Fort Loramie Local Schools

Listed by NCES as Fort Loramie Local (district ID 3904978)

Public school district · Shelby County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904978

Fort Loramie Local Schools spent $15,005 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 53% of the other Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,201). Its 2 schools enrolled 722 students in 2024-25; 37.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,772 per student, up 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Fort Loramie Local Schools in enrollment (729 to 752 students) and Fort Loramie Local Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Fort Loramie Local Schools, FY23Trimble Local $21,995; St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools $19,121; Symmes Valley Local $17,393; Tri-County North Local $16,930; Lisbon Exempted Village Schools $16,191; Bridgeport $15,736; Fort Loramie Local Schools $15,005; South Central Local Schools $14,925; Old Fort Local $13,587; McDonald Local Schools $13,161; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.10k15k20k25kTrimble Local$21,995St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City…$19,121Symmes Valley Local$17,393Tri-County North Local$16,930Lisbon Exempted Village Schools$16,191Bridgeport$15,736Fort Loramie Local Schools$15,005South Central Local Schools$14,925Old Fort Local$13,587McDonald Local Schools$13,161State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Fort Loramie Local Schools, FY23Trimble Local $21,995; St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools $19,121; Symmes Valley Local $17,393; Tri-County North Local $16,930; Lisbon Exempted Village Schools $16,191; Bridgeport $15,736; Fort Loramie Local Schools $15,005; South Central Local Schools $14,925; Old Fort Local $13,587; McDonald Local Schools $13,161; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.10k15k20k25kTrimble Local$21,995St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Scho…$19,121Symmes Valley Local$17,393Tri-County North Local$16,930Lisbon Exempted Village Schools$16,191Bridgeport$15,736Fort Loramie Local Schools$15,005South Central Local Schools$14,925Old Fort Local$13,587McDonald Local Schools$13,161State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Fort Loramie Local Schools, FY23Trimble Local $21,995; St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools $19,121; Symmes Valley Local $17,393; Tri-County North Local $16,930; Lisbon Exempted Village Schools $16,191; Bridgeport $15,736; Fort Loramie Local Schools $15,005; South Central Local Schools $14,925; Old Fort Local $13,587; McDonald Local Schools $13,161; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.10k15k20k25kTrimble Local$21,995St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools$19,121Symmes Valley Local$17,393Tri-County North Local$16,930Lisbon Exempted Village Schools$16,191Bridgeport$15,736Fort Loramie Local Schools$15,005South Central Local Schools$14,925Old Fort Local$13,587McDonald Local Schools$13,161State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Fort Loramie Local Schools, FY23Trimble Local $21,995; St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools $19,121; Symmes Valley Local $17,393; Tri-County North Local $16,930; Lisbon Exempted Village Schools $16,191; Bridgeport $15,736; Fort Loramie Local Schools $15,005; South Central Local Schools $14,925; Old Fort Local $13,587; McDonald Local Schools $13,161; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.10k15k20k25kTrimble Local$21,995St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools$19,121Symmes Valley Local$17,393Tri-County North Local$16,930Lisbon Exempted Village Schools$16,191Bridgeport$15,736Fort Loramie Local Schools$15,005South Central Local Schools$14,925Old Fort Local$13,587McDonald Local Schools$13,161State median, under 1,000 students $15,201

Where the money came from

$13,149,000 in revenue: 37.2% state, 58.9% local and 3.9% federal. Total spending including $551,000 of capital outlay was $12,071,000, or $16,312 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Fort Loramie Local Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,892,000; Local $7,749,000; Federal $508,000; total $13,149,000.
  • State$4,892,000 37%
  • Local$7,749,000 59%
  • Federal$508,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 529 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

740 students in 2022-23, 738 students in 2023-24, 722 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Fort Loramie Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 740, 2023-24: 738, 2024-25: 72202004006008002022-237402023-247382024-25722
Fort Loramie Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 740, 2023-24: 738, 2024-25: 72202004006008002022-237402023-247382024-25722
Fort Loramie Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 740, 2023-24: 738, 2024-25: 72202004006008002022-237402023-247382024-25722
Fort Loramie Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 740, 2023-24: 738, 2024-25: 72202004006008002022-237402023-247382024-25722

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2374043.417.1
2023-2473847.015.7
2024-2572245.016.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,781,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,109 per student

Fort Loramie Local Schools booked $3,781,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 44 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $86,800 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 72 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,276,00086.6%
Special education$505,00013.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,181 in 2018-19, $4,434 in 2019-20, $4,731 in 2020-21, $4,938 in 2021-22, $5,109 in 2022-23.

Fort Loramie Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,434, 2020-21: $4,731, 2021-22: $4,938, 2022-23: $5,10902k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,4342020-21$4,7312021-22$4,9382022-23$5,109
Fort Loramie Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,434, 2020-21: $4,731, 2021-22: $4,938, 2022-23: $5,10902k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,4342020-21$4,7312021-22$4,9382022-23$5,109
Fort Loramie Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,434, 2020-21: $4,731, 2021-22: $4,938, 2022-23: $5,10902k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,4342020-21$4,7312021-22$4,9382022-23$5,109
Fort Loramie Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,434, 2020-21: $4,731, 2021-22: $4,938, 2022-23: $5,10902k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,4342020-21$4,7312021-22$4,9382022-23$5,109

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Fort Loramie Local Schools scored proficient or above: 83-91% in reading and 90-98% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts83-91%59%337
Math90-98%54%338

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 52 students in Fort Loramie Local Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate90% or more86.2%
Students in the class52132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 403 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Fort Loramie Elementary School40314.37.7%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 319 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Fort Loramie Junior-Senior High School31918.97.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Fort Loramie Local Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Fort Loramie Local Schools

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentFort Loramie Local Schools ranks 280 of 529 Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,005).#280 of 529
  2. Every school district in OhioFort Loramie Local Schools is the number 550 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 740 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#550 of 999
  3. Symmes Valley LocalThe next larger Ohio district: 741 students in fall 2022, $17,393 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,393
  4. Trimble LocalThe next smaller Ohio district: 729 students in fall 2022, $21,995 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,995
  5. Compare Fort Loramie Local Schools with Symmes Valley LocalEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Fort Loramie Junior-Senior High School, its largest high school319 students in 2024-25, 18.9 per teacher.319
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioFort Loramie Local Schools spent $86,800 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$86,800
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Fort Loramie Local Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Fort Loramie Local Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 722 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Fort Loramie Local Schools spend per student?
    $15,005 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,201 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,772 per student, up 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Fort Loramie Local Schools' money come from?
    $13,149,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 37.2% state, 58.9% local and 3.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Fort Loramie Local Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 28 of the 805 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Fort Loramie Local Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,781,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,109 per student. Divided by the 44 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $86,800 per teacher, more than 72 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Fort Loramie Local Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Fort Loramie Local Schools scored proficient or above: 83-91% in reading and 90-98% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Fort Loramie Local Schools?
    90% or more of the 52 students in Fort Loramie Local Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Fort Loramie Local Schools' NCES district ID?
    3904978. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25