OCS - South District

Public school district · Los Angeles County · California · NCES district ID 0602399

OCS - South District spent $14,374 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 77% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 392 students in 2024-25; 45.9% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to OCS - South District in enrollment (340 to 344 students) and OCS - South District itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to OCS - South District, FY23KIPP Pueblo Unido District $30,015; Options for Youth San Gabriel District $27,944; Pacific Union Elementary $23,029; Maxwell Unified $19,438; Contra Costa School of Performing Arts District $16,698; Colfax Elementary $16,202; MethodSchools District $14,743; OCS - South District $14,374; High Tech Middle Media Arts District $12,434; Blue Oak Academy Charter School $11,810; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kKIPP Pueblo Unido District$30,015Options for Youth San Gabriel …$27,944Pacific Union Elementary$23,029Maxwell Unified$19,438Contra Costa School of Perform…$16,698Colfax Elementary$16,202MethodSchools District$14,743OCS - South District$14,374High Tech Middle Media Arts Di…$12,434Blue Oak Academy Charter School$11,810State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to OCS - South District, FY23KIPP Pueblo Unido District $30,015; Options for Youth San Gabriel District $27,944; Pacific Union Elementary $23,029; Maxwell Unified $19,438; Contra Costa School of Performing Arts District $16,698; Colfax Elementary $16,202; MethodSchools District $14,743; OCS - South District $14,374; High Tech Middle Media Arts District $12,434; Blue Oak Academy Charter School $11,810; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kKIPP Pueblo Unido District$30,015Options for Youth San Gabriel Distr…$27,944Pacific Union Elementary$23,029Maxwell Unified$19,438Contra Costa School of Performing A…$16,698Colfax Elementary$16,202MethodSchools District$14,743OCS - South District$14,374High Tech Middle Media Arts District$12,434Blue Oak Academy Charter School$11,810State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to OCS - South District, FY23KIPP Pueblo Unido District $30,015; Options for Youth San Gabriel District $27,944; Pacific Union Elementary $23,029; Maxwell Unified $19,438; Contra Costa School of Performing Arts District $16,698; Colfax Elementary $16,202; MethodSchools District $14,743; OCS - South District $14,374; High Tech Middle Media Arts District $12,434; Blue Oak Academy Charter School $11,810; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kKIPP Pueblo Unido District$30,015Options for Youth San Gabriel District$27,944Pacific Union Elementary$23,029Maxwell Unified$19,438Contra Costa School of Performing Arts Dist…$16,698Colfax Elementary$16,202MethodSchools District$14,743OCS - South District$14,374High Tech Middle Media Arts District$12,434Blue Oak Academy Charter School$11,810State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to OCS - South District, FY23KIPP Pueblo Unido District $30,015; Options for Youth San Gabriel District $27,944; Pacific Union Elementary $23,029; Maxwell Unified $19,438; Contra Costa School of Performing Arts District $16,698; Colfax Elementary $16,202; MethodSchools District $14,743; OCS - South District $14,374; High Tech Middle Media Arts District $12,434; Blue Oak Academy Charter School $11,810; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kKIPP Pueblo Unido District$30,015Options for Youth San Gabriel District$27,944Pacific Union Elementary$23,029Maxwell Unified$19,438Contra Costa School of Performing Arts…$16,698Colfax Elementary$16,202MethodSchools District$14,743OCS - South District$14,374High Tech Middle Media Arts District$12,434Blue Oak Academy Charter School$11,810State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$5,163,000 in revenue: 45.9% state, 48.3% local and 5.8% federal. Total spending including $52,000 of capital outlay was $4,971,000, or $14,535 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

OCS - South District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,369,000; Local $2,493,000; Federal $301,000; total $5,163,000.
  • State$2,369,000 46%
  • Local$2,493,000 48%
  • Federal$301,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

342 students in 2022-23, 370 students in 2023-24, 392 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

OCS - South District enrollment by school year2022-23: 342, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 39201002003004002022-233422023-243702024-25392
OCS - South District enrollment by school year2022-23: 342, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 39201002003004002022-233422023-243702024-25392
OCS - South District enrollment by school year2022-23: 342, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 39201002003004002022-233422023-243702024-25392
OCS - South District enrollment by school year2022-23: 342, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 39201002003004002022-233422023-243702024-25392

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2334217.020.1
2023-2437018.020.6
2024-2539220.019.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in OCS - South District scored proficient or above: 54-65% in reading and 40-51% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts54-65%45%160
Math40-51%34%160

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 392 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
OCS - South39219.624.7%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact OCS - South District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about OCS - South District

  1. California districts by spending per studentOCS - South District ranks 953 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,374).#953 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaOCS - South District is the number 1,290 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 342 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,290 of 1,991
  3. KIPP Pueblo Unido DistrictThe next larger California district: 343 students in fall 2022, $30,015 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$30,015
  4. High Tech Middle Media Arts DistrictThe next smaller California district: 341 students in fall 2022, $12,434 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,434
  5. Compare OCS - South District with KIPP Pueblo Unido DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about OCS - South District

  1. How many schools and students are in OCS - South District?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 392 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does OCS - South District spend per student?
    $14,374 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does OCS - South District's money come from?
    $5,163,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 45.9% state, 48.3% local and 5.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in OCS - South District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in OCS - South District scored proficient or above: 54-65% in reading and 40-51% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is OCS - South District's NCES district ID?
    0602399. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25