Muhlenberg County Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Muhlenberg County (district ID 2100081)

Public school district · Muhlenberg County · Kentucky · NCES district ID 2100081

Muhlenberg County Public Schools spent $13,648 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 57% of the other Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,912). Its 8 schools enrolled 4,410 students in 2024-25; 53.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,468 per student, down 1.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 86% (Kentucky: 91.4%).

Spending per student among Kentucky districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Muhlenberg County Public Schools in enrollment (4,010 to 4,966 students) and Muhlenberg County Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Muhlenberg County Public Schools, FY23Marshall County Schools $14,559; The Nelson County Schools $14,451; Bowling Green Independent $14,125; Muhlenberg County Public Schools $13,648; Woodford County Public Schools $13,439; Whitley County Schools $13,081; Grayson County $12,707; Carter County Schools $12,650; Montgomery County Schools $12,347; Meade County Schools $11,339; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16kMarshall County Schools$14,559The Nelson County Schools$14,451Bowling Green Independent$14,125Muhlenberg County Public Schoo…$13,648Woodford County Public Schools$13,439Whitley County Schools$13,081Grayson County$12,707Carter County Schools$12,650Montgomery County Schools$12,347Meade County Schools$11,339State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Muhlenberg County Public Schools, FY23Marshall County Schools $14,559; The Nelson County Schools $14,451; Bowling Green Independent $14,125; Muhlenberg County Public Schools $13,648; Woodford County Public Schools $13,439; Whitley County Schools $13,081; Grayson County $12,707; Carter County Schools $12,650; Montgomery County Schools $12,347; Meade County Schools $11,339; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16kMarshall County Schools$14,559The Nelson County Schools$14,451Bowling Green Independent$14,125Muhlenberg County Public Schools$13,648Woodford County Public Schools$13,439Whitley County Schools$13,081Grayson County$12,707Carter County Schools$12,650Montgomery County Schools$12,347Meade County Schools$11,339State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Muhlenberg County Public Schools, FY23Marshall County Schools $14,559; The Nelson County Schools $14,451; Bowling Green Independent $14,125; Muhlenberg County Public Schools $13,648; Woodford County Public Schools $13,439; Whitley County Schools $13,081; Grayson County $12,707; Carter County Schools $12,650; Montgomery County Schools $12,347; Meade County Schools $11,339; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16kMarshall County Schools$14,559The Nelson County Schools$14,451Bowling Green Independent$14,125Muhlenberg County Public Schools$13,648Woodford County Public Schools$13,439Whitley County Schools$13,081Grayson County$12,707Carter County Schools$12,650Montgomery County Schools$12,347Meade County Schools$11,339State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Muhlenberg County Public Schools, FY23Marshall County Schools $14,559; The Nelson County Schools $14,451; Bowling Green Independent $14,125; Muhlenberg County Public Schools $13,648; Woodford County Public Schools $13,439; Whitley County Schools $13,081; Grayson County $12,707; Carter County Schools $12,650; Montgomery County Schools $12,347; Meade County Schools $11,339; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16kMarshall County Schools$14,559The Nelson County Schools$14,451Bowling Green Independent$14,125Muhlenberg County Public Schools$13,648Woodford County Public Schools$13,439Whitley County Schools$13,081Grayson County$12,707Carter County Schools$12,650Montgomery County Schools$12,347Meade County Schools$11,339State median, 1,000+ students $13,912

Where the money came from

$73,317,000 in revenue: 53.8% state, 31.0% local and 15.2% federal. Total spending including $5,613,000 of capital outlay was $68,525,000, or $15,275 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Muhlenberg County Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $39,425,000; Local $22,728,000; Federal $11,164,000; total $73,317,000.
  • State$39,425,000 54%
  • Local$22,728,000 31%
  • Federal$11,164,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 137 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

4,486 students in 2022-23, 4,389 students in 2023-24, 4,410 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Muhlenberg County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,486, 2023-24: 4,389, 2024-25: 4,41002k4k6k2022-234,4862023-244,3892024-254,410
Muhlenberg County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,486, 2023-24: 4,389, 2024-25: 4,41002k4k6k2022-234,4862023-244,3892024-254,410
Muhlenberg County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,486, 2023-24: 4,389, 2024-25: 4,41002k4k6k2022-234,4862023-244,3892024-254,410
Muhlenberg County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,486, 2023-24: 4,389, 2024-25: 4,41002k4k6k2022-234,4862023-244,3892024-254,410

