Caston School Corporation

Public school district · Fulton County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1801410

Caston School Corporation spent $11,362 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 73% of the other Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,033). Its 2 schools enrolled 816 students in 2024-25; 65.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,468 per student, up 9.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Indiana: 88.1%).

Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Caston School Corporation in enrollment (825 to 862 students) and Caston School Corporation itself.

Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Caston School Corporation, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; Northeast Dubois County School Corporation $14,221; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com $13,344; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760Northeast Dubois County School…$14,221South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com$13,344Springs Valley Community Schoo…$13,033Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Caston School Corporation, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; Northeast Dubois County School Corporation $14,221; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com $13,344; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760Northeast Dubois County School Corp…$14,221South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com$13,344Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Caston School Corporation, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; Northeast Dubois County School Corporation $14,221; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com $13,344; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760Northeast Dubois County School Corporation$14,221South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com$13,344Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Caston School Corporation, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; Northeast Dubois County School Corporation $14,221; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com $13,344; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760Northeast Dubois County School Corporat…$14,221South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Rising Sun-Ohio Co Com$13,344Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033

Where the money came from

$11,587,000 in revenue: 65.8% state, 29.0% local and 5.1% federal. Total spending including $1,520,000 of capital outlay was $11,247,000, or $13,469 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Caston School Corporation revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,626,000; Local $3,365,000; Federal $596,000; total $11,587,000.
  • State$7,626,000 66%
  • Local$3,365,000 29%
  • Federal$596,000 5%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 165 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

835 students in 2022-23, 848 students in 2023-24, 816 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Caston School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 835, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 81602505007501k2022-238352023-248482024-25816
Caston School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 835, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 81602505007501k2022-238352023-248482024-25816
Caston School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 835, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 81602505007501k2022-238352023-248482024-25816
Caston School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 835, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 81602505007501k2022-238352023-248482024-25816

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2383554.015.5
2023-2484858.014.6
2024-2581660.013.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,544,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,047 per student

Caston School Corporation booked $2,544,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 54 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,111 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 24 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,135,00083.9%
Special education$247,0009.7%
Vocational$153,0006.0%
Other programs$9,0000.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,659 in 2018-19, $2,772 in 2019-20, $3,050 in 2020-21, $3,129 in 2021-22, $3,047 in 2022-23.

Caston School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,659, 2019-20: $2,772, 2020-21: $3,050, 2021-22: $3,129, 2022-23: $3,04701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6592019-20$2,7722020-21$3,0502021-22$3,1292022-23$3,047
Caston School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,659, 2019-20: $2,772, 2020-21: $3,050, 2021-22: $3,129, 2022-23: $3,04701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6592019-20$2,7722020-21$3,0502021-22$3,1292022-23$3,047
Caston School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,659, 2019-20: $2,772, 2020-21: $3,050, 2021-22: $3,129, 2022-23: $3,04701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6592019-20$2,7722020-21$3,0502021-22$3,1292022-23$3,047
Caston School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,659, 2019-20: $2,772, 2020-21: $3,050, 2021-22: $3,129, 2022-23: $3,04701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6592019-20$2,7722020-21$3,0502021-22$3,1292022-23$3,047

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Caston School Corporation scored proficient or above: 23% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIndianaStudents tested
Math23%37.5%420

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 59 students in Caston School Corporation's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIndiana
Four-year graduation rate90% or more88.1%
Students in the class5977,216

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 381 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Caston Elementary School38114.753.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 435 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Caston Jr-Sr High School43512.848.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Caston School Corporation

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Caston School Corporation

  1. Indiana districts by spending per studentCaston School Corporation ranks 121 of 165 Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,362).#121 of 165
  2. Every school district in IndianaCaston School Corporation is the number 269 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 835 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#269 of 414
  3. Edinburgh Community School CorpThe next larger Indiana district: 837 students in fall 2022, $11,185 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,185
  4. Northeast Dubois County School CorporationThe next smaller Indiana district: 834 students in fall 2022, $14,221 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,221
  5. Compare Caston School Corporation with Edinburgh Community School CorpEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Caston Jr-Sr High School, its largest high school435 students in 2024-25, 12.8 per teacher.435
  7. Teacher salary spending across IndianaCaston School Corporation spent $47,111 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$47,111
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Caston School Corporation

  1. How many schools and students are in Caston School Corporation?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 816 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Caston School Corporation spend per student?
    $11,362 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,033 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,468 per student, up 9.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Caston School Corporation's money come from?
    $11,587,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 65.8% state, 29.0% local and 5.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Caston School Corporation live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 92 of the 717 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Caston School Corporation spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,544,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,047 per student. Divided by the 54 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,111 per teacher, more than 24 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Caston School Corporation do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Caston School Corporation scored proficient or above: 23% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Caston School Corporation?
    90% or more of the 59 students in Caston School Corporation's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Caston School Corporation's NCES district ID?
    1801410. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25