Ellensburg School District

Public school district · Kittitas County · Washington · NCES district ID 5302460

Ellensburg School District spent $16,335 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 76% of the other Washington districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,250). Its 8 schools enrolled 3,370 students in 2024-25; 63.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,572 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85% (Washington: 83.8%).

Spending per student among Washington districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ellensburg in enrollment (3,012 to 3,440 students) and Ellensburg itself.

Current spending per student, Washington districts closest in size to Ellensburg, FY23Burlington-Edison $20,773; Wapato $19,515; Quincy $19,223; Aberdeen $18,045; Centralia $17,631; Chehalis $17,562; Steilacoom Historical School District 1 $17,148; Riverview $16,952; Ellensburg $16,335; East Valley $16,161; State median, 1,000+ students $17,250.14k16k18k20k22kBurlington-Edison$20,773Wapato$19,515Quincy$19,223Aberdeen$18,045Centralia$17,631Chehalis$17,562Steilacoom Historical School D…$17,148Riverview$16,952Ellensburg$16,335East Valley$16,161State median, 1,000+ students $17,250
Current spending per student, Washington districts closest in size to Ellensburg, FY23Burlington-Edison $20,773; Wapato $19,515; Quincy $19,223; Aberdeen $18,045; Centralia $17,631; Chehalis $17,562; Steilacoom Historical School District 1 $17,148; Riverview $16,952; Ellensburg $16,335; East Valley $16,161; State median, 1,000+ students $17,250.14k16k18k20k22kBurlington-Edison$20,773Wapato$19,515Quincy$19,223Aberdeen$18,045Centralia$17,631Chehalis$17,562Steilacoom Historical School Distri…$17,148Riverview$16,952Ellensburg$16,335East Valley$16,161State median, 1,000+ students $17,250
Current spending per student, Washington districts closest in size to Ellensburg, FY23Burlington-Edison $20,773; Wapato $19,515; Quincy $19,223; Aberdeen $18,045; Centralia $17,631; Chehalis $17,562; Steilacoom Historical School District 1 $17,148; Riverview $16,952; Ellensburg $16,335; East Valley $16,161; State median, 1,000+ students $17,250.14k18k22kBurlington-Edison$20,773Wapato$19,515Quincy$19,223Aberdeen$18,045Centralia$17,631Chehalis$17,562Steilacoom Historical School District 1$17,148Riverview$16,952Ellensburg$16,335East Valley$16,161State median, 1,000+ students $17,250
Current spending per student, Washington districts closest in size to Ellensburg, FY23Burlington-Edison $20,773; Wapato $19,515; Quincy $19,223; Aberdeen $18,045; Centralia $17,631; Chehalis $17,562; Steilacoom Historical School District 1 $17,148; Riverview $16,952; Ellensburg $16,335; East Valley $16,161; State median, 1,000+ students $17,250.14k18k22kBurlington-Edison$20,773Wapato$19,515Quincy$19,223Aberdeen$18,045Centralia$17,631Chehalis$17,562Steilacoom Historical School District 1$17,148Riverview$16,952Ellensburg$16,335East Valley$16,161State median, 1,000+ students $17,250

Where the money came from

$62,716,000 in revenue: 63.4% state, 28.2% local and 8.4% federal. Total spending including $2,670,000 of capital outlay was $59,986,000, or $18,526 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ellensburg School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $39,774,000; Local $17,672,000; Federal $5,270,000; total $62,716,000.
  • State$39,774,000 63%
  • Local$17,672,000 28%
  • Federal$5,270,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 150 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,238 students in 2022-23, 3,339 students in 2023-24, 3,370 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ellensburg School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,238, 2023-24: 3,339, 2024-25: 3,37001k2k3k4k2022-233,2382023-243,3392024-253,370
Ellensburg School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,238, 2023-24: 3,339, 2024-25: 3,37001k2k3k4k2022-233,2382023-243,3392024-253,370
Ellensburg School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,238, 2023-24: 3,339, 2024-25: 3,37001k2k3k4k2022-233,2382023-243,3392024-253,370
Ellensburg School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,238, 2023-24: 3,339, 2024-25: 3,37001k2k3k4k2022-233,2382023-243,3392024-253,370

