North Clay CUSD 25
Public school district · Clay County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1728810
North Clay CUSD 25 spent $13,358 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 86% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,409). Its 2 schools enrolled 557 students in 2024-25; 58.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,261 per student, up 14.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to North Clay CUSD 25 in enrollment (562 to 577 students) and North Clay CUSD 25 itself.
Where the money came from
$9,509,000 in revenue: 58.3% state, 32.6% local and 9.1% federal. Total spending including $1,624,000 of capital outlay was $9,796,000, or $17,186 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$5,546,000 58%
- Local$3,097,000 33%
- Federal$866,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
570 students in 2022-23, 537 students in 2023-24, 557 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 570 | 49.0 | 11.6 |
| 2023-24 | 537 | 52.6 | 10.2 |
| 2024-25 | 557 | 50.0 | 11.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in North Clay CUSD 25 scored proficient or above: 15% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 15% | 29.9% | 268 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
70-79% of the 48 students in North Clay CUSD 25's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 70‑79% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 48 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 379 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Clay Elem/Jr High School | 379 | 11.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 178 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Clay Community High School | 178 | 11.0 | All free (CEP) | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact North Clay CUSD 25
- Website: northclayschools.com
- Phone: (618) 665-3358
- Office: 953 Kinmundy Rd, Louisville, IL 62858
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about North Clay CUSD 25
- Illinois districts by spending per studentNorth Clay CUSD 25 ranks 403 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,358).#403 of 468
- Every school district in IllinoisNorth Clay CUSD 25 is the number 556 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 570 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#556 of 865
- Betty Shabazz International Charter SchoolThe next larger Illinois district: 574 students in fall 2022.
- Rock Falls Twp HSD 301The next smaller Illinois district: 566 students in fall 2022, $20,177 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,177
- Compare North Clay CUSD 25 with Betty Shabazz International Charter SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- North Clay Community High School, its largest high school178 students in 2024-25, 11.0 per teacher.178
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about North Clay CUSD 25
How many schools and students are in North Clay CUSD 25?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 557 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does North Clay CUSD 25 spend per student?
$13,358 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,261 per student, up 14.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does North Clay CUSD 25's money come from?
$9,509,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 58.3% state, 32.6% local and 9.1% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in North Clay CUSD 25 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 79 of the 634 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in North Clay CUSD 25 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in North Clay CUSD 25 scored proficient or above: 15% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in North Clay CUSD 25?
70-79% of the 48 students in North Clay CUSD 25's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is North Clay CUSD 25's NCES district ID?
1728810. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25