King and Queen County Public Schools
Public school district · King and Queen County · Virginia · NCES district ID 5102070
King and Queen County Public Schools spent $16,570 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 71% of the other Virginia districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,601). Its 3 schools enrolled 611 students in 2024-25; 55.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,870 per student, up 1.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Virginia: 88.8%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to King and Queen County Public Schools in enrollment (681 to 1,023 students) and King and Queen County Public Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$15,927,000 in revenue: 55.7% state, 29.7% local and 14.6% federal. Total spending including $296,000 of capital outlay was $14,687,000, or $17,118 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$8,877,000 56%
- Local$4,728,000 30%
- Federal$2,322,000 15%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 15 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
858 students in 2022-23, 855 students in 2023-24, 611 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 858 | 67.3 | 12.8 |
| 2023-24 | 855 | 58.5 | 14.6 |
| 2024-25 | 611 | 56.3 | 10.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$3,170,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,695 per student
King and Queen County Public Schools booked $3,170,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 68 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $46,963 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 2 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $2,311,000 | 72.9% |
| Special education | $523,000 | 16.5% |
| Vocational | $288,000 | 9.1% |
| Other programs | $48,000 | 1.5% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,480 in 2018-19, $3,570 in 2019-20, $3,189 in 2020-21, $3,422 in 2021-22, $3,695 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
Graduation rate, class of 2023
70-79% of the 43 students in King and Queen County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Virginia | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 70‑79% | 88.8% |
| Students in the class | 43 | 99,059 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 346 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lawson-Marriott Elementary | 178 | 11.0 | All free (CEP) | Targeted program |
| King & Queen Elementary | 168 | 11.5 | 97.0% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 265 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central High | 265 | 10.4 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact King and Queen County Public Schools
- Website: kqps.net
- Phone: (804) 785-5981
- Office: 242 Allens Circle Suite M, King and Queen CH, VA 23085
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about King and Queen County Public Schools
- Virginia districts by spending per studentKing and Queen County Public Schools ranks 11 of 15 Virginia districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,570).#11 of 15
- Every school district in VirginiaKing and Queen County Public Schools is the number 120 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 858 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#120 of 132
- Buena Vista City Public SchoolsThe next larger Virginia district: 889 students in fall 2022, $16,729 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,729
- Norton City SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 813 students in fall 2022, $14,362 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,362
- Compare King and Queen County Public Schools with Buena Vista City Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Central High, its largest high school265 students in 2024-25, 10.4 per teacher.265
- Teacher salary spending across VirginiaKing and Queen County Public Schools spent $46,963 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$46,963
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about King and Queen County Public Schools
How many schools and students are in King and Queen County Public Schools?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 611 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does King and Queen County Public Schools spend per student?
$16,570 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,601 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,870 per student, up 1.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does King and Queen County Public Schools' money come from?
$15,927,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 55.7% state, 29.7% local and 14.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in King and Queen County Public Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 136 of the 842 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does King and Queen County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$3,170,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,695 per student. Divided by the 68 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $46,963 per teacher, more than 2 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).What is the graduation rate in King and Queen County Public Schools?
70-79% of the 43 students in King and Queen County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is King and Queen County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
5102070. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25