Circle City Prep Charter School
Public school district · Marion County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1800181
Circle City Prep Charter School spent $15,087 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 69% of the other Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,033). Its one school enrolled 321 students in 2024-25; 66.6% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Circle City Prep Charter School in enrollment (301 to 337 students) and Circle City Prep Charter School itself.
Where the money came from
$5,482,000 in revenue: 66.6% state, 7.1% local and 26.4% federal. Total spending including $388,000 of capital outlay was $5,514,000, or $17,178 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$3,650,000 67%
- Local$387,000 7%
- Federal$1,445,000 26%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 165 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
321 students in 2022-23, 338 students in 2023-24, 321 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 321 | not reported | not reported |
| 2023-24 | 338 | not reported | not reported |
| 2024-25 | 321 | 20.0 | 16.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Circle City Prep Charter School scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Indiana | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 20-24% | 41.3% | 97 |
| Math | 30-34% | 37.5% | 97 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 321 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circle City Preparatory Elementary School | 321 | 16.1 | 90.7% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Circle City Prep Charter School
- Phone: (317) 643-4209
- Office: 4002 N Franklin Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46226
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Circle City Prep Charter School
- Indiana districts by spending per studentCircle City Prep Charter School ranks 52 of 165 Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,087).#52 of 165
- Every school district in IndianaCircle City Prep Charter School is the number 347 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 321 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#347 of 414
- Excel Center - LafayetteThe next larger Indiana district: 322 students in fall 2022, $4,339 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$4,339
- Indiana Agriculture and TechnologyThe next smaller Indiana district: 312 students in fall 2022, $7,083 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$7,083
- Compare Circle City Prep Charter School with Excel Center - LafayetteEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Circle City Prep Charter School
How many schools and students are in Circle City Prep Charter School?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 321 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Circle City Prep Charter School spend per student?
$15,087 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,033 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Circle City Prep Charter School's money come from?
$5,482,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.6% state, 7.1% local and 26.4% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in Circle City Prep Charter School do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Circle City Prep Charter School scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Circle City Prep Charter School's NCES district ID?
1800181. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25