 students in 2023-24, 463 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Odyssey Charter Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 461, 2023-24: 466, 2024-25: 46302004006002022-234612023-244662024-25463
Odyssey Charter Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 461, 2023-24: 466, 2024-25: 46302004006002022-234612023-244662024-25463
Odyssey Charter Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 461, 2023-24: 466, 2024-25: 46302004006002022-234612023-244662024-25463
Odyssey Charter Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 461, 2023-24: 466, 2024-25: 46302004006002022-234612023-244662024-25463

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2346118.025.6
2023-2446618.525.2
2024-2546318.025.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Odyssey Charter Schools scored proficient or above: 67-76% in reading and 52-61% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts67-76%45%300
Math52-61%34%299

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 463 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Odyssey Charter46325.722.9%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Odyssey Charter Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Odyssey Charter Schools

  1. California districts by spending per studentOdyssey Charter Schools ranks 1,044 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,581).#1,044 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaOdyssey Charter Schools is the number 1,050 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 461 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,050 of 1,991
  3. Almond Acres Charter Academy DistrictThe next larger California district: 462 students in fall 2022, $13,753 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,753
  4. Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 4 DistrictThe next smaller California district: 460 students in fall 2022, $18,341 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,341
  5. Compare Odyssey Charter Schools with Almond Acres Charter Academy DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Odyssey Charter Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Odyssey Charter Schools?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 463 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Odyssey Charter Schools spend per student?
    $13,581 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Odyssey Charter Schools' money come from?
    $7,394,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 67.2% state, 26.0% local and 6.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Odyssey Charter Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Odyssey Charter Schools scored proficient or above: 67-76% in reading and 52-61% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is Odyssey Charter Schools' NCES district ID?
    0601915. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25