East Porter County School Corp

Public school district · Porter County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1809000

East Porter County School Corp spent $10,771 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 87% of the other Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,329). Its 6 schools enrolled 2,275 students in 2024-25; 57.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,482 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Indiana: 88.1%).

Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to East Porter County School Corp in enrollment (2,266 to 2,543 students) and East Porter County School Corp itself.

Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to East Porter County School Corp, FY23West Lafayette Community School Corporation $14,344; Crawfordsville Community School Corporation $13,373; Twin Lakes School Corp $13,194; Mississinewa Community $12,764; Washington Community Schools $12,014; Western School Corporation $11,600; Hamilton Heights School Corp $11,383; Northern Wells Community Schools $11,198; East Porter County School Corp $10,771; MSD Wabash County Schools $10,128; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14k16kWest Lafayette Community Schoo…$14,344Crawfordsville Community Schoo…$13,373Twin Lakes School Corp$13,194Mississinewa Community$12,764Washington Community Schools$12,014Western School Corporation$11,600Hamilton Heights School Corp$11,383Northern Wells Community Schoo…$11,198East Porter County School Corp$10,771MSD Wabash County Schools$10,128State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to East Porter County School Corp, FY23West Lafayette Community School Corporation $14,344; Crawfordsville Community School Corporation $13,373; Twin Lakes School Corp $13,194; Mississinewa Community $12,764; Washington Community Schools $12,014; Western School Corporation $11,600; Hamilton Heights School Corp $11,383; Northern Wells Community Schools $11,198; East Porter County School Corp $10,771; MSD Wabash County Schools $10,128; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14k16kWest Lafayette Community School Cor…$14,344Crawfordsville Community School Cor…$13,373Twin Lakes School Corp$13,194Mississinewa Community$12,764Washington Community Schools$12,014Western School Corporation$11,600Hamilton Heights School Corp$11,383Northern Wells Community Schools$11,198East Porter County School Corp$10,771MSD Wabash County Schools$10,128State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to East Porter County School Corp, FY23West Lafayette Community School Corporation $14,344; Crawfordsville Community School Corporation $13,373; Twin Lakes School Corp $13,194; Mississinewa Community $12,764; Washington Community Schools $12,014; Western School Corporation $11,600; Hamilton Heights School Corp $11,383; Northern Wells Community Schools $11,198; East Porter County School Corp $10,771; MSD Wabash County Schools $10,128; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k12k16kWest Lafayette Community School Corporation$14,344Crawfordsville Community School Corporation$13,373Twin Lakes School Corp$13,194Mississinewa Community$12,764Washington Community Schools$12,014Western School Corporation$11,600Hamilton Heights School Corp$11,383Northern Wells Community Schools$11,198East Porter County School Corp$10,771MSD Wabash County Schools$10,128State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to East Porter County School Corp, FY23West Lafayette Community School Corporation $14,344; Crawfordsville Community School Corporation $13,373; Twin Lakes School Corp $13,194; Mississinewa Community $12,764; Washington Community Schools $12,014; Western School Corporation $11,600; Hamilton Heights School Corp $11,383; Northern Wells Community Schools $11,198; East Porter County School Corp $10,771; MSD Wabash County Schools $10,128; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k12k16kWest Lafayette Community School Corpora…$14,344Crawfordsville Community School Corpora…$13,373Twin Lakes School Corp$13,194Mississinewa Community$12,764Washington Community Schools$12,014Western School Corporation$11,600Hamilton Heights School Corp$11,383Northern Wells Community Schools$11,198East Porter County School Corp$10,771MSD Wabash County Schools$10,128State median, 1,000+ students $12,329

Where the money came from

$37,154,000 in revenue: 57.6% state, 38.3% local and 4.1% federal. Total spending including $4,505,000 of capital outlay was $33,454,000, or $13,893 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

East Porter County School Corp revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $21,404,000; Local $14,245,000; Federal $1,505,000; total $37,154,000.
  • State$21,404,000 58%
  • Local$14,245,000 38%
  • Federal$1,505,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 240 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,408 students in 2022-23, 2,299 students in 2023-24, 2,275 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

