Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District
Public school district · Saginaw County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2606780
Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District spent $14,375 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 55% of the other Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,214). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,448 students in 2024-25; 54.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,234 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-74% (Michigan: 81.8%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bridgeport-Spaulding Community in enrollment (1,424 to 1,480 students) and Bridgeport-Spaulding Community itself.
Where the money came from
$26,833,000 in revenue: 54.6% state, 16.3% local and 29.1% federal. Total spending including $12,438,000 of capital outlay was $33,797,000, or $23,276 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$14,658,000 55%
- Local$4,375,000 16%
- Federal$7,800,000 29%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 347 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,434 students in 2022-23, 1,453 students in 2023-24, 1,448 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,434 | 72.9 | 19.7 |
| 2023-24 | 1,453 | 68.9 | 21.1 |
| 2024-25 | 1,448 | 73.9 | 19.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$4,521,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,114 per student
Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District booked $4,521,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 73 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $62,016 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 48 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $3,729,000 | 82.5% |
| Special education | $792,000 | 17.5% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,509 in 2018-19, $2,626 in 2019-20, $2,475 in 2020-21, $2,597 in 2021-22, $3,114 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District scored proficient or above: 15-19% in reading and 5-9% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Michigan | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 15-19% | 44% | 595 |
| Math | 5-9% | 34% | 593 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
70-74% of the 137 students in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Michigan | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 70‑74% | 81.8% |
| Students in the class | 137 | 115,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 568 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Martin G Atkins Elementary School | 381 | 17.2 | 95.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Thomas White School | 187 | 21.3 | 94.7% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 379 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BridgeportSpaulding Middle SchoolSchrah | 379 | 17.4 | 94.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 501 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgeport High School | 501 | 23.7 | 89.2% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District
- Website: gobearcats.net
- Phone: (989) 777-1770
- Office: 4691 Bearcat Blvd, Bridgeport, MI 48722
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District
- Michigan districts by spending per studentBridgeport-Spaulding Community School District ranks 157 of 347 Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,375).#157 of 347
- Every school district in MichiganBridgeport-Spaulding Community School District is the number 269 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 1,452 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#269 of 892
- Westfield AcademyThe next larger Michigan district: 1,463 students in fall 2022, $11,905 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,905
- Benton Harbor Area SchoolsThe next smaller Michigan district: 1,448 students in fall 2022, $20,390 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,390
- Compare Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District with Westfield AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Bridgeport High School, its largest high school501 students in 2024-25, 23.7 per teacher.501
- Teacher salary spending across MichiganBridgeport-Spaulding Community School District spent $62,016 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$62,016
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District
How many schools and students are in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District?
4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,448 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District spend per student?
$14,375 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,214 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,234 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District's money come from?
$26,833,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 54.6% state, 16.3% local and 29.1% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 701 of the 2,321 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 30.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District spend on teacher salaries?
$4,521,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,114 per student. Divided by the 73 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $62,016 per teacher, more than 48 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District scored proficient or above: 15-19% in reading and 5-9% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District?
70-74% of the 137 students in Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District's NCES district ID?
2606780. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25