Oakland K-8 Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Oakland Public School District (district ID 3411910)

Public school district · Bergen County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3411910

Oakland K-8 Public Schools spent $29,905 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 89% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,665). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,278 students in 2024-25; 22.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $31,007 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Oakland K-8 Public Schools in enrollment (1,305 to 1,354 students) and Oakland K-8 Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Oakland K-8 Public Schools, FY23Mountain Lakes $35,505; Hanover Park Regional High $30,581; Oakland K-8 Public Schools $29,905; Northern Highlands Regional $27,287; Weehawken $26,892; Salem City $25,714; CAPS Paterson School $23,046; Township of Franklin $21,198; Dunellen Public Schools $20,228; Harrison Township $19,019; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35k40kMountain Lakes$35,505Hanover Park Regional High$30,581Oakland K-8 Public Schools$29,905Northern Highlands Regional$27,287Weehawken$26,892Salem City$25,714CAPS Paterson School$23,046Township of Franklin$21,198Dunellen Public Schools$20,228Harrison Township$19,019State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Oakland K-8 Public Schools, FY23Mountain Lakes $35,505; Hanover Park Regional High $30,581; Oakland K-8 Public Schools $29,905; Northern Highlands Regional $27,287; Weehawken $26,892; Salem City $25,714; CAPS Paterson School $23,046; Township of Franklin $21,198; Dunellen Public Schools $20,228; Harrison Township $19,019; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35k40kMountain Lakes$35,505Hanover Park Regional High$30,581Oakland K-8 Public Schools$29,905Northern Highlands Regional$27,287Weehawken$26,892Salem City$25,714CAPS Paterson School$23,046Township of Franklin$21,198Dunellen Public Schools$20,228Harrison Township$19,019State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Oakland K-8 Public Schools, FY23Mountain Lakes $35,505; Hanover Park Regional High $30,581; Oakland K-8 Public Schools $29,905; Northern Highlands Regional $27,287; Weehawken $26,892; Salem City $25,714; CAPS Paterson School $23,046; Township of Franklin $21,198; Dunellen Public Schools $20,228; Harrison Township $19,019; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35k40kMountain Lakes$35,505Hanover Park Regional High$30,581Oakland K-8 Public Schools$29,905Northern Highlands Regional$27,287Weehawken$26,892Salem City$25,714CAPS Paterson School$23,046Township of Franklin$21,198Dunellen Public Schools$20,228Harrison Township$19,019State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Oakland K-8 Public Schools, FY23Mountain Lakes $35,505; Hanover Park Regional High $30,581; Oakland K-8 Public Schools $29,905; Northern Highlands Regional $27,287; Weehawken $26,892; Salem City $25,714; CAPS Paterson School $23,046; Township of Franklin $21,198; Dunellen Public Schools $20,228; Harrison Township $19,019; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35k40kMountain Lakes$35,505Hanover Park Regional High$30,581Oakland K-8 Public Schools$29,905Northern Highlands Regional$27,287Weehawken$26,892Salem City$25,714CAPS Paterson School$23,046Township of Franklin$21,198Dunellen Public Schools$20,228Harrison Township$19,019State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$43,872,000 in revenue: 22.8% state, 75.2% local and 2.0% federal. Total spending including $1,123,000 of capital outlay was $42,882,000, or $32,339 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Oakland K-8 Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,991,000; Local $33,006,000; Federal $875,000; total $43,872,000.
  • State$9,991,000 23%
  • Local$33,006,000 75%
  • Federal$875,000 2%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,294 students in 2022-23, 1,320 students in 2023-24, 1,278 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Oakland K-8 Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,294, 2023-24: 1,320, 2024-25: 1,27805001k1.5k2022-231,2942023-241,3202024-251,278
Oakland K-8 Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,294, 2023-24: 1,320, 2024-25: 1,27805001k1.5k2022-231,2942023-241,3202024-251,278
Oakland K-8 Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,294, 2023-24: 1,320, 2024-25: 1,27805001k1.5k2022-231,2942023-241,3202024-251,278
Oakland K-8 Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,294, 2023-24: 1,320, 2024-25: 1,27805001k1.5k2022-231,2942023-241,3202024-251,278

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,294129.810.0
2023-241,320130.310.1
2024-251,278132.89.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$12,181,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $9,186 per student

Oakland K-8 Public Schools booked $12,181,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 131 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $93,155 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 93 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$9,350,00076.8%
Special education$2,035,00016.7%
Other programs$796,0006.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $8,265 in 2018-19, $8,493 in 2019-20, $8,738 in 2020-21, $9,588 in 2021-22, $9,186 in 2022-23.

Oakland K-8 Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $8,265, 2019-20: $8,493, 2020-21: $8,738, 2021-22: $9,588, 2022-23: $9,18602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$8,2652019-20$8,4932020-21$8,7382021-22$9,5882022-23$9,186
Oakland K-8 Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $8,265, 2019-20: $8,493, 2020-21: $8,738, 2021-22: $9,588, 2022-23: $9,18602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$8,2652019-20$8,4932020-21$8,7382021-22$9,5882022-23$9,186
Oakland K-8 Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $8,265, 2019-20: $8,493, 2020-21: $8,738, 2021-22: $9,588, 2022-23: $9,18602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$8,2652019-20$8,4932020-21$8,7382021-22$9,5882022-23$9,186
Oakland K-8 Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $8,265, 2019-20: $8,493, 2020-21: $8,738, 2021-22: $9,588, 2022-23: $9,18602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$8,2652019-20$8,4932020-21$8,7382021-22$9,5882022-23$9,186

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Oakland K-8 Public Schools scored proficient or above: 71% in reading and 50% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts71%48.6%
Math50%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

3 elementary schools, 832 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Heights Elementary School34310.59.9%Not Title I
Manito Elementary School2559.33.9%Not Title I
Dogwood Hill Elementary School2349.213.2%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 446 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Valley Middle School4469.47.4%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Oakland K-8 Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Oakland K-8 Public Schools

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentOakland K-8 Public Schools ranks 37 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($29,905).#37 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseyOakland K-8 Public Schools is the number 281 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 1,326 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#281 of 672
  3. Township of Franklin School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 1,338 students in fall 2022, $21,198 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,198
  4. Northern Highlands Regional School DistrictThe next smaller New Jersey district: 1,324 students in fall 2022, $27,287 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,287
  5. Compare Oakland K-8 Public Schools with Township of Franklin School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across New JerseyOakland K-8 Public Schools spent $93,155 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$93,155
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Oakland K-8 Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Oakland K-8 Public Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,278 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Oakland K-8 Public Schools spend per student?
    $29,905 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $31,007 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Oakland K-8 Public Schools' money come from?
    $43,872,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 22.8% state, 75.2% local and 2.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Oakland K-8 Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 38 of the 1,558 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Oakland K-8 Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $12,181,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $9,186 per student. Divided by the 131 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $93,155 per teacher, more than 93 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Oakland K-8 Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Oakland K-8 Public Schools scored proficient or above: 71% in reading and 50% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Oakland K-8 Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    3411910. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25