Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District

Public school district · Alameda County · California · NCES district ID 0601755

Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District spent $19,687 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 68% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 723 students in 2024-25; 73.9% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District in enrollment (703 to 724 students) and Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District, FY23Lifeline Education Charter District $22,016; Citizens of the World Charter School Silver Lake District $20,699; Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District $19,687; SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Academy- SCUSD District $18,889; Southern Humboldt Joint Unified $18,602; Strathmore Union Elementary $18,048; Hamilton Unified $15,051; University Preparatory Academy Charter District $14,728; Sonora Elementary School $14,377; Lake View Charter School $12,039; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kLifeline Education Charter Dis…$22,016Citizens of the World Charter …$20,699Lodestar: A Lighthouse Communi…$19,687SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Voca…$18,889Southern Humboldt Joint Unified$18,602Strathmore Union Elementary$18,048Hamilton Unified$15,051University Preparatory Academy…$14,728Sonora Elementary School$14,377Lake View Charter School$12,039State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District, FY23Lifeline Education Charter District $22,016; Citizens of the World Charter School Silver Lake District $20,699; Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District $19,687; SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Academy- SCUSD District $18,889; Southern Humboldt Joint Unified $18,602; Strathmore Union Elementary $18,048; Hamilton Unified $15,051; University Preparatory Academy Charter District $14,728; Sonora Elementary School $14,377; Lake View Charter School $12,039; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kLifeline Education Charter District$22,016Citizens of the World Charter Schoo…$20,699Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Ch…$19,687SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocationa…$18,889Southern Humboldt Joint Unified$18,602Strathmore Union Elementary$18,048Hamilton Unified$15,051University Preparatory Academy Char…$14,728Sonora Elementary School$14,377Lake View Charter School$12,039State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District, FY23Lifeline Education Charter District $22,016; Citizens of the World Charter School Silver Lake District $20,699; Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District $19,687; SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Academy- SCUSD District $18,889; Southern Humboldt Joint Unified $18,602; Strathmore Union Elementary $18,048; Hamilton Unified $15,051; University Preparatory Academy Charter District $14,728; Sonora Elementary School $14,377; Lake View Charter School $12,039; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kLifeline Education Charter District$22,016Citizens of the World Charter School Silver…$20,699Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Pu…$19,687SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Academ…$18,889Southern Humboldt Joint Unified$18,602Strathmore Union Elementary$18,048Hamilton Unified$15,051University Preparatory Academy Charter Dist…$14,728Sonora Elementary School$14,377Lake View Charter School$12,039State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District, FY23Lifeline Education Charter District $22,016; Citizens of the World Charter School Silver Lake District $20,699; Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District $19,687; SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Academy- SCUSD District $18,889; Southern Humboldt Joint Unified $18,602; Strathmore Union Elementary $18,048; Hamilton Unified $15,051; University Preparatory Academy Charter District $14,728; Sonora Elementary School $14,377; Lake View Charter School $12,039; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kLifeline Education Charter District$22,016Citizens of the World Charter School Si…$20,699Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charte…$19,687SAVA- Sacramento ACAD and Vocational Ac…$18,889Southern Humboldt Joint Unified$18,602Strathmore Union Elementary$18,048Hamilton Unified$15,051University Preparatory Academy Charter…$14,728Sonora Elementary School$14,377Lake View Charter School$12,039State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$13,641,000 in revenue: 73.9% state, 21.6% local and 4.6% federal. Total spending including $180,000 of capital outlay was $14,207,000, or $19,954 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,079,000; Local $2,940,000; Federal $622,000; total $13,641,000.
  • State$10,079,000 74%
  • Local$2,940,000 22%
  • Federal$622,000 5%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

712 students in 2022-23, 739 students in 2023-24, 723 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District enrollment by school year2022-23: 712, 2023-24: 739, 2024-25: 72302004006008002022-237122023-247392024-25723
Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District enrollment by school year2022-23: 712, 2023-24: 739, 2024-25: 72302004006008002022-237122023-247392024-25723
Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District enrollment by school year2022-23: 712, 2023-24: 739, 2024-25: 72302004006008002022-237122023-247392024-25723
Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District enrollment by school year2022-23: 712, 2023-24: 739, 2024-25: 72302004006008002022-237122023-247392024-25723

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2371238.918.3
2023-2473946.915.8
2024-2572348.914.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District scored proficient or above: 9-14% in reading and 2-8% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts9-14%45%385
Math2-8%34%381

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 other school, 723 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public72314.889.3%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District

  1. California districts by spending per studentLodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District ranks 399 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,687).#399 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaLodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District is the number 785 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 712 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#785 of 1,991
  3. University Preparatory Academy Charter DistrictThe next larger California district: 713 students in fall 2022, $14,728 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,728
  4. Hamilton UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 711 students in fall 2022, $15,051 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,051
  5. Compare Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District with University Preparatory Academy Charter DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District

  1. How many schools and students are in Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 723 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District spend per student?
    $19,687 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District's money come from?
    $13,641,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 73.9% state, 21.6% local and 4.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District scored proficient or above: 9-14% in reading and 2-8% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public District's NCES district ID?
    0601755. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25