Brandon-Evansville Public Schools

Public school district · Douglas County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2700382

Brandon-Evansville Public Schools spent $13,123 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 78% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,094). Its 4 schools enrolled 552 students in 2024-25; 59.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,401 per student, up 2.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Brandon-Evansville Public Schools in enrollment (523 to 547 students) and Brandon-Evansville Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Brandon-Evansville Public Schools, FY23St. Paul City School $22,794; Partnership Academy Inc. $19,543; Ely Public Schools $16,585; Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School $14,761; Parkers Prairie Public Schools $14,673; Beacon Academy $14,298; Brandon-Evansville Public Schools $13,123; Kingsland Public Schools $12,867; Stride Academy Charter School $12,618; Kaleidoscope Charter School $11,695; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kSt. Paul City School$22,794Partnership Academy Inc.$19,543Ely Public Schools$16,585Academia Cesar Chavez Charter …$14,761Parkers Prairie Public Schools$14,673Beacon Academy$14,298Brandon-Evansville Public Scho…$13,123Kingsland Public Schools$12,867Stride Academy Charter School$12,618Kaleidoscope Charter School$11,695State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Brandon-Evansville Public Schools, FY23St. Paul City School $22,794; Partnership Academy Inc. $19,543; Ely Public Schools $16,585; Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School $14,761; Parkers Prairie Public Schools $14,673; Beacon Academy $14,298; Brandon-Evansville Public Schools $13,123; Kingsland Public Schools $12,867; Stride Academy Charter School $12,618; Kaleidoscope Charter School $11,695; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kSt. Paul City School$22,794Partnership Academy Inc.$19,543Ely Public Schools$16,585Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School$14,761Parkers Prairie Public Schools$14,673Beacon Academy$14,298Brandon-Evansville Public Schools$13,123Kingsland Public Schools$12,867Stride Academy Charter School$12,618Kaleidoscope Charter School$11,695State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Brandon-Evansville Public Schools, FY23St. Paul City School $22,794; Partnership Academy Inc. $19,543; Ely Public Schools $16,585; Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School $14,761; Parkers Prairie Public Schools $14,673; Beacon Academy $14,298; Brandon-Evansville Public Schools $13,123; Kingsland Public Schools $12,867; Stride Academy Charter School $12,618; Kaleidoscope Charter School $11,695; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kSt. Paul City School$22,794Partnership Academy Inc.$19,543Ely Public Schools$16,585Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School$14,761Parkers Prairie Public Schools$14,673Beacon Academy$14,298Brandon-Evansville Public Schools$13,123Kingsland Public Schools$12,867Stride Academy Charter School$12,618Kaleidoscope Charter School$11,695State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Brandon-Evansville Public Schools, FY23St. Paul City School $22,794; Partnership Academy Inc. $19,543; Ely Public Schools $16,585; Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School $14,761; Parkers Prairie Public Schools $14,673; Beacon Academy $14,298; Brandon-Evansville Public Schools $13,123; Kingsland Public Schools $12,867; Stride Academy Charter School $12,618; Kaleidoscope Charter School $11,695; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kSt. Paul City School$22,794Partnership Academy Inc.$19,543Ely Public Schools$16,585Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School$14,761Parkers Prairie Public Schools$14,673Beacon Academy$14,298Brandon-Evansville Public Schools$13,123Kingsland Public Schools$12,867Stride Academy Charter School$12,618Kaleidoscope Charter School$11,695State median, under 1,000 students $15,094

Where the money came from

$9,458,000 in revenue: 59.4% state, 33.2% local and 7.4% federal. Total spending including $6,959,000 of capital outlay was $15,291,000, or $28,581 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Brandon-Evansville Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,621,000; Local $3,136,000; Federal $701,000; total $9,458,000.
  • State$5,621,000 59%
  • Local$3,136,000 33%
  • Federal$701,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

535 students in 2022-23, 556 students in 2023-24, 552 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Brandon-Evansville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 535, 2023-24: 556, 2024-25: 55202004006002022-235352023-245562024-25552
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 535, 2023-24: 556, 2024-25: 55202004006002022-235352023-245562024-25552
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 535, 2023-24: 556, 2024-25: 55202004006002022-235352023-245562024-25552
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 535, 2023-24: 556, 2024-25: 55202004006002022-235352023-245562024-25552

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2353531.816.9
2023-2455633.716.5
2024-2555236.915.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,547,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,761 per student

Brandon-Evansville Public Schools booked $2,547,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 32 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $79,793 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 89 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,135,00083.8%
Special education$254,00010.0%
Vocational$90,0003.5%
Other programs$68,0002.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,895 in 2018-19, $4,024 in 2019-20, $4,123 in 2020-21, $4,584 in 2021-22, $4,761 in 2022-23.

Brandon-Evansville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,895, 2019-20: $4,024, 2020-21: $4,123, 2021-22: $4,584, 2022-23: $4,76102k4k6k2018-19$3,8952019-20$4,0242020-21$4,1232021-22$4,5842022-23$4,761
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,895, 2019-20: $4,024, 2020-21: $4,123, 2021-22: $4,584, 2022-23: $4,76102k4k6k2018-19$3,8952019-20$4,0242020-21$4,1232021-22$4,5842022-23$4,761
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,895, 2019-20: $4,024, 2020-21: $4,123, 2021-22: $4,584, 2022-23: $4,76102k4k6k2018-19$3,8952019-20$4,0242020-21$4,1232021-22$4,5842022-23$4,761
Brandon-Evansville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,895, 2019-20: $4,024, 2020-21: $4,123, 2021-22: $4,584, 2022-23: $4,76102k4k6k2018-19$3,8952019-20$4,0242020-21$4,1232021-22$4,5842022-23$4,761

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 49% in reading and 62% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts49%51.1%277
Math62%44.8%276

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 33 students in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate90% or more83.3%
Students in the class3369,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 270 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Evansville Elementary16319.425.2%Targeted program
Brandon Elementary1079.231.8%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 124 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Brandon-Evansville Middle School12418.425.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 158 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Brandon-Evansville High School15815.732.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Brandon-Evansville Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Brandon-Evansville Public Schools

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentBrandon-Evansville Public Schools ranks 269 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,123).#269 of 346
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaBrandon-Evansville Public Schools is the number 282 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 535 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#282 of 543
  3. St. Paul City SchoolThe next larger Minnesota district: 538 students in fall 2022, $22,794 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,794
  4. Kingsland Public SchoolsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 533 students in fall 2022, $12,867 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,867
  5. Compare Brandon-Evansville Public Schools with St. Paul City SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Brandon-Evansville High School, its largest high school158 students in 2024-25, 15.7 per teacher.158
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaBrandon-Evansville Public Schools spent $79,793 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$79,793
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Brandon-Evansville Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 552 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Brandon-Evansville Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,123 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,401 per student, up 2.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Brandon-Evansville Public Schools' money come from?
    $9,458,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.4% state, 33.2% local and 7.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 60 of the 641 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Brandon-Evansville Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,547,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,761 per student. Divided by the 32 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $79,793 per teacher, more than 89 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 49% in reading and 62% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools?
    90% or more of the 33 students in Brandon-Evansville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Brandon-Evansville Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2700382. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25