Charlton Heston Academy

Public school district · Roscommon County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2601028

Charlton Heston Academy spent $13,258 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 63% of the other Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,091). Its one school enrolled 716 students in 2024-25; 45.3% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Charlton Heston Academy in enrollment (758 to 777 students) and Charlton Heston Academy itself.

Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Charlton Heston Academy, FY23Center Line Preparatory Academy $38,970; Riverside Academy East $16,477; Atherton Community Schools $15,194; Countryside Academy $13,487; Charlton Heston Academy $13,258; Carson City-Crystal Area Schools $13,026; Quest Charter Academy $12,130; Triumph Academy $11,794; Chandler Woods Charter Academy $10,558; Washtenaw Technical Middle College $10,192; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.010k20k30k40kCenter Line Preparatory Academy$38,970Riverside Academy East$16,477Atherton Community Schools$15,194Countryside Academy$13,487Charlton Heston Academy$13,258Carson City-Crystal Area Schoo…$13,026Quest Charter Academy$12,130Triumph Academy$11,794Chandler Woods Charter Academy$10,558Washtenaw Technical Middle Col…$10,192State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Charlton Heston Academy, FY23Center Line Preparatory Academy $38,970; Riverside Academy East $16,477; Atherton Community Schools $15,194; Countryside Academy $13,487; Charlton Heston Academy $13,258; Carson City-Crystal Area Schools $13,026; Quest Charter Academy $12,130; Triumph Academy $11,794; Chandler Woods Charter Academy $10,558; Washtenaw Technical Middle College $10,192; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.010k20k30k40kCenter Line Preparatory Academy$38,970Riverside Academy East$16,477Atherton Community Schools$15,194Countryside Academy$13,487Charlton Heston Academy$13,258Carson City-Crystal Area Schools$13,026Quest Charter Academy$12,130Triumph Academy$11,794Chandler Woods Charter Academy$10,558Washtenaw Technical Middle College$10,192State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Charlton Heston Academy, FY23Center Line Preparatory Academy $38,970; Riverside Academy East $16,477; Atherton Community Schools $15,194; Countryside Academy $13,487; Charlton Heston Academy $13,258; Carson City-Crystal Area Schools $13,026; Quest Charter Academy $12,130; Triumph Academy $11,794; Chandler Woods Charter Academy $10,558; Washtenaw Technical Middle College $10,192; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.020k40kCenter Line Preparatory Academy$38,970Riverside Academy East$16,477Atherton Community Schools$15,194Countryside Academy$13,487Charlton Heston Academy$13,258Carson City-Crystal Area Schools$13,026Quest Charter Academy$12,130Triumph Academy$11,794Chandler Woods Charter Academy$10,558Washtenaw Technical Middle College$10,192State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Charlton Heston Academy, FY23Center Line Preparatory Academy $38,970; Riverside Academy East $16,477; Atherton Community Schools $15,194; Countryside Academy $13,487; Charlton Heston Academy $13,258; Carson City-Crystal Area Schools $13,026; Quest Charter Academy $12,130; Triumph Academy $11,794; Chandler Woods Charter Academy $10,558; Washtenaw Technical Middle College $10,192; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.020k40kCenter Line Preparatory Academy$38,970Riverside Academy East$16,477Atherton Community Schools$15,194Countryside Academy$13,487Charlton Heston Academy$13,258Carson City-Crystal Area Schools$13,026Quest Charter Academy$12,130Triumph Academy$11,794Chandler Woods Charter Academy$10,558Washtenaw Technical Middle College$10,192State median, under 1,000 students $14,091

Where the money came from

$17,081,000 in revenue: 45.3% state, 38.4% local and 16.3% federal. Total spending including $6,591,000 of capital outlay was $17,584,000, or $22,926 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Charlton Heston Academy revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,740,000; Local $6,555,000; Federal $2,786,000; total $17,081,000.
  • State$7,740,000 45%
  • Local$6,555,000 38%
  • Federal$2,786,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 465 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

767 students in 2022-23, 752 students in 2023-24, 716 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Charlton Heston Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 767, 2023-24: 752, 2024-25: 71602004006008002022-237672023-247522024-25716
Charlton Heston Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 767, 2023-24: 752, 2024-25: 71602004006008002022-237672023-247522024-25716
Charlton Heston Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 767, 2023-24: 752, 2024-25: 71602004006008002022-237672023-247522024-25716
Charlton Heston Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 767, 2023-24: 752, 2024-25: 71602004006008002022-237672023-247522024-25716

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23767not reportednot reported
2023-2475271.110.6
2024-2571690.47.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Charlton Heston Academy scored proficient or above: 24-33% in reading and 9-18% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts24-33%44%311
Math9-18%34%312

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-79% of the 43 students in Charlton Heston Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate70‑79%81.8%
Students in the class43115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 other school, 716 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Charlton Heston Academy7167.969.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Charlton Heston Academy

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Charlton Heston Academy

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentCharlton Heston Academy ranks 291 of 465 Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,258).#291 of 465
  2. Every school district in MichiganCharlton Heston Academy is the number 437 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 767 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#437 of 892
  3. Chandler Woods Charter AcademyThe next larger Michigan district: 773 students in fall 2022, $10,558 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,558
  4. Quest Charter AcademyThe next smaller Michigan district: 762 students in fall 2022, $12,130 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,130
  5. Compare Charlton Heston Academy with Chandler Woods Charter AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Charlton Heston Academy

  1. How many schools and students are in Charlton Heston Academy?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 716 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Charlton Heston Academy spend per student?
    $13,258 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Charlton Heston Academy's money come from?
    $17,081,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 45.3% state, 38.4% local and 16.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Charlton Heston Academy do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Charlton Heston Academy scored proficient or above: 24-33% in reading and 9-18% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is the graduation rate in Charlton Heston Academy?
    70-79% of the 43 students in Charlton Heston Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  6. What is Charlton Heston Academy's NCES district ID?
    2601028. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25