Brookings School District 05-1

Public school district · Brookings County · South Dakota · NCES district ID 4608520

Brookings School District 05-1 spent $11,811 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 83% of the other South Dakota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,886). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,465 students in 2024-25; 36.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,882 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 86% (South Dakota: 84%).

Spending per student among South Dakota's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Brookings School District 05-1 ranks 2.

Current spending per student, largest South Dakota districts, FY23Huron School District 02-2 $12,082; Brookings School District 05-1 $11,811; Sioux Falls $11,456; Harrisburg $11,031; Yankton School District 63-3 $10,904; Aberdeen School District 06-1 $10,673; Watertown $10,402; Rapid City Area Schools $10,377; Brandon Valley School District 49-2 $10,306; Meade School District 46-1 $9,885; State median, 1,000+ students $10,886.8k10k12k14kHuron School District 02-2$12,082Brookings School District 05-1$11,811Sioux Falls$11,456Harrisburg$11,031Yankton School District 63-3$10,904Aberdeen School District 06-1$10,673Watertown$10,402Rapid City Area Schools$10,377Brandon Valley School District…$10,306Meade School District 46-1$9,885State median, 1,000+ students $10,886
Current spending per student, largest South Dakota districts, FY23Huron School District 02-2 $12,082; Brookings School District 05-1 $11,811; Sioux Falls $11,456; Harrisburg $11,031; Yankton School District 63-3 $10,904; Aberdeen School District 06-1 $10,673; Watertown $10,402; Rapid City Area Schools $10,377; Brandon Valley School District 49-2 $10,306; Meade School District 46-1 $9,885; State median, 1,000+ students $10,886.8k10k12k14kHuron School District 02-2$12,082Brookings School District 05-1$11,811Sioux Falls$11,456Harrisburg$11,031Yankton School District 63-3$10,904Aberdeen School District 06-1$10,673Watertown$10,402Rapid City Area Schools$10,377Brandon Valley School District 49-2$10,306Meade School District 46-1$9,885State median, 1,000+ students $10,886
Current spending per student, largest South Dakota districts, FY23Huron School District 02-2 $12,082; Brookings School District 05-1 $11,811; Sioux Falls $11,456; Harrisburg $11,031; Yankton School District 63-3 $10,904; Aberdeen School District 06-1 $10,673; Watertown $10,402; Rapid City Area Schools $10,377; Brandon Valley School District 49-2 $10,306; Meade School District 46-1 $9,885; State median, 1,000+ students $10,886.8k10k12k14kHuron School District 02-2$12,082Brookings School District 05-1$11,811Sioux Falls$11,456Harrisburg$11,031Yankton School District 63-3$10,904Aberdeen School District 06-1$10,673Watertown$10,402Rapid City Area Schools$10,377Brandon Valley School District 49-2$10,306Meade School District 46-1$9,885State median, 1,000+ students $10,886
Current spending per student, largest South Dakota districts, FY23Huron School District 02-2 $12,082; Brookings School District 05-1 $11,811; Sioux Falls $11,456; Harrisburg $11,031; Yankton School District 63-3 $10,904; Aberdeen School District 06-1 $10,673; Watertown $10,402; Rapid City Area Schools $10,377; Brandon Valley School District 49-2 $10,306; Meade School District 46-1 $9,885; State median, 1,000+ students $10,886.8k10k12k14kHuron School District 02-2$12,082Brookings School District 05-1$11,811Sioux Falls$11,456Harrisburg$11,031Yankton School District 63-3$10,904Aberdeen School District 06-1$10,673Watertown$10,402Rapid City Area Schools$10,377Brandon Valley School District 49-2$10,306Meade School District 46-1$9,885State median, 1,000+ students $10,886

