Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District

Listed by NCES as Bloomfield-Mespo Local (district ID 3905009)

Public school district · Trumbull County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3905009

Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District spent $24,451 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 91% of the other Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,201). Its 2 schools enrolled 198 students in 2024-25; 30.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,908 per student, down 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bloomfield-Mespo Local in enrollment (200 to 212 students) and Bloomfield-Mespo Local itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Bloomfield-Mespo Local, FY23Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers $79,254; Bloomfield-Mespo Local $24,451; YouthBuild Columbus Community School $24,053; South Scioto Academy $16,550; Imagine Columbus Primary School $15,801; Near West Intergenerational School $15,467; Intergenerational School The $15,148; Horizon Science Academy-Dayton $14,285; Stepstone Academy $14,261; AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati $11,114; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.020k40k60k80k100kVanguard-Sentinel Career & Tec…$79,254Bloomfield-Mespo Local$24,451YouthBuild Columbus Community …$24,053South Scioto Academy$16,550Imagine Columbus Primary School$15,801Near West Intergenerational Sc…$15,467Intergenerational School The$15,148Horizon Science Academy-Dayton$14,285Stepstone Academy$14,261AchievePoint Career Academy - …$11,114State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Bloomfield-Mespo Local, FY23Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers $79,254; Bloomfield-Mespo Local $24,451; YouthBuild Columbus Community School $24,053; South Scioto Academy $16,550; Imagine Columbus Primary School $15,801; Near West Intergenerational School $15,467; Intergenerational School The $15,148; Horizon Science Academy-Dayton $14,285; Stepstone Academy $14,261; AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati $11,114; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.020k40k60k80k100kVanguard-Sentinel Career & Technolo…$79,254Bloomfield-Mespo Local$24,451YouthBuild Columbus Community School$24,053South Scioto Academy$16,550Imagine Columbus Primary School$15,801Near West Intergenerational School$15,467Intergenerational School The$15,148Horizon Science Academy-Dayton$14,285Stepstone Academy$14,261AchievePoint Career Academy - Cinci…$11,114State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Bloomfield-Mespo Local, FY23Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers $79,254; Bloomfield-Mespo Local $24,451; YouthBuild Columbus Community School $24,053; South Scioto Academy $16,550; Imagine Columbus Primary School $15,801; Near West Intergenerational School $15,467; Intergenerational School The $15,148; Horizon Science Academy-Dayton $14,285; Stepstone Academy $14,261; AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati $11,114; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.040k80k100kVanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Cente…$79,254Bloomfield-Mespo Local$24,451YouthBuild Columbus Community School$24,053South Scioto Academy$16,550Imagine Columbus Primary School$15,801Near West Intergenerational School$15,467Intergenerational School The$15,148Horizon Science Academy-Dayton$14,285Stepstone Academy$14,261AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati$11,114State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Bloomfield-Mespo Local, FY23Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers $79,254; Bloomfield-Mespo Local $24,451; YouthBuild Columbus Community School $24,053; South Scioto Academy $16,550; Imagine Columbus Primary School $15,801; Near West Intergenerational School $15,467; Intergenerational School The $15,148; Horizon Science Academy-Dayton $14,285; Stepstone Academy $14,261; AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati $11,114; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.040k80k100kVanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology C…$79,254Bloomfield-Mespo Local$24,451YouthBuild Columbus Community School$24,053South Scioto Academy$16,550Imagine Columbus Primary School$15,801Near West Intergenerational School$15,467Intergenerational School The$15,148Horizon Science Academy-Dayton$14,285Stepstone Academy$14,261AchievePoint Career Academy - Cincinnati$11,114State median, under 1,000 students $15,201

Where the money came from

$6,613,000 in revenue: 30.5% state, 32.5% local and 37.1% federal. Total spending including $804,000 of capital outlay was $5,892,000, or $28,602 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,015,000; Local $2,147,000; Federal $2,451,000; total $6,613,000.
  • State$2,015,000 30%
  • Local$2,147,000 32%
  • Federal$2,451,000 37%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 529 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

206 students in 2022-23, 207 students in 2023-24, 198 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 207, 2024-25: 19801002003002022-232062023-242072024-25198
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 207, 2024-25: 19801002003002022-232062023-242072024-25198
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 207, 2024-25: 19801002003002022-232062023-242072024-25198
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 207, 2024-25: 19801002003002022-232062023-242072024-25198

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2320623.18.9
2023-2420725.58.1
2024-2519825.57.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,619,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,859 per student

Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District booked $1,619,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 24 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $68,197 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 18 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,222,00075.5%
Special education$340,00021.0%
Vocational$57,0003.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,917 in 2018-19, $4,969 in 2019-20, $5,906 in 2020-21, $5,591 in 2021-22, $7,859 in 2022-23.

Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,917, 2019-20: $4,969, 2020-21: $5,906, 2021-22: $5,591, 2022-23: $7,85902k4k6k8k2018-19$4,9172019-20$4,9692020-21$5,9062021-22$5,5912022-23$7,859
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,917, 2019-20: $4,969, 2020-21: $5,906, 2021-22: $5,591, 2022-23: $7,85902k4k6k8k2018-19$4,9172019-20$4,9692020-21$5,9062021-22$5,5912022-23$7,859
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,917, 2019-20: $4,969, 2020-21: $5,906, 2021-22: $5,591, 2022-23: $7,85902k4k6k8k2018-19$4,9172019-20$4,9692020-21$5,9062021-22$5,5912022-23$7,859
Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,917, 2019-20: $4,969, 2020-21: $5,906, 2021-22: $5,591, 2022-23: $7,85902k4k6k8k2018-19$4,9172019-20$4,9692020-21$5,9062021-22$5,5912022-23$7,859

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District scored proficient or above: 33-70% in reading and 42-79% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts33-70%59%88
Math42-79%54%88

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 18 students in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate80% or more86.2%
Students in the class18132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 115 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mesopotamia Elementary School11510.052.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 83 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bloomfield High School835.949.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentBloomfield-Mespo Local School District ranks 46 of 529 Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($24,451).#46 of 529
  2. Every school district in OhioBloomfield-Mespo Local School District is the number 820 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 206 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#820 of 999
  3. YouthBuild Columbus Community SchoolThe next larger Ohio district: 208 students in fall 2022, $24,053 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,053
  4. Stepstone AcademyThe next smaller Ohio district: 203 students in fall 2022, $14,261 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,261
  5. Compare Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District with YouthBuild Columbus Community SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Bloomfield High School, its largest high school83 students in 2024-25, 5.9 per teacher.83
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioBloomfield-Mespo Local School District spent $68,197 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$68,197
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 198 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District spend per student?
    $24,451 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,201 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,908 per student, down 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District's money come from?
    $6,613,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 30.5% state, 32.5% local and 37.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 129 of the 1,155 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,619,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,859 per student. Divided by the 24 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $68,197 per teacher, more than 18 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District scored proficient or above: 33-70% in reading and 42-79% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District?
    80% or more of the 18 students in Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District's NCES district ID?
    3905009. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25