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-234,486288.015.6
2023-244,389278.715.8
2024-254,410290.915.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$16,918,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,771 per student

Muhlenberg County Public Schools booked $16,918,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 294 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $57,544 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 59 in 100 Kentucky districts with a figure (state median $56,497, 171 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$13,983,00082.7%
Special education$2,656,00015.7%
Vocational$7,0000.0%
Other programs$272,0001.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,607 in 2018-19, $3,391 in 2019-20, $3,468 in 2020-21, $4,654 in 2021-22, $3,771 in 2022-23.

Muhlenberg County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,607, 2019-20: $3,391, 2020-21: $3,468, 2021-22: $4,654, 2022-23: $3,77102k4k6k2018-19$3,6072019-20$3,3912020-21$3,4682021-22$4,6542022-23$3,771
Muhlenberg County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,607, 2019-20: $3,391, 2020-21: $3,468, 2021-22: $4,654, 2022-23: $3,77102k4k6k2018-19$3,6072019-20$3,3912020-21$3,4682021-22$4,6542022-23$3,771
Muhlenberg County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,607, 2019-20: $3,391, 2020-21: $3,468, 2021-22: $4,654, 2022-23: $3,77102k4k6k2018-19$3,6072019-20$3,3912020-21$3,4682021-22$4,6542022-23$3,771
Muhlenberg County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,607, 2019-20: $3,391, 2020-21: $3,468, 2021-22: $4,654, 2022-23: $3,77102k4k6k2018-19$3,6072019-20$3,3912020-21$3,4682021-22$4,6542022-23$3,771

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Muhlenberg County Public Schools scored proficient or above: 40% in reading and 34% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kentucky, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKentuckyStudents tested
Reading and language arts40%44.7%2,145
Math34%37.8%2,145

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

86% of the 290 students in Muhlenberg County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKentucky
Four-year graduation rate86%91.4%
Students in the class29049,023

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 elementary schools, 2,326 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Greenville Elementary School62015.162.7%Schoolwide program
Muhlenberg South Elementary52714.665.8%Schoolwide program
Central City Elementary40614.570.2%Schoolwide program
Longest Elementary40414.962.1%Schoolwide program
Bremen Elementary School36914.257.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 871 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Muhlenberg North Middle87115.857.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,213 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Muhlenberg County High School1,12316.251.4%Eligible, no program
The Renaissance Center9011.383.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Muhlenberg South Middle School

Middle school in Greenville; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 420 students; 16.7 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Muhlenberg County Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Muhlenberg County Public Schools

  1. Kentucky districts by spending per studentMuhlenberg County Public Schools ranks 78 of 137 Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,648).#78 of 137
  2. Every school district in KentuckyMuhlenberg County Public Schools is the number 30 by size of 174 Kentucky districts, with 4,486 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#30 of 174
  3. Marshall County SchoolsThe next larger Kentucky district: 4,495 students in fall 2022, $14,559 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,559
  4. Montgomery County SchoolsThe next smaller Kentucky district: 4,472 students in fall 2022, $12,347 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,347
  5. Compare Muhlenberg County Public Schools with Marshall County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Muhlenberg County High School, its largest high school1,123 students in 2024-25, 16.2 per teacher.1,123
  7. Teacher salary spending across KentuckyMuhlenberg County Public Schools spent $57,544 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $56,497); spending, not a salary.$57,544
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Muhlenberg County Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Muhlenberg County Public Schools?
    8 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 4,410 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Muhlenberg County Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,648 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kentucky median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,912 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,468 per student, down 1.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Muhlenberg County Public Schools' money come from?
    $73,317,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 53.8% state, 31.0% local and 15.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Muhlenberg County Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,016 of the 4,741 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 21.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Muhlenberg County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $16,918,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,771 per student. Divided by the 294 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $57,544 per teacher, more than 59 in 100 Kentucky districts (state median $56,497). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Muhlenberg County Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Muhlenberg County Public Schools scored proficient or above: 40% in reading and 34% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Kentucky's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Muhlenberg County Public Schools?
    86% of the 290 students in Muhlenberg County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Muhlenberg County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2100081. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25