Morenci Area Schools

Public school district · Lenawee County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2624570

Morenci Area Schools spent $16,662 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 81% of the other Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,091). Its 2 schools enrolled 496 students in 2024-25; 56.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,223 per student, down 2.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Morenci Area Schools in enrollment (530 to 545 students) and Morenci Area Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Morenci Area Schools, FY23New Buffalo Area Schools $31,373; Madison Academy Charter School $17,963; Morenci Area Schools $16,662; Central Academy $16,094; Onaway Area Community $15,715; Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools $15,416; Deckerville Community Schools $15,272; Cornerstone Schools $15,025; Colon Community Schools $14,000; Climax-Scotts Community Schools $13,751; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k20k30k40kNew Buffalo Area Schools$31,373Madison Academy Charter School$17,963Morenci Area Schools$16,662Central Academy$16,094Onaway Area Community$15,715Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools$15,416Deckerville Community Schools$15,272Cornerstone Schools$15,025Colon Community Schools$14,000Climax-Scotts Community Schools$13,751State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Morenci Area Schools, FY23New Buffalo Area Schools $31,373; Madison Academy Charter School $17,963; Morenci Area Schools $16,662; Central Academy $16,094; Onaway Area Community $15,715; Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools $15,416; Deckerville Community Schools $15,272; Cornerstone Schools $15,025; Colon Community Schools $14,000; Climax-Scotts Community Schools $13,751; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k20k30k40kNew Buffalo Area Schools$31,373Madison Academy Charter School$17,963Morenci Area Schools$16,662Central Academy$16,094Onaway Area Community$15,715Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools$15,416Deckerville Community Schools$15,272Cornerstone Schools$15,025Colon Community Schools$14,000Climax-Scotts Community Schools$13,751State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Morenci Area Schools, FY23New Buffalo Area Schools $31,373; Madison Academy Charter School $17,963; Morenci Area Schools $16,662; Central Academy $16,094; Onaway Area Community $15,715; Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools $15,416; Deckerville Community Schools $15,272; Cornerstone Schools $15,025; Colon Community Schools $14,000; Climax-Scotts Community Schools $13,751; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k20k30k40kNew Buffalo Area Schools$31,373Madison Academy Charter School$17,963Morenci Area Schools$16,662Central Academy$16,094Onaway Area Community$15,715Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools$15,416Deckerville Community Schools$15,272Cornerstone Schools$15,025Colon Community Schools$14,000Climax-Scotts Community Schools$13,751State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Morenci Area Schools, FY23New Buffalo Area Schools $31,373; Madison Academy Charter School $17,963; Morenci Area Schools $16,662; Central Academy $16,094; Onaway Area Community $15,715; Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools $15,416; Deckerville Community Schools $15,272; Cornerstone Schools $15,025; Colon Community Schools $14,000; Climax-Scotts Community Schools $13,751; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k20k30k40kNew Buffalo Area Schools$31,373Madison Academy Charter School$17,963Morenci Area Schools$16,662Central Academy$16,094Onaway Area Community$15,715Kaleva Norman Dickson Schools$15,416Deckerville Community Schools$15,272Cornerstone Schools$15,025Colon Community Schools$14,000Climax-Scotts Community Schools$13,751State median, under 1,000 students $14,091

Where the money came from

$10,566,000 in revenue: 56.3% state, 30.4% local and 13.4% federal. Total spending including $609,000 of capital outlay was $9,874,000, or $18,456 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Morenci Area Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,946,000; Local $3,207,000; Federal $1,413,000; total $10,566,000.
  • State$5,946,000 56%
  • Local$3,207,000 30%
  • Federal$1,413,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 465 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

532 students in 2022-23, 517 students in 2023-24, 496 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Morenci Area Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 532, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 49602004006002022-235322023-245172024-25496
Morenci Area Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 532, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 49602004006002022-235322023-245172024-25496
Morenci Area Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 532, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 49602004006002022-235322023-245172024-25496
Morenci Area Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 532, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 49602004006002022-235322023-245172024-25496

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2353235.914.8
2023-2451738.213.5
2024-2549632.315.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,987,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,714 per student

Morenci Area Schools booked $1,987,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 36 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,394 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 19 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,551,00078.1%
Special education$216,00010.9%
Other programs$220,00011.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,018 in 2018-19, $3,276 in 2019-20, $3,264 in 2020-21, $3,505 in 2021-22, $3,714 in 2022-23.

Morenci Area Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,018, 2019-20: $3,276, 2020-21: $3,264, 2021-22: $3,505, 2022-23: $3,71401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0182019-20$3,2762020-21$3,2642021-22$3,5052022-23$3,714
Morenci Area Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,018, 2019-20: $3,276, 2020-21: $3,264, 2021-22: $3,505, 2022-23: $3,71401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0182019-20$3,2762020-21$3,2642021-22$3,5052022-23$3,714
Morenci Area Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,018, 2019-20: $3,276, 2020-21: $3,264, 2021-22: $3,505, 2022-23: $3,71401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0182019-20$3,2762020-21$3,2642021-22$3,5052022-23$3,714
Morenci Area Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,018, 2019-20: $3,276, 2020-21: $3,264, 2021-22: $3,505, 2022-23: $3,71401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0182019-20$3,2762020-21$3,2642021-22$3,5052022-23$3,714

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Morenci Area Schools scored proficient or above: 38-48% in reading and 18-28% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts38-48%44%232
Math18-28%34%232

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-79% of the 52 students in Morenci Area Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate70‑79%81.8%
Students in the class52115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 227 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Morenci Elementary School22713.457.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 269 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Morenci Middle and High School26917.637.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Morenci Area Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Morenci Area Schools

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentMorenci Area Schools ranks 90 of 465 Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,662).#90 of 465
  2. Every school district in MichiganMorenci Area Schools is the number 562 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 535 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#562 of 892
  3. New Buffalo Area SchoolsThe next larger Michigan district: 536 students in fall 2022, $31,373 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$31,373
  4. Colon Community SchoolsThe next smaller Michigan district: 533 students in fall 2022, $14,000 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,000
  5. Compare Morenci Area Schools with New Buffalo Area SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Morenci Middle and High School, its largest high school269 students in 2024-25, 17.6 per teacher.269
  7. Teacher salary spending across MichiganMorenci Area Schools spent $55,394 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$55,394
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Morenci Area Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Morenci Area Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 496 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Morenci Area Schools spend per student?
    $16,662 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,223 per student, down 2.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Morenci Area Schools' money come from?
    $10,566,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 56.3% state, 30.4% local and 13.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Morenci Area Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 82 of the 741 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Morenci Area Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,987,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,714 per student. Divided by the 36 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,394 per teacher, more than 19 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Morenci Area Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Morenci Area Schools scored proficient or above: 38-48% in reading and 18-28% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Morenci Area Schools?
    70-79% of the 52 students in Morenci Area Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Morenci Area Schools' NCES district ID?
    2624570. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25