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,238167.319.4
2023-243,339183.818.2
2024-253,370185.018.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$17,254,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,329 per student

Ellensburg School District booked $17,254,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 191 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $90,510 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 69 in 100 Washington districts with a figure (state median $84,529, 290 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Washington teacher salary at $81,586 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$13,775,00079.8%
Special education$1,432,0008.3%
Vocational$1,094,0006.3%
Other programs$953,0005.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,252 in 2018-19, $4,467 in 2019-20, $5,008 in 2020-21, $4,941 in 2021-22, $5,329 in 2022-23.

Ellensburg School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,467, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,941, 2022-23: $5,32902k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,4672020-21$5,0082021-22$4,9412022-23$5,329
Ellensburg School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,467, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,941, 2022-23: $5,32902k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,4672020-21$5,0082021-22$4,9412022-23$5,329
Ellensburg School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,467, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,941, 2022-23: $5,32902k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,4672020-21$5,0082021-22$4,9412022-23$5,329
Ellensburg School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,252, 2019-20: $4,467, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,941, 2022-23: $5,32902k4k6k2018-19$4,2522019-20$4,4672020-21$5,0082021-22$4,9412022-23$5,329

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ellensburg School District scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 36-40% in math, against 53.4% in reading and 41% in math across Washington. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Washington, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWashingtonStudents tested
Reading and language arts47%53.4%1,655
Math36-40%41%1,443

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85% of the 250 students in Ellensburg School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.8% across Washington. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWashington
Four-year graduation rate85%83.8%
Students in the class25085,003

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,439 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Valley View Elementary School40815.825.5%Schoolwide program
Ida Nason Aronica Elementary36115.247.4%Not reported
Mt. Stuart Elementary33613.342.6%Schoolwide program
Lincoln Elementary33415.738.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 772 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Morgan Middle School77219.534.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 957 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ellensburg High School95720.528.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 202 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
K-12 Ellensburg Learning Center148not reported39.9%Not Title I
Early Learning Center5421.659.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Ellensburg School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ellensburg School District

  1. Washington districts by spending per studentEllensburg School District ranks 114 of 150 Washington districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,335).#114 of 150
  2. Every school district in WashingtonEllensburg School District is the number 84 by size of 323 Washington districts, with 3,238 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#84 of 323
  3. Aberdeen School DistrictThe next larger Washington district: 3,304 students in fall 2022, $18,045 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,045
  4. Wapato School DistrictThe next smaller Washington district: 3,195 students in fall 2022, $19,515 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,515
  5. Compare Ellensburg School District with Aberdeen School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ellensburg High School, its largest high school957 students in 2024-25, 20.5 per teacher.957
  7. Teacher salary spending across WashingtonEllensburg School District spent $90,510 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $84,529); spending, not a salary.$90,510
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ellensburg School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Ellensburg School District?
    8 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 2 other), enrolling 3,370 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ellensburg School District spend per student?
    $16,335 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Washington median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,250 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,572 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ellensburg School District's money come from?
    $62,716,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.4% state, 28.2% local and 8.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ellensburg School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 426 of the 3,660 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ellensburg School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $17,254,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,329 per student. Divided by the 191 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $90,510 per teacher, more than 69 in 100 Washington districts (state median $84,529). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Washington teacher salary at $81,586 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ellensburg School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ellensburg School District scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 36-40% in math, against 53.4% in reading and 41% in math across Washington. Washington's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ellensburg School District?
    85% of the 250 students in Ellensburg School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.8% across Washington. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ellensburg School District's NCES district ID?
    5302460. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25