Martin County Schools

Listed by NCES as Martin County (district ID 2103840)

Public school district · Martin County · Kentucky · NCES district ID 2103840

Martin County Schools spent $14,730 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 79% of the other Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,912). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,717 students in 2024-25; 73.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,494 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Kentucky: 91.4%).

Spending per student among Kentucky districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Martin County Schools in enrollment (1,637 to 1,877 students) and Martin County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Martin County Schools, FY23Danville Independent $16,364; Monroe County $16,268; Murray ISD $15,699; Breathitt County School $15,655; Martin County Schools $14,730; Owen County $14,329; Green County $14,214; Morgan County Schools $14,129; Leslie County $14,046; Washington County Schools $13,858; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.12k14k16k18kDanville Independent$16,364Monroe County$16,268Murray ISD$15,699Breathitt County School$15,655Martin County Schools$14,730Owen County$14,329Green County$14,214Morgan County Schools$14,129Leslie County$14,046Washington County Schools$13,858State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Martin County Schools, FY23Danville Independent $16,364; Monroe County $16,268; Murray ISD $15,699; Breathitt County School $15,655; Martin County Schools $14,730; Owen County $14,329; Green County $14,214; Morgan County Schools $14,129; Leslie County $14,046; Washington County Schools $13,858; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.12k14k16k18kDanville Independent$16,364Monroe County$16,268Murray ISD$15,699Breathitt County School$15,655Martin County Schools$14,730Owen County$14,329Green County$14,214Morgan County Schools$14,129Leslie County$14,046Washington County Schools$13,858State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Martin County Schools, FY23Danville Independent $16,364; Monroe County $16,268; Murray ISD $15,699; Breathitt County School $15,655; Martin County Schools $14,730; Owen County $14,329; Green County $14,214; Morgan County Schools $14,129; Leslie County $14,046; Washington County Schools $13,858; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.12k14k16k18kDanville Independent$16,364Monroe County$16,268Murray ISD$15,699Breathitt County School$15,655Martin County Schools$14,730Owen County$14,329Green County$14,214Morgan County Schools$14,129Leslie County$14,046Washington County Schools$13,858State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Martin County Schools, FY23Danville Independent $16,364; Monroe County $16,268; Murray ISD $15,699; Breathitt County School $15,655; Martin County Schools $14,730; Owen County $14,329; Green County $14,214; Morgan County Schools $14,129; Leslie County $14,046; Washington County Schools $13,858; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.12k14k16k18kDanville Independent$16,364Monroe County$16,268Murray ISD$15,699Breathitt County School$15,655Martin County Schools$14,730Owen County$14,329Green County$14,214Morgan County Schools$14,129Leslie County$14,046Washington County Schools$13,858State median, 1,000+ students $13,912

Where the money came from

$49,100,000 in revenue: 73.3% state, 11.5% local and 15.2% federal. Total spending including $224,000 of capital outlay was $28,363,000, or $16,134 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Martin County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $35,986,000; Local $5,638,000; Federal $7,476,000; total $49,100,000.
  • State$35,986,000 73%
  • Local$5,638,000 11%
  • Federal$7,476,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 137 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,758 students in 2022-23, 1,718 students in 2023-24, 1,717 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Martin County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,758, 2023-24: 1,718, 2024-25: 1,71705001k1.5k2k2022-231,7582023-241,7182024-251,717
Martin County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,758, 2023-24: 1,718, 2024-25: 1,71705001k1.5k2k2022-231,7582023-241,7182024-251,717
Martin County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,758, 2023-24: 1,718, 2024-25: 1,71705001k1.5k2k2022-231,7582023-241,7182024-251,717
Martin County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,758, 2023-24: 1,718, 2024-25: 1,71705001k1.5k2k2022-231,7582023-241,7182024-251,717

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,758107.616.3
2023-241,718104.616.4
2024-251,717101.217.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,207,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,531 per student

Martin County Schools booked $6,207,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 108 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $57,707 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 61 in 100 Kentucky districts with a figure (state median $56,497, 171 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,273,00085.0%
Special education$898,00014.5%
Vocational$1,0000.0%
Other programs$35,0000.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,123 in 2018-19, $3,107 in 2019-20, $3,381 in 2020-21, $3,478 in 2021-22, $3,531 in 2022-23.

Martin County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,123, 2019-20: $3,107, 2020-21: $3,381, 2021-22: $3,478, 2022-23: $3,53101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1232019-20$3,1072020-21$3,3812021-22$3,4782022-23$3,531
Martin County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,123, 2019-20: $3,107, 2020-21: $3,381, 2021-22: $3,478, 2022-23: $3,53101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1232019-20$3,1072020-21$3,3812021-22$3,4782022-23$3,531
Martin County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,123, 2019-20: $3,107, 2020-21: $3,381, 2021-22: $3,478, 2022-23: $3,53101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1232019-20$3,1072020-21$3,3812021-22$3,4782022-23$3,531
Martin County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,123, 2019-20: $3,107, 2020-21: $3,381, 2021-22: $3,478, 2022-23: $3,53101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1232019-20$3,1072020-21$3,3812021-22$3,4782022-23$3,531

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Martin County Schools scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 25% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kentucky, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKentuckyStudents tested
Reading and language arts35%44.7%889
Math25%37.8%887

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 111 students in Martin County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKentucky
Four-year graduation rate95% or more91.4%
Students in the class11149,023

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 936 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eden Elementary School37116.979.8%Schoolwide program
Warfield Elementary School33217.574.4%Schoolwide program
Inez Elementary School23315.465.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 262 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Martin County Middle School26217.570.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 519 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Martin County High School51917.367.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Martin County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Martin County Schools

  1. Kentucky districts by spending per studentMartin County Schools ranks 29 of 137 Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,730).#29 of 137
  2. Every school district in KentuckyMartin County Schools is the number 110 by size of 174 Kentucky districts, with 1,758 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#110 of 174
  3. Washington County SchoolsThe next larger Kentucky district: 1,776 students in fall 2022, $13,858 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,858
  4. Owen CountyThe next smaller Kentucky district: 1,732 students in fall 2022, $14,329 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,329
  5. Compare Martin County Schools with Washington County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Martin County High School, its largest high school519 students in 2024-25, 17.3 per teacher.519
  7. Teacher salary spending across KentuckyMartin County Schools spent $57,707 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $56,497); spending, not a salary.$57,707
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Martin County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Martin County Schools?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,717 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Martin County Schools spend per student?
    $14,730 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kentucky median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,912 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,494 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Martin County Schools' money come from?
    $49,100,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 73.3% state, 11.5% local and 15.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Martin County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 498 of the 1,544 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 32.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Martin County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,207,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,531 per student. Divided by the 108 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $57,707 per teacher, more than 61 in 100 Kentucky districts (state median $56,497). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Martin County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Martin County Schools scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 25% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Kentucky's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Martin County Schools?
    95% or more of the 111 students in Martin County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Martin County Schools' NCES district ID?
    2103840. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25