Arcadia School District

Public school district · Trempealeau County · Wisconsin · NCES district ID 5500420

Arcadia School District spent $14,991 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 74% of the other Wisconsin districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,856). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,303 students in 2024-25; 60.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,001 per student, down 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Wisconsin: 90.5%).

Spending per student among Wisconsin districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Arcadia in enrollment (1,243 to 1,333 students) and Arcadia itself.

Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Arcadia, FY23Adams-Friendship Area $16,308; Hartford UHS $15,307; Prescott $15,185; Arcadia $14,991; Maple $14,408; Wautoma Area $14,154; Berlin Area $13,908; Nekoosa $13,744; Wrightstown Community $12,941; Bloomer $12,920; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k12k14k16k18kAdams-Friendship Area$16,308Hartford UHS$15,307Prescott$15,185Arcadia$14,991Maple$14,408Wautoma Area$14,154Berlin Area$13,908Nekoosa$13,744Wrightstown Community$12,941Bloomer$12,920State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Arcadia, FY23Adams-Friendship Area $16,308; Hartford UHS $15,307; Prescott $15,185; Arcadia $14,991; Maple $14,408; Wautoma Area $14,154; Berlin Area $13,908; Nekoosa $13,744; Wrightstown Community $12,941; Bloomer $12,920; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k12k14k16k18kAdams-Friendship Area$16,308Hartford UHS$15,307Prescott$15,185Arcadia$14,991Maple$14,408Wautoma Area$14,154Berlin Area$13,908Nekoosa$13,744Wrightstown Community$12,941Bloomer$12,920State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Arcadia, FY23Adams-Friendship Area $16,308; Hartford UHS $15,307; Prescott $15,185; Arcadia $14,991; Maple $14,408; Wautoma Area $14,154; Berlin Area $13,908; Nekoosa $13,744; Wrightstown Community $12,941; Bloomer $12,920; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k14k18kAdams-Friendship Area$16,308Hartford UHS$15,307Prescott$15,185Arcadia$14,991Maple$14,408Wautoma Area$14,154Berlin Area$13,908Nekoosa$13,744Wrightstown Community$12,941Bloomer$12,920State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Arcadia, FY23Adams-Friendship Area $16,308; Hartford UHS $15,307; Prescott $15,185; Arcadia $14,991; Maple $14,408; Wautoma Area $14,154; Berlin Area $13,908; Nekoosa $13,744; Wrightstown Community $12,941; Bloomer $12,920; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k14k18kAdams-Friendship Area$16,308Hartford UHS$15,307Prescott$15,185Arcadia$14,991Maple$14,408Wautoma Area$14,154Berlin Area$13,908Nekoosa$13,744Wrightstown Community$12,941Bloomer$12,920State median, 1,000+ students $13,856

Where the money came from

$25,760,000 in revenue: 60.1% state, 30.7% local and 9.2% federal. Total spending including $413,000 of capital outlay was $22,710,000, or $17,701 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Arcadia School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $15,477,000; Local $7,903,000; Federal $2,380,000; total $25,760,000.
  • State$15,477,000 60%
  • Local$7,903,000 31%
  • Federal$2,380,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 190 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,283 students in 2022-23, 1,293 students in 2023-24, 1,303 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Arcadia School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,283, 2023-24: 1,293, 2024-25: 1,30305001k1.5k2022-231,2832023-241,2932024-251,303
Arcadia School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,283, 2023-24: 1,293, 2024-25: 1,30305001k1.5k2022-231,2832023-241,2932024-251,303
Arcadia School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,283, 2023-24: 1,293, 2024-25: 1,30305001k1.5k2022-231,2832023-241,2932024-251,303
Arcadia School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,283, 2023-24: 1,293, 2024-25: 1,30305001k1.5k2022-231,2832023-241,2932024-251,303

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,283101.012.7
2023-241,29397.513.3
2024-251,30396.813.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,381,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,753 per student

Arcadia School District booked $7,381,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 101 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $73,101 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 68 in 100 Wisconsin districts with a figure (state median $69,818, 412 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,674,00076.9%
Special education$1,093,00014.8%
Vocational$334,0004.5%
Other programs$280,0003.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,933 in 2018-19, $5,317 in 2019-20, $5,348 in 2020-21, $5,658 in 2021-22, $5,753 in 2022-23.

Arcadia School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,933, 2019-20: $5,317, 2020-21: $5,348, 2021-22: $5,658, 2022-23: $5,75302k4k6k2018-19$4,9332019-20$5,3172020-21$5,3482021-22$5,6582022-23$5,753
Arcadia School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,933, 2019-20: $5,317, 2020-21: $5,348, 2021-22: $5,658, 2022-23: $5,75302k4k6k2018-19$4,9332019-20$5,3172020-21$5,3482021-22$5,6582022-23$5,753
Arcadia School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,933, 2019-20: $5,317, 2020-21: $5,348, 2021-22: $5,658, 2022-23: $5,75302k4k6k2018-19$4,9332019-20$5,3172020-21$5,3482021-22$5,6582022-23$5,753
Arcadia School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,933, 2019-20: $5,317, 2020-21: $5,348, 2021-22: $5,658, 2022-23: $5,75302k4k6k2018-19$4,9332019-20$5,3172020-21$5,3482021-22$5,6582022-23$5,753

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Arcadia School District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 26-30% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wisconsin, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWisconsinStudents tested
Reading and language arts22-26%38%499
Math26-30%40%499

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 114 students in Arcadia School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWisconsin
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90.5%
Students in the class11465,638

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 531 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Arcadia Elementary53112.164.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 359 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Arcadia Middle35914.361.6%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 413 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Arcadia High41314.855.4%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Arcadia School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Arcadia School District

  1. Wisconsin districts by spending per studentArcadia School District ranks 51 of 190 Wisconsin districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,991).#51 of 190
  2. Every school district in WisconsinArcadia School District is the number 154 by size of 451 Wisconsin districts, with 1,283 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#154 of 451
  3. Maple School DistrictThe next larger Wisconsin district: 1,295 students in fall 2022, $14,408 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,408
  4. Bloomer School DistrictThe next smaller Wisconsin district: 1,263 students in fall 2022, $12,920 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,920
  5. Compare Arcadia School District with Maple School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Arcadia High, its largest high school413 students in 2024-25, 14.8 per teacher.413
  7. Teacher salary spending across WisconsinArcadia School District spent $73,101 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $69,818); spending, not a salary.$73,101
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Arcadia School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Arcadia School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,303 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Arcadia School District spend per student?
    $14,991 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Wisconsin median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,856 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,001 per student, down 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Arcadia School District's money come from?
    $25,760,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.1% state, 30.7% local and 9.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Arcadia School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 162 of the 1,443 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Arcadia School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,381,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,753 per student. Divided by the 101 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $73,101 per teacher, more than 68 in 100 Wisconsin districts (state median $69,818). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Arcadia School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Arcadia School District scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading and 26-30% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Wisconsin's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Arcadia School District?
    95% or more of the 114 students in Arcadia School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Arcadia School District's NCES district ID?
    5500420. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25