Hinckley-Finlayson Schools

Listed by NCES as Hinckley-Finlayson School District (district ID 2714070)

Public school district · Pine County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2714070

Hinckley-Finlayson Schools spent $14,816 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 65% of the other Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,091). Its 4 schools enrolled 869 students in 2024-25; 64.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,168 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hinckley-Finlayson Schools in enrollment (969 to 1,048 students) and Hinckley-Finlayson Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Hinckley-Finlayson Schools, FY23Crosby-Ironton Public Schools $14,915; Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools $14,902; La Crescent-Hokah $14,823; Hinckley-Finlayson Schools $14,816; Aitkin Public Schools $14,691; St. Charles Public Schools $13,549; Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial $12,931; Davinci Academy $11,511; Hawley Public Schools $11,422; Nova Classical Academy $10,893; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.8k10k12k14k16kCrosby-Ironton Public Schools$14,915Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools$14,902La Crescent-Hokah$14,823Hinckley-Finlayson Schools$14,816Aitkin Public Schools$14,691St. Charles Public Schools$13,549Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial$12,931Davinci Academy$11,511Hawley Public Schools$11,422Nova Classical Academy$10,893State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Hinckley-Finlayson Schools, FY23Crosby-Ironton Public Schools $14,915; Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools $14,902; La Crescent-Hokah $14,823; Hinckley-Finlayson Schools $14,816; Aitkin Public Schools $14,691; St. Charles Public Schools $13,549; Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial $12,931; Davinci Academy $11,511; Hawley Public Schools $11,422; Nova Classical Academy $10,893; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.8k10k12k14k16kCrosby-Ironton Public Schools$14,915Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools$14,902La Crescent-Hokah$14,823Hinckley-Finlayson Schools$14,816Aitkin Public Schools$14,691St. Charles Public Schools$13,549Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial$12,931Davinci Academy$11,511Hawley Public Schools$11,422Nova Classical Academy$10,893State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Hinckley-Finlayson Schools, FY23Crosby-Ironton Public Schools $14,915; Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools $14,902; La Crescent-Hokah $14,823; Hinckley-Finlayson Schools $14,816; Aitkin Public Schools $14,691; St. Charles Public Schools $13,549; Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial $12,931; Davinci Academy $11,511; Hawley Public Schools $11,422; Nova Classical Academy $10,893; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.8k12k16kCrosby-Ironton Public Schools$14,915Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools$14,902La Crescent-Hokah$14,823Hinckley-Finlayson Schools$14,816Aitkin Public Schools$14,691St. Charles Public Schools$13,549Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial$12,931Davinci Academy$11,511Hawley Public Schools$11,422Nova Classical Academy$10,893State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Hinckley-Finlayson Schools, FY23Crosby-Ironton Public Schools $14,915; Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools $14,902; La Crescent-Hokah $14,823; Hinckley-Finlayson Schools $14,816; Aitkin Public Schools $14,691; St. Charles Public Schools $13,549; Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial $12,931; Davinci Academy $11,511; Hawley Public Schools $11,422; Nova Classical Academy $10,893; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.8k12k16kCrosby-Ironton Public Schools$14,915Long Prairie Grey Eagle Schools$14,902La Crescent-Hokah$14,823Hinckley-Finlayson Schools$14,816Aitkin Public Schools$14,691St. Charles Public Schools$13,549Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial$12,931Davinci Academy$11,511Hawley Public Schools$11,422Nova Classical Academy$10,893State median, 1,000+ students $14,091

Where the money came from

$17,641,000 in revenue: 64.9% state, 20.1% local and 15.1% federal. Total spending including $1,185,000 of capital outlay was $17,665,000, or $17,490 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Hinckley-Finlayson Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,443,000; Local $3,539,000; Federal $2,659,000; total $17,641,000.
  • State$11,443,000 65%
  • Local$3,539,000 20%
  • Federal$2,659,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 163 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,010 students in 2022-23, 946 students in 2023-24, 869 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Hinckley-Finlayson Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,010, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 86905001k1.5k2022-231,0102023-249462024-25869
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,010, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 86905001k1.5k2022-231,0102023-249462024-25869
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,010, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 86905001k1.5k2022-231,0102023-249462024-25869
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,010, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 86905001k1.5k2022-231,0102023-249462024-25869

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,01075.213.4
2023-2494673.112.9
2024-2586969.012.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$4,556,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,511 per student

Hinckley-Finlayson Schools booked $4,556,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 76 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $60,161 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 41 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,549,00077.9%
Special education$869,00019.1%
Vocational$138,0003.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,252 in 2018-19, $4,232 in 2019-20, $4,420 in 2020-21, $4,250 in 2021-22, $4,511 in 2022-23.

Hinckley-Finlayson Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,232, 2020-21: $4,420, 2021-22: $4,250, 2022-23: $4,51102k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,2322020-21$4,4202021-22$4,2502022-23$4,511
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,232, 2020-21: $4,420, 2021-22: $4,250, 2022-23: $4,51102k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,2322020-21$4,4202021-22$4,2502022-23$4,511
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,232, 2020-21: $4,420, 2021-22: $4,250, 2022-23: $4,51102k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,2322020-21$4,4202021-22$4,2502022-23$4,511
Hinckley-Finlayson Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,232, 2020-21: $4,420, 2021-22: $4,250, 2022-23: $4,51102k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,2322020-21$4,4202021-22$4,2502022-23$4,511

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 24% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts35%51.1%507
Math24%44.8%499

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 78 students in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%83.3%
Students in the class7869,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 453 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hinckley Elementary39511.558.0%Schoolwide program
Finlayson Elementary5810.244.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 416 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hinckley-Finlayson Secondary39814.646.2%Eligible, no program
Empower Learning Center1810.861.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Hinckley-Finlayson Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Hinckley-Finlayson Schools

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentHinckley-Finlayson Schools ranks 57 of 163 Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,816).#57 of 163
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaHinckley-Finlayson Schools is the number 163 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 1,010 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#163 of 543
  3. Crosby-Ironton Public SchoolsThe next larger Minnesota district: 1,011 students in fall 2022, $14,915 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,915
  4. St. Charles Public SchoolsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 994 students in fall 2022, $13,549 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,549
  5. Compare Hinckley-Finlayson Schools with Crosby-Ironton Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Hinckley-Finlayson Secondary, its largest high school398 students in 2024-25, 14.6 per teacher.398
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaHinckley-Finlayson Schools spent $60,161 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$60,161
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Hinckley-Finlayson Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 high), enrolling 869 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Hinckley-Finlayson Schools spend per student?
    $14,816 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,168 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Hinckley-Finlayson Schools' money come from?
    $17,641,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 64.9% state, 20.1% local and 15.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 159 of the 1,090 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Hinckley-Finlayson Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $4,556,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,511 per student. Divided by the 76 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $60,161 per teacher, more than 41 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 24% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools?
    80-84% of the 78 students in Hinckley-Finlayson Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Hinckley-Finlayson Schools' NCES district ID?
    2714070. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25