Jackson City Schools

Listed by NCES as Jackson City (district ID 3904415)

Public school district · Jackson County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904415

Jackson City Schools spent $13,578 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 63% of the other Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,273). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,236 students in 2024-25; 51.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,469 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Jackson City Schools in enrollment (2,265 to 2,379 students) and Jackson City Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Jackson City Schools, FY23Athens City $16,345; Greenville City Schools $13,880; Defiance City $13,696; Jackson City Schools $13,578; Shawnee Local $13,260; Tipp City Schools $13,255; Norton City Schools $12,472; Lexington Local Schools $12,223; Jonathan Alder Local $11,999; Bloom-Carroll Local $11,554; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k12k14k16k18kAthens City$16,345Greenville City Schools$13,880Defiance City$13,696Jackson City Schools$13,578Shawnee Local$13,260Tipp City Schools$13,255Norton City Schools$12,472Lexington Local Schools$12,223Jonathan Alder Local$11,999Bloom-Carroll Local$11,554State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Jackson City Schools, FY23Athens City $16,345; Greenville City Schools $13,880; Defiance City $13,696; Jackson City Schools $13,578; Shawnee Local $13,260; Tipp City Schools $13,255; Norton City Schools $12,472; Lexington Local Schools $12,223; Jonathan Alder Local $11,999; Bloom-Carroll Local $11,554; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k12k14k16k18kAthens City$16,345Greenville City Schools$13,880Defiance City$13,696Jackson City Schools$13,578Shawnee Local$13,260Tipp City Schools$13,255Norton City Schools$12,472Lexington Local Schools$12,223Jonathan Alder Local$11,999Bloom-Carroll Local$11,554State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Jackson City Schools, FY23Athens City $16,345; Greenville City Schools $13,880; Defiance City $13,696; Jackson City Schools $13,578; Shawnee Local $13,260; Tipp City Schools $13,255; Norton City Schools $12,472; Lexington Local Schools $12,223; Jonathan Alder Local $11,999; Bloom-Carroll Local $11,554; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k14k18kAthens City$16,345Greenville City Schools$13,880Defiance City$13,696Jackson City Schools$13,578Shawnee Local$13,260Tipp City Schools$13,255Norton City Schools$12,472Lexington Local Schools$12,223Jonathan Alder Local$11,999Bloom-Carroll Local$11,554State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Jackson City Schools, FY23Athens City $16,345; Greenville City Schools $13,880; Defiance City $13,696; Jackson City Schools $13,578; Shawnee Local $13,260; Tipp City Schools $13,255; Norton City Schools $12,472; Lexington Local Schools $12,223; Jonathan Alder Local $11,999; Bloom-Carroll Local $11,554; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k14k18kAthens City$16,345Greenville City Schools$13,880Defiance City$13,696Jackson City Schools$13,578Shawnee Local$13,260Tipp City Schools$13,255Norton City Schools$12,472Lexington Local Schools$12,223Jonathan Alder Local$11,999Bloom-Carroll Local$11,554State median, 1,000+ students $14,273

Where the money came from

$33,947,000 in revenue: 51.1% state, 33.9% local and 15.0% federal. Total spending including $1,014,000 of capital outlay was $33,157,000, or $14,310 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Jackson City Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,339,000; Local $11,516,000; Federal $5,092,000; total $33,947,000.
  • State$17,339,000 51%
  • Local$11,516,000 34%
  • Federal$5,092,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 452 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,317 students in 2022-23, 2,300 students in 2023-24, 2,236 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Jackson City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,317, 2023-24: 2,300, 2024-25: 2,23601k2k3k2022-232,3172023-242,3002024-252,236
Jackson City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,317, 2023-24: 2,300, 2024-25: 2,23601k2k3k2022-232,3172023-242,3002024-252,236
Jackson City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,317, 2023-24: 2,300, 2024-25: 2,23601k2k3k2022-232,3172023-242,3002024-252,236
Jackson City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,317, 2023-24: 2,300, 2024-25: 2,23601k2k3k2022-232,3172023-242,3002024-252,236

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,317277.58.3
2023-242,300138.416.6
2024-252,236157.014.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Jackson City Schools scored proficient or above: 68-72% in reading and 64-68% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts68-72%59%1,102
Math64-68%54%1,103

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 191 students in Jackson City Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class191132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 1,124 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jackson Northview Elementary School38915.045.9%Schoolwide program
Jackson Westview Elementary School38616.144.2%Schoolwide program
Jackson Southview Elementary School34913.434.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 525 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jackson Middle School52512.838.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 587 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jackson High School58714.734.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Jackson City Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Jackson City Schools

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentJackson City Schools ranks 284 of 452 Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,578).#284 of 452
  2. Every school district in OhioJackson City Schools is the number 184 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 2,317 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#184 of 999
  3. Athens City School DistrictThe next larger Ohio district: 2,335 students in fall 2022, $16,345 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,345
  4. Norton City SchoolsThe next smaller Ohio district: 2,289 students in fall 2022, $12,472 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,472
  5. Compare Jackson City Schools with Athens City School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Jackson High School, its largest high school587 students in 2024-25, 14.7 per teacher.587
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Jackson City Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Jackson City Schools?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,236 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Jackson City Schools spend per student?
    $13,578 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,469 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Jackson City Schools' money come from?
    $33,947,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.1% state, 33.9% local and 15.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Jackson City Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 488 of the 2,728 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 17.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Jackson City Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Jackson City Schools scored proficient or above: 68-72% in reading and 64-68% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Jackson City Schools?
    90-94% of the 191 students in Jackson City Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Jackson City Schools' NCES district ID?
    3904415. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25