Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District

Listed by NCES as Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary (district ID 0625350)

Public school district · Tulare County · California · NCES district ID 0625350

Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District spent $16,769 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 58% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 440 students in 2024-25; 75.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,342 per student, up 15.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary in enrollment (428 to 431 students) and Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary, FY23Sebastopol Union $21,720; SOAR Charter Academy $18,445; ISANA Achernar Academy District $18,107; Citizens of the World Charter School Hollywood District $17,720; Aspire Alexander Twilight College Preparatory ACAD District $17,580; Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary $16,769; Alder Grove Charter School $15,427; STREAM Charter School $14,449; San Diego Cooperative Charter School $14,266; Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy District $13,759; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSebastopol Union$21,720SOAR Charter Academy$18,445ISANA Achernar Academy District$18,107Citizens of the World Charter …$17,720Aspire Alexander Twilight Coll…$17,580Monson-Sultana Joint Union Ele…$16,769Alder Grove Charter School$15,427STREAM Charter School$14,449San Diego Cooperative Charter …$14,266Julia Lee Performing Arts Acad…$13,759State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary, FY23Sebastopol Union $21,720; SOAR Charter Academy $18,445; ISANA Achernar Academy District $18,107; Citizens of the World Charter School Hollywood District $17,720; Aspire Alexander Twilight College Preparatory ACAD District $17,580; Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary $16,769; Alder Grove Charter School $15,427; STREAM Charter School $14,449; San Diego Cooperative Charter School $14,266; Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy District $13,759; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSebastopol Union$21,720SOAR Charter Academy$18,445ISANA Achernar Academy District$18,107Citizens of the World Charter Schoo…$17,720Aspire Alexander Twilight College P…$17,580Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementa…$16,769Alder Grove Charter School$15,427STREAM Charter School$14,449San Diego Cooperative Charter School$14,266Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy D…$13,759State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary, FY23Sebastopol Union $21,720; SOAR Charter Academy $18,445; ISANA Achernar Academy District $18,107; Citizens of the World Charter School Hollywood District $17,720; Aspire Alexander Twilight College Preparatory ACAD District $17,580; Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary $16,769; Alder Grove Charter School $15,427; STREAM Charter School $14,449; San Diego Cooperative Charter School $14,266; Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy District $13,759; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSebastopol Union$21,720SOAR Charter Academy$18,445ISANA Achernar Academy District$18,107Citizens of the World Charter School Hollyw…$17,720Aspire Alexander Twilight College Preparato…$17,580Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary$16,769Alder Grove Charter School$15,427STREAM Charter School$14,449San Diego Cooperative Charter School$14,266Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy District$13,759State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary, FY23Sebastopol Union $21,720; SOAR Charter Academy $18,445; ISANA Achernar Academy District $18,107; Citizens of the World Charter School Hollywood District $17,720; Aspire Alexander Twilight College Preparatory ACAD District $17,580; Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary $16,769; Alder Grove Charter School $15,427; STREAM Charter School $14,449; San Diego Cooperative Charter School $14,266; Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy District $13,759; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSebastopol Union$21,720SOAR Charter Academy$18,445ISANA Achernar Academy District$18,107Citizens of the World Charter School Ho…$17,720Aspire Alexander Twilight College Prepa…$17,580Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary$16,769Alder Grove Charter School$15,427STREAM Charter School$14,449San Diego Cooperative Charter School$14,266Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy Distr…$13,759State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$14,317,000 in revenue: 75.0% state, 5.9% local and 19.0% federal. Total spending including $3,963,000 of capital outlay was $11,212,000, or $26,135 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,740,000; Local $850,000; Federal $2,727,000; total $14,317,000.
  • State$10,740,000 75%
  • Local$850,000 6%
  • Federal$2,727,000 19%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

429 students in 2022-23, 433 students in 2023-24, 440 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 433, 2024-25: 44002004006002022-234292023-244332024-25440
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 433, 2024-25: 44002004006002022-234292023-244332024-25440
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 433, 2024-25: 44002004006002022-234292023-244332024-25440
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 433, 2024-25: 44002004006002022-234292023-244332024-25440

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2342921.120.4
2023-2443320.920.7
2024-2544021.120.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,865,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,347 per student

Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District booked $1,865,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 21 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $88,557 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 31 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,381 in 2018-19, $3,257 in 2019-20, $3,639 in 2020-21, $4,094 in 2021-22, $4,347 in 2022-23.

Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,257, 2020-21: $3,639, 2021-22: $4,094, 2022-23: $4,34702k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,2572020-21$3,6392021-22$4,0942022-23$4,347
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,257, 2020-21: $3,639, 2021-22: $4,094, 2022-23: $4,34702k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,2572020-21$3,6392021-22$4,0942022-23$4,347
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,257, 2020-21: $3,639, 2021-22: $4,094, 2022-23: $4,34702k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,2572020-21$3,6392021-22$4,0942022-23$4,347
Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,257, 2020-21: $3,639, 2021-22: $4,094, 2022-23: $4,34702k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,2572020-21$3,6392021-22$4,0942022-23$4,347

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District scored proficient or above: 32-41% in reading and 32-40% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts32-41%45%300
Math32-40%34%300

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 440 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Monson-Sultana Elementary44020.885.5%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District

  1. California districts by spending per studentMonson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District ranks 722 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,769).#722 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaMonson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District is the number 1,118 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 429 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,118 of 1,991
  3. SOAR Charter AcademyThe next larger California district: 431 students in fall 2022, $18,445 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,445
  4. San Diego Cooperative Charter SchoolThe next smaller California district: 428 students in fall 2022, $14,266 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,266
  5. Compare Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District with SOAR Charter AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaMonson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District spent $88,557 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$88,557
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 440 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District spend per student?
    $16,769 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,342 per student, up 15.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District's money come from?
    $14,317,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 75.0% state, 5.9% local and 19.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 114 of the 350 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 32.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,865,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,347 per student. Divided by the 21 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $88,557 per teacher, more than 31 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District scored proficient or above: 32-41% in reading and 32-40% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Monson-Sultana Joint Union Elementary School District's NCES district ID?
    0625350. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25