Farmington School District

Public school district · Strafford County · New Hampshire · NCES district ID 3303000

Farmington School District spent $20,954 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 82% of the other New Hampshire districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $25,283). Its 3 schools enrolled 730 students in 2024-25; 43.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,968 per student, up 9.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-89% (New Hampshire: 88.1%).

Spending per student among New Hampshire districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Farmington in enrollment (666 to 920 students) and Farmington itself.

Current spending per student, New Hampshire districts closest in size to Farmington, FY23Inter-Lakes Cooperative $31,036; Hampstead $28,194; Exeter $26,906; Souhegan Cooperative $25,723; Newport $23,673; Epping $22,737; Hollis $21,260; Farmington $20,954; Mascenic Regional $18,755; Weare $18,444; State median, under 1,000 students $25,283.15k20k25k30k35kInter-Lakes Cooperative$31,036Hampstead$28,194Exeter$26,906Souhegan Cooperative$25,723Newport$23,673Epping$22,737Hollis$21,260Farmington$20,954Mascenic Regional$18,755Weare$18,444State median, under 1,000 students $25,283
Current spending per student, New Hampshire districts closest in size to Farmington, FY23Inter-Lakes Cooperative $31,036; Hampstead $28,194; Exeter $26,906; Souhegan Cooperative $25,723; Newport $23,673; Epping $22,737; Hollis $21,260; Farmington $20,954; Mascenic Regional $18,755; Weare $18,444; State median, under 1,000 students $25,283.15k20k25k30k35kInter-Lakes Cooperative$31,036Hampstead$28,194Exeter$26,906Souhegan Cooperative$25,723Newport$23,673Epping$22,737Hollis$21,260Farmington$20,954Mascenic Regional$18,755Weare$18,444State median, under 1,000 students $25,283
Current spending per student, New Hampshire districts closest in size to Farmington, FY23Inter-Lakes Cooperative $31,036; Hampstead $28,194; Exeter $26,906; Souhegan Cooperative $25,723; Newport $23,673; Epping $22,737; Hollis $21,260; Farmington $20,954; Mascenic Regional $18,755; Weare $18,444; State median, under 1,000 students $25,283.15k25k35kInter-Lakes Cooperative$31,036Hampstead$28,194Exeter$26,906Souhegan Cooperative$25,723Newport$23,673Epping$22,737Hollis$21,260Farmington$20,954Mascenic Regional$18,755Weare$18,444State median, under 1,000 students $25,283
Current spending per student, New Hampshire districts closest in size to Farmington, FY23Inter-Lakes Cooperative $31,036; Hampstead $28,194; Exeter $26,906; Souhegan Cooperative $25,723; Newport $23,673; Epping $22,737; Hollis $21,260; Farmington $20,954; Mascenic Regional $18,755; Weare $18,444; State median, under 1,000 students $25,283.15k25k35kInter-Lakes Cooperative$31,036Hampstead$28,194Exeter$26,906Souhegan Cooperative$25,723Newport$23,673Epping$22,737Hollis$21,260Farmington$20,954Mascenic Regional$18,755Weare$18,444State median, under 1,000 students $25,283

Where the money came from

$17,570,000 in revenue: 43.0% state, 44.2% local and 12.8% federal. Total spending including $283,000 of capital outlay was $17,039,000, or $21,379 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Farmington School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,548,000; Local $7,768,000; Federal $2,254,000; total $17,570,000.
  • State$7,548,000 43%
  • Local$7,768,000 44%
  • Federal$2,254,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

792 students in 2022-23, 754 students in 2023-24, 730 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Farmington School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 792, 2023-24: 754, 2024-25: 73002004006008002022-237922023-247542024-25730
Farmington School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 792, 2023-24: 754, 2024-25: 73002004006008002022-237922023-247542024-25730
Farmington School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 792, 2023-24: 754, 2024-25: 73002004006008002022-237922023-247542024-25730
Farmington School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 792, 2023-24: 754, 2024-25: 73002004006008002022-237922023-247542024-25730

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2379280.59.8
2023-2475477.09.8
2024-2573096.07.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,516,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,921 per student

Farmington School District booked $5,516,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 81 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $68,522 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 10 in 100 New Hampshire districts with a figure (state median $85,704, 137 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Hampshire teacher salary at $62,783 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,644,00066.1%
Special education$1,708,00031.0%
Other programs$164,0003.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,287 in 2018-19, $7,007 in 2019-20, $7,303 in 2020-21, $6,327 in 2021-22, $6,921 in 2022-23.

Farmington School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,287, 2019-20: $7,007, 2020-21: $7,303, 2021-22: $6,327, 2022-23: $6,92102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2872019-20$7,0072020-21$7,3032021-22$6,3272022-23$6,921
Farmington School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,287, 2019-20: $7,007, 2020-21: $7,303, 2021-22: $6,327, 2022-23: $6,92102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2872019-20$7,0072020-21$7,3032021-22$6,3272022-23$6,921
Farmington School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,287, 2019-20: $7,007, 2020-21: $7,303, 2021-22: $6,327, 2022-23: $6,92102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2872019-20$7,0072020-21$7,3032021-22$6,3272022-23$6,921
Farmington School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,287, 2019-20: $7,007, 2020-21: $7,303, 2021-22: $6,327, 2022-23: $6,92102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2872019-20$7,0072020-21$7,3032021-22$6,3272022-23$6,921

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Farmington School District scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 22% in math, against 50.8% in reading and 40.5% in math across New Hampshire. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Hampshire, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew HampshireStudents tested
Reading and language arts43%50.8%390
Math22%40.5%392

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-89% of the 56 students in Farmington School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across New Hampshire. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Hampshire
Four-year graduation rate80‑89%88.1%
Students in the class5613,202

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 245 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Valley View Community School2458.831.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 271 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Henry Wilson Memorial School2719.340.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 214 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Farmington Senior High School2145.529.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Farmington School District

  • Phone: (603) 755-2627
  • Office: 35 School Street, Farmington, NH 03835

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Farmington School District

  1. New Hampshire districts by spending per studentFarmington School District ranks 92 of 112 New Hampshire districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,954).#92 of 112
  2. Every school district in New HampshireFarmington School District is the number 64 by size of 197 New Hampshire districts, with 797 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#64 of 197
  3. Newport School DistrictThe next larger New Hampshire district: 819 students in fall 2022, $23,673 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,673
  4. Souhegan Cooperative School DistrictThe next smaller New Hampshire district: 704 students in fall 2022, $25,723 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,723
  5. Compare Farmington School District with Newport School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Farmington Senior High School, its largest high school214 students in 2024-25, 5.5 per teacher.214
  7. Teacher salary spending across New HampshireFarmington School District spent $68,522 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $85,704); spending, not a salary.$68,522
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Farmington School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Farmington School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 730 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Farmington School District spend per student?
    $20,954 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Hampshire median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $25,283 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,968 per student, up 9.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Farmington School District's money come from?
    $17,570,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 43.0% state, 44.2% local and 12.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Farmington School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 102 of the 898 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Farmington School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,516,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,921 per student. Divided by the 81 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $68,522 per teacher, more than 10 in 100 New Hampshire districts (state median $85,704). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Hampshire teacher salary at $62,783 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Farmington School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Farmington School District scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 22% in math, against 50.8% in reading and 40.5% in math across New Hampshire. New Hampshire's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Farmington School District?
    80-89% of the 56 students in Farmington School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across New Hampshire. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Farmington School District's NCES district ID?
    3303000. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25