Arcohe School

Listed by NCES as Arcohe Union Elementary (district ID 0603060)

Public school district · Sacramento County · California · NCES district ID 0603060

Arcohe School spent $13,546 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 85% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 560 students in 2024-25; 62.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,721 per student, up 23.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Arcohe School in enrollment (488 to 494 students) and Arcohe School itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Arcohe School, FY23Coast Unified $30,611; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; ASCEND District $18,815; Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary District $18,682; Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District $17,927; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 12 District $17,503; Gateway High School $17,384; Arcohe School $13,546; Franklin Elementary $11,847; University High School $11,342; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kCoast Unified$30,611Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354ASCEND District$18,815Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elemen…$18,682Animo Jefferson Charter Middle…$17,927Alliance College-Ready Middle …$17,503Gateway High School$17,384Arcohe School$13,546Franklin Elementary$11,847University High School$11,342State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Arcohe School, FY23Coast Unified $30,611; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; ASCEND District $18,815; Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary District $18,682; Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District $17,927; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 12 District $17,503; Gateway High School $17,384; Arcohe School $13,546; Franklin Elementary $11,847; University High School $11,342; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kCoast Unified$30,611Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354ASCEND District$18,815Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary …$18,682Animo Jefferson Charter Middle Dist…$17,927Alliance College-Ready Middle Acade…$17,503Gateway High School$17,384Arcohe School$13,546Franklin Elementary$11,847University High School$11,342State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Arcohe School, FY23Coast Unified $30,611; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; ASCEND District $18,815; Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary District $18,682; Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District $17,927; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 12 District $17,503; Gateway High School $17,384; Arcohe School $13,546; Franklin Elementary $11,847; University High School $11,342; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kCoast Unified$30,611Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354ASCEND District$18,815Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary District$18,682Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District$17,927Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 12 Di…$17,503Gateway High School$17,384Arcohe School$13,546Franklin Elementary$11,847University High School$11,342State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Arcohe School, FY23Coast Unified $30,611; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; ASCEND District $18,815; Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary District $18,682; Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District $17,927; Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 12 District $17,503; Gateway High School $17,384; Arcohe School $13,546; Franklin Elementary $11,847; University High School $11,342; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k20k30k40kCoast Unified$30,611Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354ASCEND District$18,815Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary Dist…$18,682Animo Jefferson Charter Middle District$17,927Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 1…$17,503Gateway High School$17,384Arcohe School$13,546Franklin Elementary$11,847University High School$11,342State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$8,064,000 in revenue: 62.7% state, 27.0% local and 10.3% federal. Total spending was $6,652,000, or $13,548 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Arcohe School revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,054,000; Local $2,177,000; Federal $833,000; total $8,064,000.
  • State$5,054,000 63%
  • Local$2,177,000 27%
  • Federal$833,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

491 students in 2022-23, 501 students in 2023-24, 560 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Arcohe School enrollment by school year2022-23: 491, 2023-24: 501, 2024-25: 56002004006002022-234912023-245012024-25560
Arcohe School enrollment by school year2022-23: 491, 2023-24: 501, 2024-25: 56002004006002022-234912023-245012024-25560
Arcohe School enrollment by school year2022-23: 491, 2023-24: 501, 2024-25: 56002004006002022-234912023-245012024-25560
Arcohe School enrollment by school year2022-23: 491, 2023-24: 501, 2024-25: 56002004006002022-234912023-245012024-25560

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2349123.920.5
2023-2450122.921.8
2024-2556021.925.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,329,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,743 per student

Arcohe School booked $2,329,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 24 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $97,285 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 45 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,083,00089.4%
Special education$246,00010.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,971 in 2018-19, $3,930 in 2019-20, $4,234 in 2020-21, $4,513 in 2021-22, $4,743 in 2022-23.

Arcohe School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,971, 2019-20: $3,930, 2020-21: $4,234, 2021-22: $4,513, 2022-23: $4,74302k4k6k2018-19$3,9712019-20$3,9302020-21$4,2342021-22$4,5132022-23$4,743
Arcohe School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,971, 2019-20: $3,930, 2020-21: $4,234, 2021-22: $4,513, 2022-23: $4,74302k4k6k2018-19$3,9712019-20$3,9302020-21$4,2342021-22$4,5132022-23$4,743
Arcohe School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,971, 2019-20: $3,930, 2020-21: $4,234, 2021-22: $4,513, 2022-23: $4,74302k4k6k2018-19$3,9712019-20$3,9302020-21$4,2342021-22$4,5132022-23$4,743
Arcohe School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,971, 2019-20: $3,930, 2020-21: $4,234, 2021-22: $4,513, 2022-23: $4,74302k4k6k2018-19$3,9712019-20$3,9302020-21$4,2342021-22$4,5132022-23$4,743

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Arcohe School scored proficient or above: 35-44% in reading and 33-41% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts35-44%45%299
Math33-41%34%299

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 560 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Arcohe Elementary56025.631.1%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Arcohe School

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Arcohe School

  1. California districts by spending per studentArcohe School ranks 1,047 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,546).#1,047 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaArcohe School is the number 999 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 491 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#999 of 1,991
  3. ASCEND DistrictThe next larger California district: 492 students in fall 2022, $18,815 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,815
  4. Franklin Elementary School DistrictThe next smaller California district: 490 students in fall 2022, $11,847 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,847
  5. Compare Arcohe School with ASCEND DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaArcohe School spent $97,285 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$97,285
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Arcohe School

  1. How many schools and students are in Arcohe School?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 560 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Arcohe School spend per student?
    $13,546 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,721 per student, up 23.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Arcohe School's money come from?
    $8,064,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.7% state, 27.0% local and 10.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Arcohe School live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 41 of the 493 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Arcohe School spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,329,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,743 per student. Divided by the 24 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $97,285 per teacher, more than 45 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Arcohe School do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Arcohe School scored proficient or above: 35-44% in reading and 33-41% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Arcohe School's NCES district ID?
    0603060. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25