Ashby Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Ashby Public School District (district ID 2703300)

Public school district · Grant County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2703300

Ashby Public Schools spent $12,689 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,094). Its 2 schools enrolled 315 students in 2024-25; 65.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,247 per student, up 20.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ashby Public Schools in enrollment (328 to 347 students) and Ashby Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Ashby Public Schools, FY23Kelliher $20,699; Littlefork-Big Falls $17,399; Carlton $17,003; Upsala Area Schools $16,598; Granada Huntley East Chain $16,018; Nicollet Public School $15,545; Laporte Public School $14,876; Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671 $14,801; Ashby Public Schools $12,689; Art and Science Academy $11,602; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kKelliher$20,699Littlefork-Big Falls$17,399Carlton$17,003Upsala Area Schools$16,598Granada Huntley East Chain$16,018Nicollet Public School$15,545Laporte Public School$14,876Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671$14,801Ashby Public Schools$12,689Art and Science Academy$11,602State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Ashby Public Schools, FY23Kelliher $20,699; Littlefork-Big Falls $17,399; Carlton $17,003; Upsala Area Schools $16,598; Granada Huntley East Chain $16,018; Nicollet Public School $15,545; Laporte Public School $14,876; Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671 $14,801; Ashby Public Schools $12,689; Art and Science Academy $11,602; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kKelliher$20,699Littlefork-Big Falls$17,399Carlton$17,003Upsala Area Schools$16,598Granada Huntley East Chain$16,018Nicollet Public School$15,545Laporte Public School$14,876Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671$14,801Ashby Public Schools$12,689Art and Science Academy$11,602State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Ashby Public Schools, FY23Kelliher $20,699; Littlefork-Big Falls $17,399; Carlton $17,003; Upsala Area Schools $16,598; Granada Huntley East Chain $16,018; Nicollet Public School $15,545; Laporte Public School $14,876; Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671 $14,801; Ashby Public Schools $12,689; Art and Science Academy $11,602; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kKelliher$20,699Littlefork-Big Falls$17,399Carlton$17,003Upsala Area Schools$16,598Granada Huntley East Chain$16,018Nicollet Public School$15,545Laporte Public School$14,876Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671$14,801Ashby Public Schools$12,689Art and Science Academy$11,602State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Ashby Public Schools, FY23Kelliher $20,699; Littlefork-Big Falls $17,399; Carlton $17,003; Upsala Area Schools $16,598; Granada Huntley East Chain $16,018; Nicollet Public School $15,545; Laporte Public School $14,876; Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671 $14,801; Ashby Public Schools $12,689; Art and Science Academy $11,602; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k25kKelliher$20,699Littlefork-Big Falls$17,399Carlton$17,003Upsala Area Schools$16,598Granada Huntley East Chain$16,018Nicollet Public School$15,545Laporte Public School$14,876Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671$14,801Ashby Public Schools$12,689Art and Science Academy$11,602State median, under 1,000 students $15,094

Where the money came from

$5,546,000 in revenue: 65.0% state, 26.0% local and 9.0% federal. Total spending including $5,543,000 of capital outlay was $10,225,000, or $30,251 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ashby Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,603,000; Local $1,444,000; Federal $499,000; total $5,546,000.
  • State$3,603,000 65%
  • Local$1,444,000 26%
  • Federal$499,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

338 students in 2022-23, 320 students in 2023-24, 315 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ashby Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 338, 2023-24: 320, 2024-25: 31501002003004002022-233382023-243202024-25315
Ashby Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 338, 2023-24: 320, 2024-25: 31501002003004002022-233382023-243202024-25315
Ashby Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 338, 2023-24: 320, 2024-25: 31501002003004002022-233382023-243202024-25315
Ashby Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 338, 2023-24: 320, 2024-25: 31501002003004002022-233382023-243202024-25315

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333827.412.4
2023-2432027.811.5
2024-2531527.611.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,482,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,385 per student

Ashby Public Schools booked $1,482,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 27 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $54,028 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 19 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,236,00083.4%
Special education$157,00010.6%
Vocational$87,0005.9%
Other programs$2,0000.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,549 in 2018-19, $3,720 in 2019-20, $4,127 in 2020-21, $4,283 in 2021-22, $4,385 in 2022-23.

Ashby Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,549, 2019-20: $3,720, 2020-21: $4,127, 2021-22: $4,283, 2022-23: $4,38502k4k6k2018-19$3,5492019-20$3,7202020-21$4,1272021-22$4,2832022-23$4,385
Ashby Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,549, 2019-20: $3,720, 2020-21: $4,127, 2021-22: $4,283, 2022-23: $4,38502k4k6k2018-19$3,5492019-20$3,7202020-21$4,1272021-22$4,2832022-23$4,385
Ashby Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,549, 2019-20: $3,720, 2020-21: $4,127, 2021-22: $4,283, 2022-23: $4,38502k4k6k2018-19$3,5492019-20$3,7202020-21$4,1272021-22$4,2832022-23$4,385
Ashby Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,549, 2019-20: $3,720, 2020-21: $4,127, 2021-22: $4,283, 2022-23: $4,38502k4k6k2018-19$3,5492019-20$3,7202020-21$4,1272021-22$4,2832022-23$4,385

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ashby Public Schools scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts50-54%51.1%170
Math45-49%44.8%163

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 21 students in Ashby Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate80% or more83.3%
Students in the class2169,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 178 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ashby Elementary17811.330.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 137 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ashby Secondary13711.629.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Ashby Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ashby Public Schools

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentAshby Public Schools ranks 286 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,689).#286 of 346
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaAshby Public Schools is the number 355 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 338 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#355 of 543
  3. Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671The next larger Minnesota district: 341 students in fall 2022, $14,801 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,801
  4. Art and Science AcademyThe next smaller Minnesota district: 337 students in fall 2022, $11,602 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,602
  5. Compare Ashby Public Schools with Hills-Beaver Creek ISD #671Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ashby Secondary, its largest high school137 students in 2024-25, 11.6 per teacher.137
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaAshby Public Schools spent $54,028 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$54,028
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ashby Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Ashby Public Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 315 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ashby Public Schools spend per student?
    $12,689 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,247 per student, up 20.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ashby Public Schools' money come from?
    $5,546,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 65.0% state, 26.0% local and 9.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ashby Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 14 of the 272 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ashby Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,482,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,385 per student. Divided by the 27 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $54,028 per teacher, more than 19 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ashby Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ashby Public Schools scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ashby Public Schools?
    80% or more of the 21 students in Ashby Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ashby Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2703300. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25