Where the money came from

$49,289,000 in revenue: 36.5% state, 54.9% local and 8.5% federal. Total spending including $8,905,000 of capital outlay was $52,089,000, or $15,182 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Brookings School District 05-1 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,993,000; Local $27,084,000; Federal $4,212,000; total $49,289,000.
  • State$17,993,000 37%
  • Local$27,084,000 55%
  • Federal$4,212,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 24 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,431 students in 2022-23, 3,446 students in 2023-24, 3,465 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Brookings School District 05-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,431, 2023-24: 3,446, 2024-25: 3,46501k2k3k4k2022-233,4312023-243,4462024-253,465
Brookings School District 05-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,431, 2023-24: 3,446, 2024-25: 3,46501k2k3k4k2022-233,4312023-243,4462024-253,465
Brookings School District 05-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,431, 2023-24: 3,446, 2024-25: 3,46501k2k3k4k2022-233,4312023-243,4462024-253,465
Brookings School District 05-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,431, 2023-24: 3,446, 2024-25: 3,46501k2k3k4k2022-233,4312023-243,4462024-253,465

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,431236.914.5
2023-243,446246.914.0
2024-253,465230.115.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$12,747,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,715 per student

Brookings School District 05-1 booked $12,747,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 237 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,796 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 84 in 100 South Dakota districts with a figure (state median $49,840, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$10,548,00082.7%
Special education$1,230,0009.6%
Vocational$331,0002.6%
Other programs$638,0005.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,248 in 2018-19, $3,301 in 2019-20, $3,497 in 2020-21, $3,535 in 2021-22, $3,715 in 2022-23.

Brookings School District 05-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,248, 2019-20: $3,301, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,535, 2022-23: $3,71501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2482019-20$3,3012020-21$3,4972021-22$3,5352022-23$3,715
Brookings School District 05-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,248, 2019-20: $3,301, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,535, 2022-23: $3,71501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2482019-20$3,3012020-21$3,4972021-22$3,5352022-23$3,715
Brookings School District 05-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,248, 2019-20: $3,301, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,535, 2022-23: $3,71501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2482019-20$3,3012020-21$3,4972021-22$3,5352022-23$3,715
Brookings School District 05-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,248, 2019-20: $3,301, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,535, 2022-23: $3,71501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2482019-20$3,3012020-21$3,4972021-22$3,5352022-23$3,715

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Brookings School District 05-1 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 36% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within South Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtSouth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%51%1,783
Math36%42.2%1,784

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

86% of the 246 students in Brookings School District 05-1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtSouth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate86%84%
Students in the class2469,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,706 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Camelot Intermediate - 0652317.216.3%Targeted program
Dakota Prairie Elementary - 0750914.67.9%Targeted program
Medary Elementary - 0535812.623.7%Schoolwide program
Hillcrest Elementary - 0431613.519.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 780 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
George S. Mickelson Middle School - 0278014.315.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 979 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Brookings High School - 0197916.712.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Brookings School District 05-1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Brookings School District 05-1

  1. South Dakota districts by spending per studentBrookings School District 05-1 ranks 5 of 24 South Dakota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,811).#5 of 24
  2. Every school district in South DakotaBrookings School District 05-1 is the number 7 by size of 150 South Dakota districts, with 3,431 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#7 of 150
  3. Watertown School DistrictThe next larger South Dakota district: 3,803 students in fall 2022, $10,402 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,402
  4. Meade School District 46-1The next smaller South Dakota district: 3,058 students in fall 2022, $9,885 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,885
  5. Compare Brookings School District 05-1 with Watertown School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Brookings High School - 01, its largest high school979 students in 2024-25, 16.7 per teacher.979
  7. Teacher salary spending across South DakotaBrookings School District 05-1 spent $53,796 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,840); spending, not a salary.$53,796
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Brookings School District 05-1

  1. How many schools and students are in Brookings School District 05-1?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,465 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Brookings School District 05-1 spend per student?
    $11,811 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the South Dakota median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,886 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,882 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Brookings School District 05-1's money come from?
    $49,289,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 36.5% state, 54.9% local and 8.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Brookings School District 05-1 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 255 of the 4,087 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Brookings School District 05-1 spend on teacher salaries?
    $12,747,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,715 per student. Divided by the 237 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,796 per teacher, more than 84 in 100 South Dakota districts (state median $49,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Brookings School District 05-1 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Brookings School District 05-1 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 36% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. South Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Brookings School District 05-1?
    86% of the 246 students in Brookings School District 05-1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Brookings School District 05-1's NCES district ID?
    4608520. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25