Cumberland County

Public school district · Cumberland County · Kentucky · NCES district ID 2101410

Cumberland County spent $14,520 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 75% of the other Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,912). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,011 students in 2024-25; 71.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,023 per student, down 3.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Kentucky: 91.4%).

Spending per student among Kentucky districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Cumberland County in enrollment (955 to 1,086 students) and Cumberland County itself.

Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Cumberland County, FY23Menifee County Schools $17,406; Berea Independent $17,169; Livingston County $16,842; Ballard County Schools $15,101; Elliott County $14,699; Cumberland County $14,520; Frankfort Independent Schools $14,347; Hazard Independent Schools $14,329; Lyon County Schools $12,723; Eminence Independent $12,236; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16k18kMenifee County Schools$17,406Berea Independent$17,169Livingston County$16,842Ballard County Schools$15,101Elliott County$14,699Cumberland County$14,520Frankfort Independent Schools$14,347Hazard Independent Schools$14,329Lyon County Schools$12,723Eminence Independent$12,236State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Cumberland County, FY23Menifee County Schools $17,406; Berea Independent $17,169; Livingston County $16,842; Ballard County Schools $15,101; Elliott County $14,699; Cumberland County $14,520; Frankfort Independent Schools $14,347; Hazard Independent Schools $14,329; Lyon County Schools $12,723; Eminence Independent $12,236; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16k18kMenifee County Schools$17,406Berea Independent$17,169Livingston County$16,842Ballard County Schools$15,101Elliott County$14,699Cumberland County$14,520Frankfort Independent Schools$14,347Hazard Independent Schools$14,329Lyon County Schools$12,723Eminence Independent$12,236State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Cumberland County, FY23Menifee County Schools $17,406; Berea Independent $17,169; Livingston County $16,842; Ballard County Schools $15,101; Elliott County $14,699; Cumberland County $14,520; Frankfort Independent Schools $14,347; Hazard Independent Schools $14,329; Lyon County Schools $12,723; Eminence Independent $12,236; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k14k18kMenifee County Schools$17,406Berea Independent$17,169Livingston County$16,842Ballard County Schools$15,101Elliott County$14,699Cumberland County$14,520Frankfort Independent Schools$14,347Hazard Independent Schools$14,329Lyon County Schools$12,723Eminence Independent$12,236State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Cumberland County, FY23Menifee County Schools $17,406; Berea Independent $17,169; Livingston County $16,842; Ballard County Schools $15,101; Elliott County $14,699; Cumberland County $14,520; Frankfort Independent Schools $14,347; Hazard Independent Schools $14,329; Lyon County Schools $12,723; Eminence Independent $12,236; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k14k18kMenifee County Schools$17,406Berea Independent$17,169Livingston County$16,842Ballard County Schools$15,101Elliott County$14,699Cumberland County$14,520Frankfort Independent Schools$14,347Hazard Independent Schools$14,329Lyon County Schools$12,723Eminence Independent$12,236State median, 1,000+ students $13,912

Where the money came from

$30,420,000 in revenue: 71.7% state, 13.0% local and 15.3% federal. Total spending including $1,094,000 of capital outlay was $16,357,000, or $16,292 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Cumberland County revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $21,801,000; Local $3,962,000; Federal $4,657,000; total $30,420,000.
  • State$21,801,000 72%
  • Local$3,962,000 13%
  • Federal$4,657,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 137 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,004 students in 2022-23, 1,018 students in 2023-24, 1,011 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Cumberland County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,004, 2023-24: 1,018, 2024-25: 1,01105001k1.5k2022-231,0042023-241,0182024-251,011
Cumberland County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,004, 2023-24: 1,018, 2024-25: 1,01105001k1.5k2022-231,0042023-241,0182024-251,011
Cumberland County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,004, 2023-24: 1,018, 2024-25: 1,01105001k1.5k2022-231,0042023-241,0182024-251,011
Cumberland County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,004, 2023-24: 1,018, 2024-25: 1,01105001k1.5k2022-231,0042023-241,0182024-251,011

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,00466.015.2
2023-241,01865.015.7
2024-251,01166.215.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,313,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,300 per student

Cumberland County booked $3,313,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 66 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,197 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 10 in 100 Kentucky districts with a figure (state median $56,497, 171 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,550,00077.0%
Special education$484,00014.6%
Vocational$54,0001.6%
Other programs$225,0006.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,127 in 2018-19, $3,219 in 2019-20, $3,110 in 2020-21, $3,437 in 2021-22, $3,300 in 2022-23.

Cumberland County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,219, 2020-21: $3,110, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,30001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,2192020-21$3,1102021-22$3,4372022-23$3,300
Cumberland County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,219, 2020-21: $3,110, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,30001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,2192020-21$3,1102021-22$3,4372022-23$3,300
Cumberland County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,219, 2020-21: $3,110, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,30001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,2192020-21$3,1102021-22$3,4372022-23$3,300
Cumberland County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,219, 2020-21: $3,110, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,30001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,2192020-21$3,1102021-22$3,4372022-23$3,300

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Cumberland County scored proficient or above: 45% in reading and 41% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kentucky, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKentuckyStudents tested
Reading and language arts45%44.7%469
Math41%37.8%469

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 65 students in Cumberland County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKentucky
Four-year graduation rate95% or more91.4%
Students in the class6549,023

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 501 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland County Elementary School50115.071.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 220 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland County Middle School22015.874.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 290 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland County High School29015.571.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Cumberland County

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Cumberland County

  1. Kentucky districts by spending per studentCumberland County ranks 35 of 137 Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,520).#35 of 137
  2. Every school district in KentuckyCumberland County is the number 137 by size of 174 Kentucky districts, with 1,004 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#137 of 174
  3. Hazard Independent SchoolsThe next larger Kentucky district: 1,030 students in fall 2022, $14,329 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,329
  4. Lyon County SchoolsThe next smaller Kentucky district: 998 students in fall 2022, $12,723 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,723
  5. Compare Cumberland County with Hazard Independent SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Cumberland County High School, its largest high school290 students in 2024-25, 15.5 per teacher.290
  7. Teacher salary spending across KentuckyCumberland County spent $50,197 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $56,497); spending, not a salary.$50,197
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Cumberland County

  1. How many schools and students are in Cumberland County?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,011 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Cumberland County spend per student?
    $14,520 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kentucky median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,912 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,023 per student, down 3.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Cumberland County's money come from?
    $30,420,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 71.7% state, 13.0% local and 15.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Cumberland County live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 283 of the 1,004 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 28.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Cumberland County spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,313,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,300 per student. Divided by the 66 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,197 per teacher, more than 10 in 100 Kentucky districts (state median $56,497). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Cumberland County do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Cumberland County scored proficient or above: 45% in reading and 41% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Kentucky's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Cumberland County?
    95% or more of the 65 students in Cumberland County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Cumberland County's NCES district ID?
    2101410. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25