East Prairie SD 73
Public school district · Cook County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1713260
East Prairie SD 73 spent $21,619 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 85% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,409). Its one school enrolled 513 students in 2024-25; 21.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,959 per student, up 10.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to East Prairie SD 73 in enrollment (532 to 545 students) and East Prairie SD 73 itself.
Where the money came from
$16,209,000 in revenue: 21.5% state, 74.2% local and 4.3% federal. Total spending including $102,000 of capital outlay was $14,034,000, or $25,989 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$3,490,000 22%
- Local$12,029,000 74%
- Federal$690,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
540 students in 2022-23, 515 students in 2023-24, 513 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 540 | 48.0 | 11.3 |
| 2023-24 | 515 | 51.0 | 10.1 |
| 2024-25 | 513 | 50.0 | 10.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Prairie SD 73 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 51% | 29.9% | 315 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 513 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| East Prairie Elementary School | 513 | 10.3 | not reported | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact East Prairie SD 73
- Website: eps73.net
- Phone: (847) 673-1141
- Office: 7616 E Prairie Rd, Skokie, IL 60076
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about East Prairie SD 73
- Illinois districts by spending per studentEast Prairie SD 73 ranks 72 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,619).#72 of 468
- Every school district in IllinoisEast Prairie SD 73 is the number 567 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 540 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#567 of 865
- Dwight Common SD 232The next larger Illinois district: 545 students in fall 2022, $13,224 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,224
- Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5The next smaller Illinois district: 539 students in fall 2022, $16,534 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,534
- Compare East Prairie SD 73 with Dwight Common SD 232Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about East Prairie SD 73
How many schools and students are in East Prairie SD 73?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 513 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does East Prairie SD 73 spend per student?
$21,619 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,959 per student, up 10.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does East Prairie SD 73's money come from?
$16,209,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.5% state, 74.2% local and 4.3% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in East Prairie SD 73 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 69 of the 495 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in East Prairie SD 73 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Prairie SD 73 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is East Prairie SD 73's NCES district ID?
1713260. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25