East Porter County School Corp enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,408, 2023-24: 2,299, 2024-25: 2,27501k2k3k2022-232,4082023-242,2992024-252,275
East Porter County School Corp enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,408, 2023-24: 2,299, 2024-25: 2,27501k2k3k2022-232,4082023-242,2992024-252,275
East Porter County School Corp enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,408, 2023-24: 2,299, 2024-25: 2,27501k2k3k2022-232,4082023-242,2992024-252,275
East Porter County School Corp enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,408, 2023-24: 2,299, 2024-25: 2,27501k2k3k2022-232,4082023-242,2992024-252,275

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,408154.015.6
2023-242,299158.014.6
2024-252,275159.014.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,797,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,238 per student

East Porter County School Corp booked $7,797,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 154 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,630 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 45 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$7,469,00095.8%
Vocational$328,0004.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,713 in 2018-19, $2,891 in 2019-20, $2,895 in 2020-21, $2,908 in 2021-22, $3,238 in 2022-23.

East Porter County School Corp teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,713, 2019-20: $2,891, 2020-21: $2,895, 2021-22: $2,908, 2022-23: $3,23801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7132019-20$2,8912020-21$2,8952021-22$2,9082022-23$3,238
East Porter County School Corp teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,713, 2019-20: $2,891, 2020-21: $2,895, 2021-22: $2,908, 2022-23: $3,23801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7132019-20$2,8912020-21$2,8952021-22$2,9082022-23$3,238
East Porter County School Corp teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,713, 2019-20: $2,891, 2020-21: $2,895, 2021-22: $2,908, 2022-23: $3,23801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7132019-20$2,8912020-21$2,8952021-22$2,9082022-23$3,238
East Porter County School Corp teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,713, 2019-20: $2,891, 2020-21: $2,895, 2021-22: $2,908, 2022-23: $3,23801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7132019-20$2,8912020-21$2,8952021-22$2,9082022-23$3,238

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in East Porter County School Corp scored proficient or above: 53% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIndianaStudents tested
Math53%37.5%1,311

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 192 students in East Porter County School Corp's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIndiana
Four-year graduation rate95% or more88.1%
Students in the class19277,216

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 998 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Washington Twp Elementary School33915.123.9%Targeted program
Morgan Township Elementary School33615.610.7%Not Title I
Kouts Elementary School32313.519.8%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 1,277 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Washington Twp Middle/High School45614.023.9%Eligible, no program
Morgan Township Middle/High School44014.29.5%Not Title I
Kouts Middle/High School38113.913.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact East Porter County School Corp

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about East Porter County School Corp

  1. Indiana districts by spending per studentEast Porter County School Corp ranks 208 of 240 Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,771).#208 of 240
  2. Every school district in IndianaEast Porter County School Corp is the number 113 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 2,408 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#113 of 414
  3. West Lafayette Community School CorporationThe next larger Indiana district: 2,420 students in fall 2022, $14,344 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,344
  4. Hamilton Heights School CorpThe next smaller Indiana district: 2,307 students in fall 2022, $11,383 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,383
  5. Compare East Porter County School Corp with West Lafayette Community School CorporationEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Washington Twp Middle/High School, its largest high school456 students in 2024-25, 14.0 per teacher.456
  7. Teacher salary spending across IndianaEast Porter County School Corp spent $50,630 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$50,630
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about East Porter County School Corp

  1. How many schools and students are in East Porter County School Corp?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 3 high), enrolling 2,275 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does East Porter County School Corp spend per student?
    $10,771 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,329 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,482 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does East Porter County School Corp's money come from?
    $37,154,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 57.6% state, 38.3% local and 4.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in East Porter County School Corp live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 131 of the 2,443 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does East Porter County School Corp spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,797,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,238 per student. Divided by the 154 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,630 per teacher, more than 45 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in East Porter County School Corp do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in East Porter County School Corp scored proficient or above: 53% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in East Porter County School Corp?
    95% or more of the 192 students in East Porter County School Corp's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is East Porter County School Corp's NCES district ID?
    1809000. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25