Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1

Public school district · Union County · South Dakota · NCES district ID 4600028

Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 spent $12,506 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 64% of the other South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,524). Its 3 schools enrolled 318 students in 2024-25; 28.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,249 per student, down 2.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (South Dakota: 84%).

Spending per student among South Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 in enrollment (334 to 370 students) and Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 itself.

Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1, FY23Cheyenne-Eagle Butte School $29,680; Timber Lake School District 20-3 $19,724; Andes Central School District 11-1 $18,724; Lyman $15,524; Howard School District 48-3 $14,128; Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6 $12,744; Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 $12,506; Northwestern Area $12,473; Kimball $11,655; Castlewood School District 28-1 $10,964; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.010k20k30k40kCheyenne-Eagle Butte School$29,680Timber Lake School District 20…$19,724Andes Central School District …$18,724Lyman$15,524Howard School District 48-3$14,128Wolsey Wessington School Distr…$12,744Alcester-Hudson School Distric…$12,506Northwestern Area$12,473Kimball$11,655Castlewood School District 28-1$10,964State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1, FY23Cheyenne-Eagle Butte School $29,680; Timber Lake School District 20-3 $19,724; Andes Central School District 11-1 $18,724; Lyman $15,524; Howard School District 48-3 $14,128; Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6 $12,744; Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 $12,506; Northwestern Area $12,473; Kimball $11,655; Castlewood School District 28-1 $10,964; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.010k20k30k40kCheyenne-Eagle Butte School$29,680Timber Lake School District 20-3$19,724Andes Central School District 11-1$18,724Lyman$15,524Howard School District 48-3$14,128Wolsey Wessington School District 0…$12,744Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1$12,506Northwestern Area$12,473Kimball$11,655Castlewood School District 28-1$10,964State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1, FY23Cheyenne-Eagle Butte School $29,680; Timber Lake School District 20-3 $19,724; Andes Central School District 11-1 $18,724; Lyman $15,524; Howard School District 48-3 $14,128; Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6 $12,744; Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 $12,506; Northwestern Area $12,473; Kimball $11,655; Castlewood School District 28-1 $10,964; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.020k40kCheyenne-Eagle Butte School$29,680Timber Lake School District 20-3$19,724Andes Central School District 11-1$18,724Lyman$15,524Howard School District 48-3$14,128Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6$12,744Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1$12,506Northwestern Area$12,473Kimball$11,655Castlewood School District 28-1$10,964State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1, FY23Cheyenne-Eagle Butte School $29,680; Timber Lake School District 20-3 $19,724; Andes Central School District 11-1 $18,724; Lyman $15,524; Howard School District 48-3 $14,128; Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6 $12,744; Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 $12,506; Northwestern Area $12,473; Kimball $11,655; Castlewood School District 28-1 $10,964; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.020k40kCheyenne-Eagle Butte School$29,680Timber Lake School District 20-3$19,724Andes Central School District 11-1$18,724Lyman$15,524Howard School District 48-3$14,128Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6$12,744Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1$12,506Northwestern Area$12,473Kimball$11,655Castlewood School District 28-1$10,964State median, under 1,000 students $13,524

Where the money came from

$5,546,000 in revenue: 28.0% state, 63.1% local and 9.0% federal. Total spending including $348,000 of capital outlay was $5,053,000, or $14,355 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,551,000; Local $3,498,000; Federal $497,000; total $5,546,000.
  • State$1,551,000 28%
  • Local$3,498,000 63%
  • Federal$497,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 125 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

352 students in 2022-23, 330 students in 2023-24, 318 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 352, 2023-24: 330, 2024-25: 31801002003004002022-233522023-243302024-25318
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 352, 2023-24: 330, 2024-25: 31801002003004002022-233522023-243302024-25318
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 352, 2023-24: 330, 2024-25: 31801002003004002022-233522023-243302024-25318
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 352, 2023-24: 330, 2024-25: 31801002003004002022-233522023-243302024-25318

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2335231.011.4
2023-2433027.312.1
2024-2531827.111.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,426,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,051 per student

Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 booked $1,426,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 31 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $45,985 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 22 in 100 South Dakota districts with a figure (state median $49,840, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,153,00080.9%
Special education$87,0006.1%
Vocational$60,0004.2%
Other programs$126,0008.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,342 in 2018-19, $3,536 in 2019-20, $3,789 in 2020-21, $4,201 in 2021-22, $4,051 in 2022-23.

Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,342, 2019-20: $3,536, 2020-21: $3,789, 2021-22: $4,201, 2022-23: $4,05102k4k6k2018-19$3,3422019-20$3,5362020-21$3,7892021-22$4,2012022-23$4,051
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,342, 2019-20: $3,536, 2020-21: $3,789, 2021-22: $4,201, 2022-23: $4,05102k4k6k2018-19$3,3422019-20$3,5362020-21$3,7892021-22$4,2012022-23$4,051
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,342, 2019-20: $3,536, 2020-21: $3,789, 2021-22: $4,201, 2022-23: $4,05102k4k6k2018-19$3,3422019-20$3,5362020-21$3,7892021-22$4,2012022-23$4,051
Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,342, 2019-20: $3,536, 2020-21: $3,789, 2021-22: $4,201, 2022-23: $4,05102k4k6k2018-19$3,3422019-20$3,5362020-21$3,7892021-22$4,2012022-23$4,051

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within South Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtSouth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts45-49%51%178
Math45-49%42.2%178

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 19 students in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtSouth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate80% or more84%
Students in the class199,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 166 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alcester-Hudson Elementary - 0416612.019.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 53 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alcester-Hudson Jr. High - 035311.618.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 99 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alcester-Hudson High School - 019911.413.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1

  1. South Dakota districts by spending per studentAlcester-Hudson School District 61-1 ranks 80 of 125 South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,506).#80 of 125
  2. Every school district in South DakotaAlcester-Hudson School District 61-1 is the number 76 by size of 150 South Dakota districts, with 352 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#76 of 150
  3. Kimball School DistrictThe next larger South Dakota district: 357 students in fall 2022, $11,655 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,655
  4. Howard School District 48-3The next smaller South Dakota district: 351 students in fall 2022, $14,128 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,128
  5. Compare Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 with Kimball School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Alcester-Hudson High School - 01, its largest high school99 students in 2024-25, 11.4 per teacher.99
  7. Teacher salary spending across South DakotaAlcester-Hudson School District 61-1 spent $45,985 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,840); spending, not a salary.$45,985
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1

  1. How many schools and students are in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 318 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 spend per student?
    $12,506 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the South Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,524 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,249 per student, down 2.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1's money come from?
    $5,546,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 28.0% state, 63.1% local and 9.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 19 of the 423 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,426,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,051 per student. Divided by the 31 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $45,985 per teacher, more than 22 in 100 South Dakota districts (state median $49,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1 scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. South Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1?
    80% or more of the 19 students in Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Alcester-Hudson School District 61-1's NCES district ID?
    4600028. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25