McKittrick Elementary
Public school district · Kern County · California · NCES district ID 0624330
McKittrick Elementary spent $35,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 96% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 61 students in 2024-25; 16.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $45,406 per student, up 29.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to McKittrick Elementary in enrollment (78 to 80 students) and McKittrick Elementary itself.
Where the money came from
$3,556,000 in revenue: 16.5% state, 81.8% local and 1.7% federal. Total spending including $14,000 of capital outlay was $2,822,000, or $35,722 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$588,000 17%
- Local$2,908,000 82%
- Federal$60,000 2%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
79 students in 2022-23, 69 students in 2023-24, 61 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 79 | 5.0 | 15.8 |
| 2023-24 | 69 | 5.0 | 13.8 |
| 2024-25 | 61 | 5.0 | 12.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$698,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $8,835 per student
McKittrick Elementary booked $698,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 5 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $139,600 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 96 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $597,000 | 85.5% |
| Special education | $101,000 | 14.5% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $8,324 in 2018-19, $7,810 in 2019-20, $9,239 in 2020-21, $8,138 in 2021-22, $8,835 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in McKittrick Elementary scored proficient or above: 31-81% in reading and 23-73% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 31-81% | 45% | 59 |
| Math | 23-73% | 34% | 59 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 61 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| McKittrick Elementary | 61 | 12.2 | 37.7% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact McKittrick Elementary
- Website: mckittrickschool.org
- Phone: (661) 762-7303
- Office: 23250 Second St., McKittrick, CA 93251
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about McKittrick Elementary
- California districts by spending per studentMcKittrick Elementary ranks 52 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($35,152).#52 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaMcKittrick Elementary is the number 1,861 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 79 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,861 of 1,991
- Unity Middle College High DistrictThe next larger California district: 80 students in fall 2022, $19,013 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,013
- Peninsula UnionThe next smaller California district: 78 students in fall 2022, $17,756 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,756
- Compare McKittrick Elementary with Unity Middle College High DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaMcKittrick Elementary spent $139,600 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$139,600
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about McKittrick Elementary
How many schools and students are in McKittrick Elementary?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 61 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does McKittrick Elementary spend per student?
$35,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $45,406 per student, up 29.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does McKittrick Elementary's money come from?
$3,556,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 16.5% state, 81.8% local and 1.7% federal (NCES F-33).How much does McKittrick Elementary spend on teacher salaries?
$698,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $8,835 per student. Divided by the 5 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $139,600 per teacher, more than 96 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in McKittrick Elementary do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in McKittrick Elementary scored proficient or above: 31-81% in reading and 23-73% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is McKittrick Elementary's NCES district ID?
0624330. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25