Littlefork-Big Falls School District
Listed by NCES as Littlefork-Big Falls School Dist. (district ID 2718270)
Public school district · Koochiching County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2718270
Littlefork-Big Falls School District spent $17,399 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 72% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,094). Its 2 schools enrolled 402 students in 2024-25; 72.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,753 per student, down 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Minnesota: 83.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Littlefork-Big Falls in enrollment (314 to 341 students) and Littlefork-Big Falls itself.
Where the money came from
$6,185,000 in revenue: 72.0% state, 23.9% local and 4.1% federal. Total spending including $1,346,000 of capital outlay was $7,794,000, or $23,762 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$4,455,000 72%
- Local$1,477,000 24%
- Federal$253,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
328 students in 2022-23, 369 students in 2023-24, 402 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 328 | 19.9 | 16.5 |
| 2023-24 | 369 | 24.9 | 14.8 |
| 2024-25 | 402 | 24.5 | 16.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,499,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,570 per student
Littlefork-Big Falls School District booked $1,499,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 20 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $75,516 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 83 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,407,000 | 93.9% |
| Vocational | $92,000 | 6.1% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,700 in 2018-19, $4,003 in 2019-20, $4,670 in 2020-21, $4,207 in 2021-22, $4,570 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Littlefork-Big Falls School District scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Minnesota | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 45-49% | 51.1% | 170 |
| Math | 50-54% | 44.8% | 156 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
80% or more of the 20 students in Littlefork-Big Falls School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 80% or more | 83.3% |
| Students in the class | 20 | 69,945 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 216 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Littlefork-Big Falls Elementary | 216 | 18.1 | 36.6% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 186 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Littlefork-Big Falls Secondary | 186 | 14.8 | 32.3% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Littlefork-Big Falls School District
- Website: isd362.k12.mn.us
- Phone: (218) 278-6614
- Office: 700 Main St, Littlefork, MN 56653
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Littlefork-Big Falls School District
- Minnesota districts by spending per studentLittlefork-Big Falls School District ranks 96 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,399).#96 of 346
- Every school district in MinnesotaLittlefork-Big Falls School District is the number 359 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 328 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#359 of 543
- Kelliher Public School DistrictThe next larger Minnesota district: 329 students in fall 2022, $20,699 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,699
- Friendship Academy of the ArtsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 327 students in fall 2022, $16,416 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,416
- Compare Littlefork-Big Falls School District with Kelliher Public School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Littlefork-Big Falls Secondary, its largest high school186 students in 2024-25, 14.8 per teacher.186
- Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaLittlefork-Big Falls School District spent $75,516 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$75,516
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Littlefork-Big Falls School District
How many schools and students are in Littlefork-Big Falls School District?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 402 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Littlefork-Big Falls School District spend per student?
$17,399 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,753 per student, down 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Littlefork-Big Falls School District's money come from?
$6,185,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.0% state, 23.9% local and 4.1% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Littlefork-Big Falls School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 28 of the 198 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Littlefork-Big Falls School District spend on teacher salaries?
$1,499,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,570 per student. Divided by the 20 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $75,516 per teacher, more than 83 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Littlefork-Big Falls School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Littlefork-Big Falls School District scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Littlefork-Big Falls School District?
80% or more of the 20 students in Littlefork-Big Falls School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Littlefork-Big Falls School District's NCES district ID?
2718270. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25