Holcomb R-III
Public school district · Dunklin County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2914460
Holcomb R-III spent $12,117 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 70% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,479). Its 2 schools enrolled 429 students in 2024-25; 34.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,425 per student, up 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Holcomb R-III in enrollment (419 to 449 students) and Holcomb R-III itself.
Where the money came from
$6,743,000 in revenue: 34.5% state, 32.1% local and 33.4% federal. Total spending including $388,000 of capital outlay was $5,825,000, or $13,391 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,326,000 34%
- Local$2,164,000 32%
- Federal$2,253,000 33%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
435 students in 2022-23, 452 students in 2023-24, 429 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 435 | 37.9 | 11.5 |
| 2023-24 | 452 | 38.8 | 11.7 |
| 2024-25 | 429 | 38.8 | 11.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,848,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,248 per student
Holcomb R-III booked $1,848,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 38 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $48,352 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 36 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,418,000 | 76.7% |
| Special education | $176,000 | 9.5% |
| Vocational | $98,000 | 5.3% |
| Other programs | $156,000 | 8.4% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,539 in 2018-19, $3,650 in 2019-20, $4,356 in 2020-21, $4,007 in 2021-22, $4,248 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Holcomb R-III scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 32% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Missouri | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 39% | 43.2% | 231 |
| Math | 32% | 39.2% | 233 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% or more of the 34 students in Holcomb R-III's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Missouri | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% or more | 89.3% |
| Students in the class | 34 | 67,017 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 235 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holcomb Elementary | 235 | 11.0 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 194 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holcomb High | 194 | 11.2 | 100.0% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Holcomb R-III
- Website: holcomb.k12.mo.us
- Phone: (573) 792-3113
- Office: 102 S Cherry, Holcomb, MO 63852
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Holcomb R-III
- Missouri districts by spending per studentHolcomb R-III ranks 263 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,117).#263 of 376
- Every school district in MissouriHolcomb R-III is the number 318 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 435 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#318 of 558
- Winona R-III School DistrictThe next larger Missouri district: 441 students in fall 2022, $13,381 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,381
- Wheaton R-III School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 431 students in fall 2022, $11,107 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,107
- Compare Holcomb R-III with Winona R-III School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Holcomb High, its largest high school194 students in 2024-25, 11.2 per teacher.194
- Teacher salary spending across MissouriHolcomb R-III spent $48,352 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$48,352
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Holcomb R-III
How many schools and students are in Holcomb R-III?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 429 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Holcomb R-III spend per student?
$12,117 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,425 per student, up 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Holcomb R-III's money come from?
$6,743,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 34.5% state, 32.1% local and 33.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Holcomb R-III live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 98 of the 472 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 20.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Holcomb R-III spend on teacher salaries?
$1,848,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,248 per student. Divided by the 38 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $48,352 per teacher, more than 36 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Holcomb R-III do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Holcomb R-III scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 32% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Holcomb R-III?
90% or more of the 34 students in Holcomb R-III's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Holcomb R-III's NCES district ID?
2914460. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25