Oak Grove Union School District

Listed by NCES as Oak Grove Union Elementary (district ID 0627840)

Public school district · Sonoma County · California · NCES district ID 0627840

Oak Grove Union School District spent $17,330 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 53% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its 2 schools enrolled 799 students in 2024-25; 66.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,542 per student, up 6.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Oak Grove Union in enrollment (814 to 832 students) and Oak Grove Union itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Oak Grove Union, FY23Kernville Union $20,548; Grimmway Academy District $17,396; Oak Grove Union $17,330; Modoc Joint Unified $15,958; Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empire District $14,979; Compass Charter Schools of San Diego District $14,327; Sundale Union Elementary $13,853; California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma District $13,474; Da Vinci Connect District $12,276; Great Valley Academy - Salida District $12,141; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kKernville Union$20,548Grimmway Academy District$17,396Oak Grove Union$17,330Modoc Joint Unified$15,958Elite Academic Academy - Mount…$14,979Compass Charter Schools of San…$14,327Sundale Union Elementary$13,853California Virtual Academy @ S…$13,474Da Vinci Connect District$12,276Great Valley Academy - Salida …$12,141State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Oak Grove Union, FY23Kernville Union $20,548; Grimmway Academy District $17,396; Oak Grove Union $17,330; Modoc Joint Unified $15,958; Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empire District $14,979; Compass Charter Schools of San Diego District $14,327; Sundale Union Elementary $13,853; California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma District $13,474; Da Vinci Connect District $12,276; Great Valley Academy - Salida District $12,141; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kKernville Union$20,548Grimmway Academy District$17,396Oak Grove Union$17,330Modoc Joint Unified$15,958Elite Academic Academy - Mountain E…$14,979Compass Charter Schools of San Dieg…$14,327Sundale Union Elementary$13,853California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma…$13,474Da Vinci Connect District$12,276Great Valley Academy - Salida Distr…$12,141State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Oak Grove Union, FY23Kernville Union $20,548; Grimmway Academy District $17,396; Oak Grove Union $17,330; Modoc Joint Unified $15,958; Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empire District $14,979; Compass Charter Schools of San Diego District $14,327; Sundale Union Elementary $13,853; California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma District $13,474; Da Vinci Connect District $12,276; Great Valley Academy - Salida District $12,141; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kKernville Union$20,548Grimmway Academy District$17,396Oak Grove Union$17,330Modoc Joint Unified$15,958Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empire Di…$14,979Compass Charter Schools of San Diego Distri…$14,327Sundale Union Elementary$13,853California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma District$13,474Da Vinci Connect District$12,276Great Valley Academy - Salida District$12,141State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Oak Grove Union, FY23Kernville Union $20,548; Grimmway Academy District $17,396; Oak Grove Union $17,330; Modoc Joint Unified $15,958; Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empire District $14,979; Compass Charter Schools of San Diego District $14,327; Sundale Union Elementary $13,853; California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma District $13,474; Da Vinci Connect District $12,276; Great Valley Academy - Salida District $12,141; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kKernville Union$20,548Grimmway Academy District$17,396Oak Grove Union$17,330Modoc Joint Unified$15,958Elite Academic Academy - Mountain Empir…$14,979Compass Charter Schools of San Diego Di…$14,327Sundale Union Elementary$13,853California Virtual Academy @ Sonoma Dis…$13,474Da Vinci Connect District$12,276Great Valley Academy - Salida District$12,141State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$17,198,000 in revenue: 66.7% state, 29.5% local and 3.8% federal. Total spending including $580,000 of capital outlay was $16,293,000, or $19,797 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Oak Grove Union School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,466,000; Local $5,078,000; Federal $654,000; total $17,198,000.
  • State$11,466,000 67%
  • Local$5,078,000 30%
  • Federal$654,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

820 students in 2022-23, 816 students in 2023-24, 799 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Oak Grove Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 820, 2023-24: 816, 2024-25: 79902505007501k2022-238202023-248162024-25799
Oak Grove Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 820, 2023-24: 816, 2024-25: 79902505007501k2022-238202023-248162024-25799
Oak Grove Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 820, 2023-24: 816, 2024-25: 79902505007501k2022-238202023-248162024-25799
Oak Grove Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 820, 2023-24: 816, 2024-25: 79902505007501k2022-238202023-248162024-25799

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2382037.921.6
2023-2481636.622.3
2024-2579939.420.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,972,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,826 per student

Oak Grove Union School District booked $3,972,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 38 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $104,692 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 59 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,678,00092.6%
Special education$245,0006.2%
Other programs$49,0001.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,968 in 2018-19, $3,997 in 2019-20, $4,064 in 2020-21, $4,751 in 2021-22, $4,826 in 2022-23.

Oak Grove Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,968, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $4,064, 2021-22: $4,751, 2022-23: $4,82602k4k6k2018-19$3,9682019-20$3,9972020-21$4,0642021-22$4,7512022-23$4,826
Oak Grove Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,968, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $4,064, 2021-22: $4,751, 2022-23: $4,82602k4k6k2018-19$3,9682019-20$3,9972020-21$4,0642021-22$4,7512022-23$4,826
Oak Grove Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,968, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $4,064, 2021-22: $4,751, 2022-23: $4,82602k4k6k2018-19$3,9682019-20$3,9972020-21$4,0642021-22$4,7512022-23$4,826
Oak Grove Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,968, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $4,064, 2021-22: $4,751, 2022-23: $4,82602k4k6k2018-19$3,9682019-20$3,9972020-21$4,0642021-22$4,7512022-23$4,826

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Oak Grove Union School District scored proficient or above: 53-57% in reading and 40-44% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts53-57%45%600
Math40-44%34%600

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

2 elementary schools, 799 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Oak Grove Elementary/Willowside Middle70820.624.6%Not reported
Oak Grove Elementary9118.219.8%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Oak Grove Union School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Oak Grove Union School District

  1. California districts by spending per studentOak Grove Union School District ranks 653 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,330).#653 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaOak Grove Union School District is the number 726 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 823 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#726 of 1,991
  3. Grimmway Academy DistrictThe next larger California district: 824 students in fall 2022, $17,396 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,396
  4. Compass Charter Schools of San Diego DistrictThe next smaller California district: 819 students in fall 2022, $14,327 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,327
  5. Compare Oak Grove Union School District with Grimmway Academy DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaOak Grove Union School District spent $104,692 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$104,692
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Oak Grove Union School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Oak Grove Union School District?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary), enrolling 799 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Oak Grove Union School District spend per student?
    $17,330 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,542 per student, up 6.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Oak Grove Union School District's money come from?
    $17,198,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.7% state, 29.5% local and 3.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Oak Grove Union School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 19 of the 363 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Oak Grove Union School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,972,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,826 per student. Divided by the 38 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $104,692 per teacher, more than 59 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Oak Grove Union School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Oak Grove Union School District scored proficient or above: 53-57% in reading and 40-44% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Oak Grove Union School District's NCES district ID?
    0627840. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25